We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Majestic Old Lion Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in a two bedroom apartment. I've lost count of the number of times I've read a description of accommodation when booking, only to be disappointed on arrival. Not so this time. This lived up to expectations. The apartment was spacious and comfortable and had all the essential facilities required for self catering. The main bedroom is roomy with a large king-sizes bed. The small bedroom has two single beds which were firm but comfortable.
In the area are a number of restaurants and cafes so if you don't want to spend your time cooking you have a wide choice of places to eat right on your doorstep.
The staff were always helpful and we extended our stay by a couple of ours to fit in with our flight times.
A further plus is that the free "Connector" bus stops right outside the apartments and takes you into the city centre in less than 10 minutes. Alternatively you can stroll through the parks and along the river bank. This takes about 20 to 30 minutes.
The only negative point is that on occasion the flight path for the airport brings planes overhead. This happened on two mornings at around 6 o'clock. All in all it's a minor point unless you're a very light sleeper.
We were on the ground floor and looking up the flights of stairs leading to levels 2 and 3 I was glad of that as the stairs looked steep and there are no lifts. So if you are less than fully fit it might be prudent to go for a ground floor apartment. Just a thought.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you have difficulty climbing stairs, book a ground floor apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    255
    48
    10
    5
See reviews for
222
139
10
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bayeux, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Recently stayed at the Old Lion excellent apartment handy to all transport as we did not hire a car this time.
Staff friendly and very helpful special mention to Rebecca,rooms clean and apartments serviced each day.
My only complaint was the garden area does need a good tidy up trees very overgrown makes the place very dark.

Room Tip: Two level building with no elevators so if you are elderly request a down stairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggieoo1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

A great place to stay if you're in Adelaide for a few nights and want to self-cater. We stayed 3 nights, and booked here for the free parking and cooking facilities, as well as location. There are plenty of nearby restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance: Main North Rd and Melbourne Rd. A short walk into town, as well as being on the bus route.
Apartments facilities were fine for what we needed, staff were friendly and helpful. Overall a great place to stay, which I would happily recommend to anyone.
My partner thought it was a little tired and courtyard noise bothered him, but I didn't notice either.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Great location central north Adelaide... Restored 1855 brewery with high ceilings.. 2 bdrm apt well furnished.. Comfortable beds and great linens... Staff very helpful and accommodating.. Special kudos to Becky and Von... Very helpful in printing off docs.. And wealth of info regarding free bus service and things to see in area... Highly recommend apt hotel.. We stayed 1 night then went on outback trip over 3 days and staff stored our luggage and some food for us until we returned then stayed 4 days.. We're also able to park rental car here while away on 3 day outback trip ... A HUGE thank you.. Made our last week ( after 6 here) in Australia very easy....

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Great north Adelaide location with plenty of nice food and coffee nearby.
Free, secure undercover parking was a bonus, although the parks are very tight and getting luggage up was a pain for us (from basement car park to third floor apartment with no lift).
Daily room servicing another unexpected bonus given the apartments are self contained.
Rooms are older and a bit run down (old curtains, some broken fixtures) but they are clean and functional.
Music from the pub next door can be heard in the rooms (even when closed up with aircon running) until late, did not bother us as its part of staying in any area with nightlife, but might be a problem for light sleepers.
Overall, a comfortable and well located place, with friendly and obliging staff. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so ask for a lower floor if you have lots of luggage or difficulty with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKMZ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my husband, parents and one year old to be close to the location of the wedding in North Adelaide. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment.

The apartment was fully equipped with a complete kitchen, four seater table, large TV and shower over a bath.

Although backing onto the Old Lion Hotel and all centre around a central courtyard, you couldn't hear the hotel at all, or any of the other guests.

The staff were helpful - on the phone they asked if I needed anything for my son other than a port-a-cot (ie - high chair) and when my parents checked in on the second day, they provided them with a car park spot, even though they only allow one spot per room.

The apartments are extremely close to wonderful food outlets (The Store, The Old Lion, Zapatas, Cibo... to name but a few) and walking distance to the Zoo and the northern end of the city.

The only negative points about this hotel were the cleanliness and no lift. Although the hotel appeared clean and tidy and still relatively modern, my son was crawling on the floor and his feet and hands were black..! As black as soot..! I think the apartments need a bit of a steam clean, rather than just a vacuum after many years of use. As for the lift - the car park is underground and we were on the first floor, so it meant two flights of stairs, and doing this, holding a toddler, was hard work when I checked in on my own. They knew I had a child, you'd think they would have put us on the ground floor.

A nice stay, would stay again if we required accommodation close to/in North Adelaide.

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor room, those stairs can be a killer when unloading your car from the underg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cammyxxoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

My friends and I booked a 3 bedroom apartment to stay over a weekend in Adelaide for a Hens Weekend. With 6 of us staying in the room. Being a hotel in Adelaide in Summer you would expect decent air conditioning. The temperature during the day was 40 degrees and the only unit in the apartment was a small split system unit in the lounge room. The rest of the bedrooms were sweltering hot without any fans or air conditioning in them. In the end 4 of us dragged our mattresses into the lounge rooms in order to get some sleep due to the heat. When we complained to reception their only help was to offer some fans for the bedrooms, which in that weather wouldn't have really done much.

It is a shame because the apartment itself is a great facility and perfect for what we wanted. Unfortunately though with very little sleep due to the heat, this put a dampener on the entire experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zarakara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
1.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
1.0 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Old Lion Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Old Lion Apartments

Property: Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Address: 9 Jerningham St, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Old Lion Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully landscaped Majestic Old Lion Apartments are located in cosmopolitan North Adelaide amongst a vast array of cafes, restaurants and shopping. Refurbished in 2005 and again in 2011 this four (4) star accommodation offers a choice of studio, one, two and 3 bedroom apartments making it the ideal choice for group and family accommodation. Location is a key feature of these North Adelaide apartments situated just 2km from Adelaide’s city centre and walking distance to the Adelaide Zoo, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide University and other attractions. Each of the 66 self-contained apartments are modern, spacious and functional and include free and secure on-site parking, private kitchen and laundry facilities, reverse cycle A/C, opening windows, Foxtel, in-room broadband, 37" LCD TVs, electronic safe, direct dial phones, electric blankets and more. Select apartments also cater for the movement impaired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Majestic Old Lion Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing