We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family wkend away to celebrate daughters 21st”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family wkend away to celebrate daughters 21st”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

There were 6 of us who stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment. A bunk, 2 single beds and a king bed. Management came and sorted the 2 single beds to make it a king. They don't do linen change on Sundays which we didn't know but they were prompt and happy to bring up new towels for us. Great location, close to the city and central for travelling to the Barossa, Victor Harbour or Hahndorf. Approx 45 mins. King bed that I slept in was very compy and pillows great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueU_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    273
    51
    11
    5
See reviews for
244
145
12
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location. Melbourne Street is very quaint and has great cafes and restaurants and it is close to the city. The furnishings in this hotel are lovely but I do have one problem. The bathroom shown on the website is not what we had. I had a lower floor apartment and the bathroom was dated with a small sink and tiny mirror. It reminded me of a hospital bathroom, trying not to be harsh but it had that same feel. We had a four people in the apartment and needed to get ready for an event and when I booked the apartment I thought there would be ample room to get ready, but the picture on the website was of a newer bathroom and larger mirror. When I called reception they told me I needed to book the Presidential suite and that is the bathroom with the larger mirror and newly renovated bathroom. We stayed five nights and unfortunately the Presidential Suite was booked out. So if a newer bathroom is important to you, check to see if you have it. Other than that, nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Check to make sure you have a renovated bathroom and kitchen as shown in photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great location in north adelaide easy walk to CBD and Adelaide oval plenty of good restaurants and cafés near by and free city bus to CBD out the front door. Room spacious good kitchen big beds. blankets average not very warm for an Adelaide winter. Free underground parking is great

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment with 4 adults. The apartment was very comfortable. Large enough that we didn't get under each others feet. The parking was a little tight and taking our heavy bags to our room up the stairs, was a little difficult, especially for my older mother. We needed to make a few trips to the car. Fantastic location, with lots of places to eat around there.
Tours picked us up from outside the apartment. Some rooms were a little noisy from the hotel on ground level. All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garykerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

What a great location, just off Melbourne st in North Adelaide. The Lion hotel is at the front. Great little restaurants around the corner.On the free bus route, a walk to Adelaide Oval and the city. Self contained one bedroom apartment, excellent value. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the only apartment left, ground floor towards back of complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerden H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Put simply there is nothing wrong with this choice of accommodation, however expected more for the price and reviews. The apartments are generously sized, very well maintained and properly cleanly serviced. Their location in a North Adelaide makes it ideal to walk to nearby shopping and restaurants. Cannot speak highly enough of next doors Lion Hotel and their restaurant. It is this also which is my only negative observation and have to say unlucky experience that may occur on more than one occasion being next to a public drinking establishment I was kept up on my nights stay by the ranting of an inebriated fool who could not remember his room number and felt that by screaming out to his wife/girlfriend to come downstairs to take him upstairs to his room would do the trick. It did, but not after some 35 minutes which was enough to confirm that the glass windows were not installed with double glazing and certainly not thick enough to cope with this sort of public nuisance. Security was non-existent. I would try elsewhere before returning, and perhaps choose earlier than later on in the weeks if that's the case.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gonz-83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ultima
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a 2 night stay here. Beautiful units, lovely decor very nice.
everything that you need, well appointed littel kitchen, secure undercover parking.
walking distance to many restaurants....you have to go to Primos awesome meal and great prices for the family.
Beds are pretty hard though!!

Room Tip: there are no lifts, we have 3 childrens and our selves as a couple and we were on the top floor. th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
1.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
1.4 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
1.0 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
1.1 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
1.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Old Lion Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Old Lion Apartments

Property: Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Address: 9 Jerningham St, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Old Lion Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully landscaped Majestic Old Lion Apartments are located in cosmopolitan North Adelaide amongst a vast array of cafes, restaurants and shopping. Refurbished in 2005 and again in 2011 this four (4) star accommodation offers a choice of studio, one, two and 3 bedroom apartments making it the ideal choice for group and family accommodation. Location is a key feature of these North Adelaide apartments situated just 2km from Adelaide’s city centre and walking distance to the Adelaide Zoo, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide University and other attractions. Each of the 66 self-contained apartments are modern, spacious and functional and include free and secure on-site parking, private kitchen and laundry facilities, reverse cycle A/C, opening windows, Foxtel, in-room broadband, 37" LCD TVs, electronic safe, direct dial phones, electric blankets and more. Select apartments also cater for the movement impaired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Majestic Old Lion Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing