We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, quiet and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a room on the 19th floor looking north, so had a spectacular view. The room was a little dated, but still very clean and comfortable. Service was very friendly, would definitely stay there again.
My partner wanted to use the sauna after a very long day driving, went up to the 20th floor and found it cold. He turned it on, went back 20 minutes later and it was still only 40 degrees. Despite management saying it should only take 15 to 20 minutes to heat up, after 45 minutes, it hadn't even reached 60, at which point the spa area was about to close, so very disappointing.

Room Tip: High floor facing north! Quiet with a fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phyllisbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear phyllisbird

The views from the 19th floor are some of the best in Adelaide as they oversee the Oval and Government House.
I do apologise about the Sauna and it should not have taken that long to heat up to the optimum tempaerture. We are about to commence a refurbishment of our pool area with a brand new Hote Spa which iswill look amazing when it is completed in a few weeks time.

Thank you for your comments!!

Warm regards
Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,822 - 1,828 of 2,396 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a one night stay after a friends party at the hotel. The room and bathroom were nice and a reasonable size, and the included breakfast was also good. We used the valet parking which was a bit expensive considering the parking area is within the building. We didn't get any greeting on entering the reception area or offer of help with baggage after check in, although to be fair we did only have one small wheeled case and didn't need any help. Overall its a very nice well located hotel.

Room Tip: North facing rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikenShirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear MikenShirl

Thank you for the review and I am sure your friends party went well here at the hotel. We are glad you got to enjoy one of our recently refurbished rooms. Along with the new beds that have been recently installed we are very proud of the product.

MikenShirl we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Let's start with the positives- the location is superb- easy walking distance to excellent restaurants and shops and just across the road from the convention centre. This is a big plus, however, despite an extensive renovation programme, the hotel is not yet up to four star standard and in fact I think the level of service had gone down a notch since my last visit just over three years ago.

Our room (on the river side) was comfortable and had been smartly renovated. The bathroom although very small was clean and well appointed. However the water pressure was woeful and it took ages for the shower water to heat up. Housekeeping was definitely not up to scratch- we had just two coathangers in our wardrobe and when we called for more half a dozen ratty wire hangers were delivered! We had to chase for more toilettries and for dirty crockery to be removed. Room Service was also disappointing. The food was very slow in coming and not as described on the menu and not hot either. However compared to the service levels we experienced in the restaurant for breakfast in hindisight Room Service was positively exemplary! Suffice it to say we only tried breakfast once and it was awful.

I have provided feedback (as requested) to the hotel and have just received an apology from the General Manager which is reassuring, but nonetheless you'd expect better service from this chain as a matter of course.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerthSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear PerthSquirrel

Thank you for your response and you are right their are some basic fundementals we have not delivered for you during your stay. Re-iternating the GM's note you recieved I apologise on behalf of the team and we do hope that we can get the opportunity to make amends.

You can contact me on carlforrest@spa.stamford.com.au as we appreciate your custom.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Asisstant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Stamford Plaza. The room was decent sized with a nice bathroom.

Breakfast is very good although at over $30 a head you would expect it to be.

The hotel is in a good location, opposite the train station and the casino.

We bought a voucher which made the stay very good value but I'm not sure we would have been so pleased at full price.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear mamz24

Thank you for your great review. You are right about our great location as we are perfectly positioned for shopping, seeing the sights of Adelaide and a little indulgence!!

Thank you for taking the time to review Stamford Plaza Adelaide and we look forward tom welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

After spending two fantastic nights at The Stamford Adelaide earlier on this year, we were so happy with everything about the hotel that we decided to stay again on our most important night, our wedding night.
We booked into to the Junior Spa Suite with the romance package added on.
We were beyond delighted and surprised upon entering our room to discover that The Stamford Plaza had very kindly up-graded us to the Presidential Suite (at no extra cost)
The suite was superb, to say the least, and the set up of the rose petals, champagne etc was beautiful. The view was outstanding

The staff are all very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and welcoming and the food and service is excellent. Overall, a fantastic hotel experience in the best location in Adelaide.

We can not thank the staff and Stamford Plaza enough for making our wedding night so amazing and we look forward to the next stay we have.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KandJ111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear KandJ111

Weclome to tripadvisor and thank you for the 5 star review!! I am glad you got to experience the Presidential suite for your wedding night.....It is one of the best suites in Adelaide overlookignt the Adelaide Oval from the 18th Floor. I am sure you are the envy of all your family!!!


Once again thank you for the great review.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed here after a work function in June. The hotel is centrally located within the CBD & within walking distance to most things. I used the valet parking & right from the start the service was first class. The middle aged gentleman at the front door was quick to welcome me & help me with my bags. The room was very clean & the bed was so comfortable i didn't want to get out.
The buffet breakfast is good value & a great way to start the day.
Upon collecting my car in the morning i was left a complimentary bottle of water, i nice touch for
my journey home.
I shall definately be staying here again, its hard to beat that sort of service & comfort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewDoesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear AndrewDoesTravel

Thank you for the five star review and comments about our great service.
Alex our Concierge and his team always ensure we provide a great sense of arrival for all our guests.
For breakfast we are one of the few hotels that provide and egg che. This is a little touch that ensure our breakfast ixs the perfect start to the day.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here last Monday en-route to Broken Hill. I had booked weeks before and requested twin room only to be told at check-in that they would have to check if any were available. Luckily our request was met, and we were given one of the refurbished rooms. Room was very nice, view terrible, and as some reviewers have said, the hotel itself is a bit tired and a little expensive. Buffet breakfast was good and hotel served its purpose. I booked this hotel based on reviews and bonus FF points offered at the time. Upon our return to Adelaide a few days later, we stayed at another property in an executive room, and the extras we were given for a little over $100 more and overall standard, I would not choose the Stamford again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Deanten

Thank you for your review and your great comments regarding the room and breakfast in the morning. If you are looking for a view |I would recommend booking a Park view room overlooking the Adelaide oval as these are stunning.

Regarding your comments about prices......Adelaide like any major city have constantly changing rates depending on the time of the year and days of the week. For great deals I would recommend looking on our website www.Stamford.com.au as our Advance purchase rates are always discounted.


Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,691 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Address: 150 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £87 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing