We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
brussels
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
Reviewed 8 January 2010

we stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. 2 standard rooms and 1 loft suite. the rooms are not great ,no view at all .next time in Adelaide I will select another hotel for this reason. The service was very good. pool and gym open 24 hours . the best breakfast buffet we had in our 3 weeks in Australia !

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank idlBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,379
    618
    176
    41
    30
See reviews for
258
1,065
116
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Stayed 3 nights in Deluxe room. Lovely room, friendly staff, nice pool & gym. Room overlooked an alley into an adjacent building, had to have blinds or shutters closed the whole time. 39 degrees outside and had room closed up, very claustrophobic, wished we hadn't stayed there, spoiled our trip. On a higher floor, noise at night not too bad, although woken by an alarm one night and revellers in the alley/side street another night and outside our room on the last night.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We had a shocking experience here at this overpriced hotel. The location was excellent but our room overlooked an alleyway. All night long, dumpster trucks and beer trucks loaded and unloaded, so we kept getting wakened up. The hotel staff were unbelievably rude about this and said it "wasn't their problem". We felt that they should have at least been sorry that our sleep was so disturbed and they wouldn't allow us to move to another room even though they had vacancies. Above us, around 6:00, it sounded like furniture was being dragged around the room. To add insult to the experience, the staff was very aggressive and tried to charge us for mini bar items which we hadn't even had. They treated us like criminals. Since then, I have spoken to visitors to Adelaide who independently recommended avoiding this hotel and staying, instead, at the Holiday Inn which apparently is good value for money and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank montrosePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

We booked 2 nights in a loft suite. Wasn't willing to pay up to get a better view of North Tce so got a standard loft. Views of the adjoining building very disappointing given the cost. You look out the large window and are greeted by the adjoining building windows. A/C in our room was very ordinary on a warm weekend and could be put down to the'eco' stance of the company in providing only the cool air they deem necessary. Room was sensational with the bed upstairs/living downstairs being very unique. Quiet and enjoyable stay made more comfortable by excellent gym and pool. Communication by staff was poor and parking made a hassle by lack of explanation. Having stayed in the
Stamford several weeks earlier, found the exact opposite experience. Stamford offered sub standard accom with 5 star staff. Sebel offered 5 star accom with sub standard staff. Perhaps Sebel HR could sneak down the road and get some ideas........

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croweater66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

from the moment I contacted the hotel to get a quote & book, the staff were very friendly & accomodating, all of the staff were really very nice, helpful & are the friendliest we have ever come across! The room was sensational, very large with 2 queen beds, plush surrounds & most importantly extremely clean & quiet! The Sebel is walking distance to most central city attractions (casino, mall, river cruise) with the tram to Glenelg outside & easy parking for your car. everyone should stay at the SEBEL if they get the chance, FABULOUS HOTEL! Highly reccomended, we wish we could have stayed longer than our 5 nights! Fantasic!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyLaunceston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

stayed in the hotel for 2 nights during a trip through Australia.
Location is ok, though the hotel is directlz at the North Ter, which is a loud street also during night time, so zou cannot sleep with windows open (at least you can open windows).
Got an upgrade when we arrived, so we had a small suite. Room was ok, but not particular nice, a bit old, and the sleeping room did not have a window, it was behind the living room area.
Hotel has a gym and a pool. Gym is small and equipment is old. Pool is small as well, 15 m or so, nothing for a swim.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WallyGreenblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury,England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Stayed here the weekend of the 25th Sept. as part of our 5 week trip. excelent accommodation good location , staff were top quality. Good sized well appointed room, staff sorted out a reservation for us on the Satrurday at the River cafe which is 5 mins away by taxi it has a modern Italian menu, a great location and good service. Would recommend both without hesitation

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lankyswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing