We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Murray Bridge, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and comfy”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We booked a couple hours before traveling to the hotel on a Saturday night. When we arrived we found our room had been upgraded from a queen to a king. Friendly staff at check-in. Clean room. Nice bathroom and shower. Comfy bed and nice pillows. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia H, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Metyl,

Thank you for your review, it is a pleasure to hear that our team and facilities upheld your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your commendations to the team on a job well done.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Stamford Plaza again and please dont hesitate to contact me if there is anything I can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

Kind Regards,
Olivia Harvey
Executive Assistant Manager, Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    763
    371
    123
    77
See reviews for
232
861
140
667
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were in Adelaide for 3 nights and stayed at the Stamford. Nice location and front staff. Except for housekeeping. We returned one day to find our room half cleaned - the pillows were till not paid, no milk in the fridge. Looked like housekeeping got called out half way ........and never bothered to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank insightful r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia H, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi insightful r,

Thank you for your review and bringing the issues with housekeeping to my attention. It is unfortunate that you had this experience as we take a lot of pride in the cleanliness and presentation of the guest rooms. Rest assured I have raised the matter with the housekeeping supervisor and I am confident that this will be an isolated incident.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location and the front office team were welcoming and I will be sure to pass on your commendations.

Please let me know if you do plan to visit us again and I will personally ensure your stay is a pleasant one.

Kind Regards,

Olivia Harvey
Executive Assistant Manager, Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at the Stamford Plaza as a wedding we attended had their reception there. There was a large group of us who had all requested an early check-in so we could prepare for the wedding, and the Stamford Plaza were able to accommodate this early check-in for all of us, thanks very much :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia H, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi Melanie B,

Thank you for your commendation, its lovely to hear we were able to accomodate you with the early check-in and the wedding sounds like it was an enjoyable one! I will pass on your comments to the front office team who will be pleased we were able to make the day special.

I look forward to assisting you on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Olivia Harvey
Executive Assistant Manager, Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here over the weekend (wotif mystery deal). Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. The room was clean (a few marks and scuffs on the walls but all surfaces were good) and beds super comfy. Even the pillows were good which is usually a rarity! We still aren't sure if the bedside lamp worked or if we were just confused by the lighting system. It seemed every switch turned on or off a light that we weren't expecting lol

As others have said, it isn't the newest hotel and some of it's former glory may have faded, but the service was excellent and the hotel itself still has a certain charm to it. I believe there is currently renovation going on so it will be nice to check it out once it has been completed.

Can't comment on any of the dining options as we didn't use any of them.

All up it was a great, hassle free stay.

As a side note, I hope someone rescued the poor homing pigeon which appeared to have gotten itself stuck on the pool deck!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank duritz1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia H, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi durtiz1978,

Thank you for your compliments on our team, I was pleased to hear that you were made welcome and we were able to meet your expectations. I will be certain to pass on your kind words to the staff and commend them on their service.

Our refurbishments have now been completed in the lobby and guest rooms, and this month we will welcome the opening of La Boca and Ginza restaurants, which Im sure you'll agree will be a pleasant addition to our services.

Just an update on the little pigeon - he was in fact a homing pigeon and was tagged, so we were able to return him home.

Kind regards,

Olivia Harvey
Executive Assistant Manager, Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is central adelaide with a great location. It seems like they are a good way through some major changes and I am happy to say we benefited from most of them.

Firstly we got one of the recently refurbished rooms. Whilst I would say they are still some details that could be worked on there (room 1108 had big dent in wall shoddily plastered over), overall the room was spacious and had everything we needed.

We wanted a brief gym session, so headed to the gym on the top floor. It seems almost brand new and has everything you need for a decent workout.

Next we lay in the sun by the rooftop pool. Again this seems all new and is perfect for the hotel (note the paint on the pool floor seems like it needs attention).

The only negative in our stay was dinner. The restaurants are still being worked on and the temporary set up is dreary, lacking in atmosphere and the food was not that great.

The plus side for the food is the breakfast. Great array of choices and really enjoyed.

I think it's clear there is work going on here, but they are heading in the right direction - worth a stay if you are in Adelaide!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigsoota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi Craigsoota,

Thank you for your review and Im pleased to hear you were impressed with the recent refurbishment of the Stamford Plaza. Our rooms refurbishment is now complete as is our lobby, gym and pool area and Im glad that you were able to enjoy these areas. The pool floor will be repainted but we are waiting for cooler weather so as not to disturb our summer guests.

I am sorry that your dinner was not all that you expected but you will be pleased to know that La Boca, our new Argentinean grill and bar, will open next Wednesday and Ginza, the Japanese restaurant is also due for opening later this month and we are pleased to be able to offer some exciting new cuisine to our guests.

Please let me know when you will visit us again and I will personally show you through our new restaurants.

Kind Regards,
Olivia Harvey
Executive Assistant Manager, Stamford Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 5 years ago and just loved it. Unfortunately this will be our last stay at the Stamford Plaza. On arrival we searched for 5 minutes for someone to help us with our luggage and eventually had to get a trolley and handle it ourselves as the taxi was keen to leave. There were many workmen in the foyer so it was very noisy and only one person on the front desk so the wait for check-in was at least 15 minutes despite there being no-one else waiting to be checked in.

We were told our breakfast was included on check-in and on our first morning at breakfast but on the second morning the Manager on Duty approached us at the breakfast table and told us that breakfast was not included and we would have to pay for it.

2 of the restaurants were closed and there were minimal staff in the bar and the one restaurant which was open. We ordered coffee and after 20 minutes enquirer as to it whereabouts only to be told "they forgot.

So easier to order Room Service you might think. 5 phone calls later someone called back to ask what we wanted. "Everyone was busy with a wedding" so no, they could not do the Spring Rolls, but could do a sandwich. We decided to settle for an egg and lettuce sandwich but.........."sorry, we have no egg ready and too busy to cook any". We settled for Wedges which arrived 30 minutes later.

Although we stayed for 5 nights the mini-bar was not restocked and our bin was not emptied most days.

On the plus side, the location is great but there's many other motels in the area and next time we will be choosing one of those.

(We were not advised about restaurants being closed when we booked and were certainly not given warning of renovations either.)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank goodfoodfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi goodfoodfor2,

I am very sorry that you have had such a negative experience with our hotel and rest assured I have taken all of your comments onboard. Unfortunately, your stay coincided with the final stages of our refurbishment which has resulted in the workmen present and restaurants closed for upgrading. You will be pleased to know the guest room and lobby upgrades are now complete and we have two new restaurants to open this month, La Boca (Argentinean grill) and Ginza (Japanese).

I am disappointed to hear of the service you encountered both at front desk and within the room service departments, and please know that this falls short of our standards. I have raised the incidents with the relevant departments and a review of our service procedures is now underway.

Should you wish to give the Stamford Plaza another try in the future, please contact me directly and I will personally ensure your stay is a memorable one for all the right reasons.

Kind Regards,
Olivia Harvey
Executive Assistant Manager, Stamford Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Service was stellar. Everyone was so polite and helpful. Booked through a travel site and received a free continental breakfast. Bed was very comfortable, pillows were great, wonderful view, perfect location. Couldn't ask for anything else. Will definitely recommend to others and return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jms25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hi jms25,

Thank you for your review, it is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our facility and team met your expectations. Our refurbishment is nearly complete, so next time you visit us you will notice two new restaurants, La Boca and Ginza, are open to make your stay even more enjoyable.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Olivia Harvey
Executive Assistant Manager, Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Property: Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Address: 150 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#12 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing