We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, slightly past it's day, CBD property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Ideal location, slightly past it's day, CBD property”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The Stamford group is well known in AUS, and always fairly reliable in my experience. The Adelaide property is located on North Terrace, right opposite the Casino, and main railway station, 2-3 minutes walk to Rundle Mall, and a minute or two the other way to Hindley Street.
They have a similar amount of marble that the neighboring Chancellor has in the lobby, but slightly less gaudy. Check is was efficient, and room was available at 8.30am.

Rooms are a little dated but comfortable, and have all the conveniences that you need, minus bath or sink plugs which I had to chase up twice.

The restaurant was pleasant enough as was the discounted breakfast. Staff also were friendly and service was efficient also.

With a facelift, this place would be a great choice, however at present with the current decorations, I'd choose the more stylish Accor managed Rockford, a few blocks down Hindley St.

I might add with a corporate rate of $170 a night, a tad overpriced also.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasberliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your staying in Stamford Plaza Adelaide. I am very happy to to inform that we are about to start the extensive refurbishment of our rooms. Once again, thank you for the positive feedback and for taking the time to write about us. We look forward to having an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards

Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    773
    383
    126
    79
See reviews for
238
881
144
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Traralgon, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We arrived by taxi and within seconds a porter was on hand to help with our luggage. The reception staff were excellent and after checking in a porter (Alex I think) carried our luggage to our room and pointed out how to work the air-conditioning and showed the location of light switches etc, far better than the usual here's your key you find the room and work it out yourself.
The room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed two meals at the resturant, the staff were very attentive and the food quality and quantity was excellent. Next time we are staying in Adelaide we would look no further the the Stamford Plaza.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of Adelaide
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dishmop37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive experience of your stay at Stamford Plaza Adelaide. It is very important to us, that our guests do enjoy every moment of their stay, are comfortable and we strive to meet their needs and individual requirements. I am pleased that you have identified one of our greatest assets - our staff. Among our many stars - Alex is one of the best, always on the look out for a guest in need. Anticipation is such a rare attribute these days and I am delighted that you noticed this skill in our team. We have multiple restaurants serving from fresh seafood to authentic fare from the South East Asia and I am also pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and service very much.
Thank you for your very high rating of our hotel once again and looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Neat and tidy room, but the loudest water pipes I've ever heard in any hotel I've stayed in. They actually kept me awake when the room upstairs started to shower at 4am.

This hotel needs updating.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hzqt1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your staying in Stamford Plaza Adelaide. We are fortunate to have large rooms in a great and convenient location and our Housekeeping and Engineering teams work tirelessly to ensure the cleanliness and presentation of the property. It is not common to hear noise from the water pipes in the guest rooms and will greatly appreciate if you can advise me the details of your stay at rajkakarla@stamford.com.au so that I can investigate further. I am also happy to inform that we are about to start the extensive refurbishment of our rooms. Once again, thank you for the positive feedback and for taking the time to write about us. We look forward to having an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.
Kind Regards
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

All Stamford Plazahotels are good value, and this one is no exception. Good rooms or a reasonable size, good facilities.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p9c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review here at Trip Advisor. We were very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location, facilities and service to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back as a guest in our hotel.

Best regards
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We booked a 'superior City View' room with a promise of a view overlooking the city. Our room's view was a brick wall and a dirty car park. When our disappointment was raised with staff, their reply was, oh that is what the room is. This to me is misleading!!
The rooms are VERY dated and limited tv channels.

It is not offen I feel that I have been ripped off, however, this hotel is not value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you were unhappy with the views from the room during your recent stay and our staff could not assist with moving you to any other room due to high levels of occupancy. Located opposite the State Parliament house, most of our rooms indeed have amazing views of the city, the hills and the park. However being located in the busy CBD, a few rooms do have buildings in front blocking part of the views. The TV channels in our guest rooms include all free to air channels, choice of popular Foxtel entertainment and a paid movie system with the latest blockbusters. We are on the verge of refurbishing the Hotel rooms, lobby area and other main facilities in order to guarantee maximum satisfaction and comfort to our guests.

We hope you will be able to give us a second change so you can experience all these changes by yourself.

Thank you for your review and hoping to welcome you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide.

Kind Regards

Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormeau, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Had a wonderful stay at the Stamford Adelaide. We went down to Adelaide see a concert at the Entertainment Centre and found the Stamford met all our needs.Position was close to Adelaide shopping, Casino, train station and Entertainment Centre. Very friendly and helpful reception staff, nothing was to much trouble. The room was large and clean, as other reviewers have said it is possibly in need of an upgrade but it was most suitable for us and cleanliness and position are my main priority when choosing a hotel and it excelled in both cases. Buffet breakfast was delicious and a wide choice was on offer. I have to say an extra special thankyou to Alex who was more than helpful with directions getting us taxis,pointing out public transport etc, definitley a valuable staff member.There was alaso a lovley girl at reception who checked us in and unfortunatley I cannot remeber her name as she also went over and above to make us feel welcome and special. We will be definitley be back when next we visit Adelaide and thankyou to all at Stamford Adelaide who made our weekend so memorable.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, better views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki_kilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Guest,
I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay experience with us. Your kind comments regarding the hotel’s location, cleanliness, staff and facilities are highly appreciated. The hotel is situated in the heart of the city's buzzing business and entertainment hub and provides ideal accessibility to all the major attractions of the city. Your appreciation of our staff has been conveyed to the associates and, needless to say, they are delighted. I look forward to welcoming you back at the Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Kind Regards

Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This has been one of the larger hotel rooms I have stayed in but it didn't have a homely feel as the room was mostly empty space. A large corridor ran along the bathroom wall before turning the corner to go past the bathroom before arriving in the room. One half of the room had a king sized bed and the other half had practically nothing! A small table and 2 chairs. It absolutely needed a double lounge in the room. So you had this huge room and still had to sit on the bed to watch TV or do anything much.
The room was still clean and had all the stuff in it that a 4 star room should. The website did suggest rooms came with bathrobes and mine had no sign of any.
I previously stayed in one of the small budger rooms just in the next block at the Mercure and I would chose that room again over the stamford - it just "felt" nicer - (though could have fitted 2 of the rooms at the mercure in the room at the Stamford)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geeijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review and for your comments about your recent stay with us. Stamford Plaza Adelaide is ideally located opposite the state Parliament house on the North Terrace, the business and entertainment hub and has some of the largest hotel rooms that Adelaide has to offer. We are also embarking on a major refurbishment of all our guest rooms and your comments will definitely be taken on board. As mentioned on the website, the rooms definitely come with bathrobes and my apologies that they were missing in the room you stayed in. Thank you for your comments on the cleanliness of the hotel which I have passed to our housekeeping team. I do hope we are able to welcome you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide.
Best Wishes,
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,036 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Property: Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Address: 150 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing