We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was A1+” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Ingham QLD
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Everything was A1+”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

The hotel is one of the best in Adelaide, the staff are outstanding in thier jobs and the resteraunts are out of this world, it has everything the traveller needs and its location is close to everything ( Casino, Rundell Mall , King George Street ), buses and trams are right out front of the hotel and are free in the city limits, 4 days there was not long enough, but will go back next in Adelaide,the breakfast will blow you away.

Room Tip: our room was a standard twin but was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickyb595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your excellent feedback. I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable and we agree that our location is ideally located within walking distance of the various iconic CBD features and a tram ride through the city’s heart is free. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service and our staff are very professional. We appreciate your compliments on our restaurants and breakfast buffet, they are appreciated. Thank you again for your positive comments and I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide in the future.

Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    684
    332
    121
    73
See reviews for
207
781
129
600
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

The service is excellent, as you would expect from a hotel of this status. Central Adelaide location is handy for business & tourist visitors. Rooms are clean & comfortable, but I have had larger rooms for considerably less money in other capital cities.All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteLozsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very thankful for your positive feedback on the hotel and the service. I was delighted to learn that your stay with us was pleasant and the clean comfortable rooms and CBD location met your expectations. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service so I was pleased to read that you were satisfied with the excellent service provided. I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide in the future.

Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Recently stayed here for 7 nights. Room was great, not tired at all like previous reviews,and very spacious. Breakfast was even better, and had a huge variety to choose from. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful. The Stamford is situated in a great location virtually opposite the Adelaide Casino, and a very nice Pub with great meals just down the road. A 24hr conveinant shop is located next door with very friendly staff. Rundle Mall is only a small stroll away as is the trams. A pool on the top level was a great relief from the searing hot weather with plenty of seats and lounge chairs available. Would not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I agree that we do enjoy a great location in the CBD, close to all amenities and with great views. I am pleased that the guest room met your expectation and appreciate your compliments on our breakfast buffet. We are always delighted to hear that our staff are upholding our exceptional service standards and that you found them particularly helpful. Thank you again for your positive comments, they are appreciated and I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide in the future.

Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Not really what you would expect from a hotel described as '5 Star'. While the staff were great - really helpful - the rooms were tired and rather lacking. The swimming pool was described as heated to 25C - maybe they had a power failure! (Just to add that the roof-top pool has one of the best views over Adelaide possible.

We only had one meal - the buffet breakfast - which was very good.

A great position to see Adelaide - right next to a tram stop, and easy walking distance to most places. Well worth it for that.

And my main gripe? The price of their internet! Later on this trip we sat in pubs with free internet - to be asked to pay the Stamford rates was outrageous!

Room Tip: South facing rooms have a great view over a multi-storey car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Our roof top pool is heated, but unfortunately the wind chill factor is a deterent and we try to provide a consistent temperature all year round. I agree that we do enjoy a great location in the CBD, close to all amenities and with great views from our roof top pool area. I appreciate your compliments on our breakfast buffet which I will pass on to our Executive Chef. Free internet in your room is an option we are currently reviewing as the hotel is undergoing refurbishment however complimentary WiFi access is available in the hotel lobby. Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated and I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide in the future.

Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Stamford on two occasions this month, both times we found the rooms great, the staff were excellent and very helpful, great breakfast and the restaurant was wonderful. We would definitely stay there again when I next visit Adelaide as it is very centrally located, easy walking distance to trams, rundle mall and casino.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Guest
We are very thankful for your positive feedback on the hotel and it is always good to hear this from a loyal guest. While all our guests are important, especially so are our returning guests. I am pleased that the guest room met your expectation and thank you for your compliments on our buffet breakfast and restaurant, they are appreciated. I’m delighted that you found our staff very helpful, as all our staff strive to provide exceptional service and agree that our location is ideally located within walking distance of the various iconic CBD features.Thank you again for your positive comments and I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide in the future.

Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

We purchased 2 nights a summer special with a $1 buffet breakfast. We were upgraded to a deluxe suit and had a great view over the adelaide oval and king William street. Great location, Rundle Mall & Hindley St just a short walk away. Breakfast was great, good selection and friendly service. Nice short stay in Adelaide city.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louiev00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Guest
I was pleased to learn that we were able to upgrade you to a deluxe suite and believe it met your expectations. We agree that our location is ideally located within walking distance of the various iconic CBD features and enjoys great views.Thank you for the compliment on our breakfast buffet which you can be assured will be passed on to our Executive Chef. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service so I was pleased to read that you were satisfied with the service provided. We are always happy to hear that our staff were friendly and helpful. I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide in the future.
Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Hotel is in a fab location right in the city centre opposite the Casino and station. Buffet breakfast is fantastic, up there with the best we have ever had. Rooms but although comfortable and clean are a bit tired and desparately need renovating as there were cigarette burns on the furniture and smoking in rooms finished a long time ago. Furniture was also outdated.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MozzaAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We agree that our location is ideally located within walking distance of the various iconic CBD and you will be pleased to note that we are currently undertaking a refurbishment of our guest rooms to bring them back to the level in line with a 5 star experience. Thank you for the compliment on our breakfast buffet which you can be assured will be passed on to our Executive Chef. I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the newly refurbished Stamford Plaza Adelaide in the future.
Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Property: Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Address: 150 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing