We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spotless, but without charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean and spotless, but without charm”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in April with my boyfriend, as part of a bigger journey in South-Eastern Australia involving Melbourne, Mildura, Adelaide and Sydney. We stayed in a double room, which was spacious and comfortable (double bed, TV, desk, comfortable chair, minibar/fridge, bathroom with both shower and bathtub). Our room faced Waymouth street, where there are a few night clubs, including one with an outdoor rooftop dance area. With the window closed (and aircondition on, which worked fine, by the way), the sounds were muffled a bit, but it was still a little noisy. We didn't try the breakfast at the hotel, since it was very expensive (a good tip is to grab a table somewhere in the bustling market instead, and enjoy the multitude of foods and coffee and people there, for a much lower price!). Everything was clean and spotless, but there was no friendliness and charm.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,527
    1,185
    324
    107
    79
See reviews for
268
1,517
199
965
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Our booking was a mystery 5 star hotel on Wotif with excellent rates. When we arrived at the hotel we were pleasantly surprised. All staff at the Rendezvous were friendly and helpful. The room was excellent with king size bed, desk etc and plenty of room. And the marble bathroom was a "dream" with a lovely deep bath.
There is a very nice lounge bar downstairts which was handy.
Although we only had to stay in Adelaide for the one night we enjoyed our time at the hotel and will stay there again next time we go to Adelaide.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zenithaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

This hotel is our favorite hotel in Adelaide and this was our fourth or fifth time staying here.

The rooms are spacious and have a lovely luxurious feel. The beds are so comfortable too and I always have a great night sleep.

My only criticism is that the cooked breakfast in the restaurant is less than inspirational. Better to head to a local cafe for better value.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becksh127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We booked a spa room at the Rendezvous for a romantic wedding anniversary night. Check in was quick and friendly and the room was spacious and very quiet considering the mid-city location. The bed was also very comfortable. The spa bath was a disappointment as it was very small. Would not bother paying the extra again. There is a nice spa and pool area on the first floor.

The balcony faced onto the side road and buildings so no view but that is to be expected in an inner city location. We did not bother with the valet parking as it was expensive and there is plenty street parking around the location on the weekends for free as long as you don't leave it too late in the day to find one. The 3 hours free internet was a nice added bonus. When we had to follow up on a couple items (no mininbar list in the room and a missing newspaper in the morning) the service was extremely quick and obliging.

What let the whole place down was the chaos at breakfast. Obviously the breakfast room, kitchen and waiting staff are inadequate to cope with a busy Sunday morning. Firstly there was a queue out the door waiting for tables. When one did eventually score a table, often the hot buffet was empty of eggs, bacon etc. so you had to wait again for refills to be brought. The cups and plates ran out - again another wait. the coffee machine needed refilling with milk - another wait. With the exception of the head waiter, who seemed very flustered, the staff were amazingly calm and patient. Maybe they are used to it! We noticed that as well as the buffet, there was also a la carte breakfast. I would suggest that offering both is probably one of the reasons service was so poor. My husband and I travel extensively for business and pleasure and have never encountered this obvious inability to cope with a breakfast service before. We had paid for breakfast as part of our package but it was not cheap and, although the food was tasty, the poor service made it not good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judi-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three nights overlapping our wedding day. We had stayed here a couple years ago and had such a great time that we knew if we were getting married in Adelaide we would want to stay here for our wedding night.

The room was excellent - clean, modern but inviting, spacious, king size bed, corner balcony, great views of the city and suburbs, spacious bathroom with deep soaking tub and a large separate shower, lots of bathroom amenities, flat-screen TV across from bed with foxtel and on demand movies (a bit expensive).

Room came with a 2-3 hours of free internet per day, which I don't believe they had a couple years ago? (I can't remember). But I think this is definitely a bonus since most 4-5 star hotels in Adelaide charge anywhere from $25-$30 a day for internet connection.

Bed and pillows were comfortable - the lounge seat next to our bed was sooo relaxing my husband and I both fought over who got to sit in it.

All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Housekeeping were respectful when we didn't want our room serviced, just needed some fresh towels and privacy the rest of the day.

The room service menu has greatly improved from two years ago - the food selection is much better. We had breakfast, lunch, and dinner multiple times in the room and all meals were delicious. The meals are on par with other 4-5 star hotels in Adelaide with regards to cost, so a bit overpriced, but nothing which surprised us.

Overall we had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a night away! By far one of my favourite hotels in the Adelaide CBD.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilyofthemyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My partner and I live in Adelaide and decided to treat ourselves to a nights accommodation. We had a fantastic time, the room was fantastic and the bathroom was amazing!!! We were recently disappointed with our stay at the Stamford Plaza Adelaide and the difference between the two hotels is substantial. Buffet breakfast was nice, pancakes great and my request for crispy bacon was accepted with a smile.

Only negative and by no means a deal breaker was when we were ready to leave the valet brought my car around but there was no offer from anyone to help with out bags or even open the door for my partner. An offer to help or something as simple as opening her door would of finished off a great stay.

Overall we ha ad fantastic time and look forward to staying there again when we feel the need to get away from our day to day routine.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adelaideguy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The room was a revalation - big, nice furnishings, large bathroom with large bath and shower. Bed was comfortable, and there was a pillow menu.

Our only negative experience was noise - firstly from the aircon/heating unit (either very old, or inefficient), and secondly from outside. There appeared to be some kind of bar or something on the street below/next to the hotel, and on a friday night the loud talking/laughing continued well beyond midnight. While the room appeared to have thick glass which dulled the sound, it still kept us awake. If it wasn't so late (and we were only there one night), we would have requested another room on the other side of the hotel (as the hotel is on a corner, the other street may have been quieter).

Overall, a very nice hotel. However, if you're staying on a friday/saturday night, beware of possible noise that might disturb your sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFGMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,039 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Waymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Waymouth Hotel

Property: Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Address: 55 Waymouth St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Adelaide)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#7 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#7 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#8 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Waymouth Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Adelaide CBD right on your doorstep, you couldn't wish for accommodation in a more convenient location than Peppers Waymouth Hotel. Just down the road you'll find the thriving and stylish dining precinct, a true 'foodie' destination, with rapidly evolving international cuisines. Explore the Adelaide Zoo, sample delights at the Adelaide Central Markets, or watch a game at Adelaide Oval. After a busy day, Peppers Waymouth Hotel is the perfect place to come back to and relax. At Peppers Waymouth Hotel, you'll be treated to premium CBD accommodation. Designed with strong European influences, every room exudes city sophistication. With the choice of a Guest or Deluxe Room, Deluxe Suite or Penthouse Suite, you can go as luxe as you'd like. Overlooking the captivating lights of Adelaide city, you will be able to enjoy the stunning view through your floor to ceiling windows, or if staying in a Deluxe Room, with a drink before dinner on your private balcony. Experience all the fixings Peppers is renowned for, in a diverse metropolitan location. Enjoy 24 hour reception and room service and valet parking. Keep in shape at the fully equipped gym, swim a few laps at the indoor pool, and then relax and unwind in the sauna. This is your haven within the city. Located at the gateway to the produce rich Barossa Valley, a certain standard has come to be expected when dining in Adelaide. Combining local South Australian produce and exceptional wines in both restaurant venues, Peppers Waymouth Hotel has all your culinary choices covered. Essay Kitchen will take you on a food journey while Barketta offers an expansive menu best shared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Waymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Allegra Adelaide
Hotel Rendezvous Allegra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing