We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything you need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“everything you need”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have stayed here many times with the family. Great location, great kitchen facilities, free and convenient parking. Walking distance to Rundle mall and the zoo, with a great pub next door it just ticks all the boxes. The Ritz it is not but it doesn't claim to be either. I'm a fan!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anastasiaw w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    296
    55
    12
    5
See reviews for
287
161
13
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife, two girls and I stayed here during the Australia Day weekend. The apartment was clean, well maintained and the beds were very comfortable. The location was right next door to the Majestic Hotel and four or five cafe's with suburb menu's!

There is a FREE city shuttle stop just round the corner and the Zoo just up the road. The booking was very well handled by the staff and we were given a discount for the Group booking so I could not fault this place - I have given it 5/5 rating!

Room Tip: Research the Shuttle trip and timetables so you can easily get into the city for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daylesford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We went to Adelaide last week primarily to see Collingwood play Adelaide at the Adelaide Oval under lights. I booked an apartment because of location and reviews and I am so pleased that I did! From the minute we arrived until my last contact on Monday when I realised we had left our USB ports in the safe in our room, we were treated with courtesy, smiles and an attitude of 'nothing is too much trouble'. Our room was big and comfortable with basic furnishings and included K-size bed, washing machine, dryer, full size fridge and stove. I had requested a ground floor unit at the back and found it a quiet, convenient location. We were within walking distance of everything. We'll be back. The only downside to our stay was that the cleaning varied from excellent to perfunctory.

Room Tip: We found being on the ground floor away from the hotel complex was perfect and weren't disturbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here for a week while holidaying in Adelaide and it was a great choice. Fully self contained modern spacious unit with a separate bedroom and the luxury of 2 TVs. I found the washing machine and dryer very welcome at the end of our holiday. The units are in North Adelaide near the Adelaide Zoo. The free city bus stops at the door and you are in the city in 5 minutes which was a great bonus. Very quiet location, just off the busier "Melbourne Rd". Beautiful garden setting and free Wifi. Lived up to our expectations. Only grumble was the strange selection of kitchen ware provided. They had a fancy lemon zester, but no vegetable peeler or can opener. There was one small plastic microwave bowl, but no oven ware or a salad bowl. We made do of course, but a few added items would help families who may not be eating out each night..We would definitely recommend and stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceddy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for a week spread over 2 stays.Gardens,architecture and decor quite elegant and well maintained.Reception staff vvv helpful and our room was ready early for us even tho we didn't expect it to be.Rooms spacious and bathroom huge and well appointed with 1 exception...need luggage stand.Free WiFi and secure parking.No lifts but they will help with bags if required or ask for a ground floor unit.Location is great with restaurants vvv close and Adelaide a short stroll away.Tariff reasonable and they have an excellent cancellation policy if needed.This will be our Adelaide home when we are there from now on.

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper request a back unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryld16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in a two bedroom apartment. I've lost count of the number of times I've read a description of accommodation when booking, only to be disappointed on arrival. Not so this time. This lived up to expectations. The apartment was spacious and comfortable and had all the essential facilities required for self catering. The main bedroom is roomy with a large king-sizes bed. The small bedroom has two single beds which were firm but comfortable.
In the area are a number of restaurants and cafes so if you don't want to spend your time cooking you have a wide choice of places to eat right on your doorstep.
The staff were always helpful and we extended our stay by a couple of ours to fit in with our flight times.
A further plus is that the free "Connector" bus stops right outside the apartments and takes you into the city centre in less than 10 minutes. Alternatively you can stroll through the parks and along the river bank. This takes about 20 to 30 minutes.
The only negative point is that on occasion the flight path for the airport brings planes overhead. This happened on two mornings at around 6 o'clock. All in all it's a minor point unless you're a very light sleeper.
We were on the ground floor and looking up the flights of stairs leading to levels 2 and 3 I was glad of that as the stairs looked steep and there are no lifts. So if you are less than fully fit it might be prudent to go for a ground floor apartment. Just a thought.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you have difficulty climbing stairs, book a ground floor apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayeux, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Recently stayed at the Old Lion excellent apartment handy to all transport as we did not hire a car this time.
Staff friendly and very helpful special mention to Rebecca,rooms clean and apartments serviced each day.
My only complaint was the garden area does need a good tidy up trees very overgrown makes the place very dark.

Room Tip: Two level building with no elevators so if you are elderly request a down stairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggieoo1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
1.0 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
1.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
1.1 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,111 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,280 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Old Lion Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Old Lion Apartments

Property: Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Address: 9 Jerningham St, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Old Lion Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully landscaped Majestic Old Lion Apartments are located in cosmopolitan North Adelaide amongst a vast array of cafes, restaurants and shopping. Refurbished in 2005 and again in 2011 this four (4) star accommodation offers a choice of studio, one, two and 3 bedroom apartments making it the ideal choice for group and family accommodation. Location is a key feature of these North Adelaide apartments situated just 2km from Adelaide’s city centre and walking distance to the Adelaide Zoo, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide University and other attractions. Each of the 66 self-contained apartments are modern, spacious and functional and include free and secure on-site parking, private kitchen and laundry facilities, reverse cycle A/C, opening windows, Foxtel, in-room broadband, 37" LCD TVs, electronic safe, direct dial phones, electric blankets and more. Select apartments also cater for the movement impaired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Old Lion Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing