We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Our experience was incredibly bad. Sheer incompetence with the staff, got told we could not order room service via the restaurants which (after a battle) turned out to be incorrect, bath plug didn't even fit the bath, shower dripped non stop, mini bar was not stocked, called room service 3 times in half an hour before anyone actually took our order and the buffet breakfast staff forgot our pancakes and then were rude about it. We complained formally in writing, got ignored, had to call repeatedly and finally got promised 'compensation' of 2 seafood buffet tickets at their restaurant. 9 days later the tickets never arrived so had to chase that up. There are so many 5 star places in Adelaide, stay elsewhere and get an actual 5 star experience and service. They can't follow through on the simplest things. Joke.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Cat G

Having dealt with you personally I feel that your review based on our conversation is entirely inaccurate. We had a great inital conversation and you were appreciative of the contact when I was alerted to your concerns from your stay and you stated that the staff were great when alerted to your concerns.
As promised we wanted you to come back so we had the opportunity to look after your family and a voucher was going through our system prior to being sent to you and perhaps I should have advised that it would take more than a few days.
We have discussed this again yesterday but our call was cut off and I have subsequently attempted to call but your phone is not working.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,339)
There are newer reviews for Stamford Plaza Adelaide
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,732 - 1,738 of 2,339 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed seven nights at the Stamford Plaza Adelaide while attending a conference at the nearby Adelaide Convention Centre. We were very happy with the location of the hotel, within easy walking distance of the convention centre, central city shopping and restaurants, as well as the art gallery, museum, botanic gardens and zoo. We had a great view from our room overlooking the green belt and Torrens river.
We were also satisfied with the quality of the hotel room, it was everything that we expected. The staff were pleasant but unobtrusive, the breakfasts were the best I have had in a hotel for a long time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22KiwiTraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear 22KiwiTraveller22

Kia Ora and thank you for the great review on the hotel!!!
You have that said we are the best hotel you have been in for a long time is which is simply fabulous and appreciated by all the Stamford team.

Wishing you all the best for Xmas and thank you for the review.

Regards
Carl Forrest
Executive Assisatnt Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked a one night wotif deal and got a refurbished room which was nice. Staff were friendly upon check in and check out. We used the self parking option which was close by and easy. Unfortunately, breakfast was very poor with lack of staff, cold and empty buffet options - even the coffee sucked. Location of this hotel is perfect for sight seeing. Would stay again if cheap enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimboAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Jimbo Australia

Thank you very much for yur review and highlighting our great location. I am disapointed to read from your review that your breakfast experience was not a good one. We have subsequently made a number of changes and increased our staffing levels to ensure we provide a good quality breakfast each morning.

Juimbo once again a sincere thank you for your review.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We have stayed at the Stamford on previous occasions and always enjoy our stay here. Location is great and the staff are fantastic. We checked in at 2.00pm which was very busy, however it was a real breeze and we were in our room in no time. The self parking is up on Hindley street which is only a short walk away. We had a refurbished room which was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was your standard buffet fair. We will definitely be back the the Stamford Plaza.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waddo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Waddo1972

What a great five review......thank you for recognising our great staff who work extremely to ensure you have a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I found all the staff to be helpful and friendly simply amazing which was most welcome after a hard day travelling. The location is perfect. We really couldn't fault anything during our four night stay. We highly recommend the Stamford and once again the staff were amazing which to us is hugely important.

Room Tip: We had a front room which had great views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kats60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Kats60

Thank you for the great 5 star review. We all know how stressful travel can be sometimes and to hear the Stamford team were truly amazing over your four night stay is fabulous.

Once again thank you for your great feeedback.

Regards

Carl GForrest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is a superbly situated hotel in Adelaide with excellent rooms and facilities but, boy oh boy, the restaurant and breakfast organisation is diabolical. Inadequate waiting staff meant stone cold food delivered to the table. Surly staff attitudes. Extortionate prices for wine. Breakfast buffet kept running out of basic items such as scrambled eggs and bacon. Staff were like a lot of headless chickens.
Have since had apology from General Manager offering an upgrade next visit! Pity there wasn't a flight to go with it

Room Tip: A high floor gives good views looking towards the Adelaide Oval
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear James B

Thank you for your review and talking about our great location on North terrace. I know you have already received a note from our General Manager but just wanted to acknowledge your review on Tripadvisor and thank you for raising your concerns regarding the breakfast. We have out in a anumber of changes to rectify this and the results have been very pleasing....in particular the Sundays which are our peak periods as everyone likes to enjoy a late breakfast.
Regarding the wine prices these are in line with all international hotels and are in comparisom are in line Adelaide hotels and restaurants.

We do have a new restaurant coming whcih will be enhancing our Food and Beverga offering and that is La Boca which will be an Argentinean grill. Nicolas our Argentinean chef is currently wotrking on the finer aspects fo this restaurant for opening in late February 2014.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were fortunate to have a refurbished room with a view over the festival theatre, Adelaide oval and the hills. The room was very comfortable. However I believe that some rooms have not yet been completed. The pool was unavailable because of refurbishment so I felt that I did not use the facilities that I normally enjoy in a similar hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly and always offered to help with luggage. We used the car park which was a bit challenging getting in and out of, however an excellent valet service is provided for an additional $20 a day. The breakfast was too much food for me so I ordered a coffee on the first day which was very weak. On the following day we found a lovely cafe with excellent food and coffee for a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Rooms refurbished are recommended as is facing north for the views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien53606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Vivien53606

I am glad you enjoyed our recently refubished rooms and the staff who were "helpful and friendly".

We look forward to welcoming you back to our great location on North terrace.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 57 in Adelaide
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Address: 150 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £93 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing