We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over priced and poort value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adelaide City Park Motel
Ranked #44 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 16 December 2012

for $10 less you can get a room around the corner with an on suit. here you share a bathroom. there is only the free to air chanels on the TV and they have no dinning, no room service, no value.

the place is clean and tidy but whoever owns the joint has a poor sense of value. Also there is only two paking spots so if you are from the country and bring you car you may have some problems.

Suggest taht the country comfort and/or the chifley (both within 60 seconds walk) are far better value.

Room Tip: no pool, no car parks, no food, no value
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Adelaide City Park Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

Stayed here for a few nights, room was clean but worn. Consisted of double bed , lounge tv, bar fridge. Room did have a balcony but it was a common area which looked directly into our room so I had to keep the curtains drawn for privacy. The bathroom was clean with shower and toilet but I would have to say that the water pressure was terrible and only came out in a trickle. The location was great central to everything though the traffic noise was very loud especially as there was a crossing outside the window so had the constant noise of the warning to cross beeping. Parking was a problem as only about three spaces at the rear of the hotel for guests otherwise its out on the street which are all timed areas. The manager was nice and helpful. As I said you get what you pay for and for the price it served its purpose.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxi1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We found this a great little hotel in a very central location from which you can walk all round Adelaide centre quite easily and get a tram from a nearby stop to Glenelg for the Sunset. It is about a 40 miniute tram ride. Very friendly manager, who may be the owner although we did not enquire, who was really helpful. We had an excellent room with small balcony. Modern and clean with good bathroom en suite. The parking area was great but do book early as there are few spaces. Nearby cafes are good for breakfast.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Have to say was pleasantly surprised! I was expecting a lot less due to the price for one night...it was really cheap for inner city accommodation. The room was spacious, clean and tidy, service was good and it was really close to some great restaurants. All in all great value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MishonMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I expected a good standard of accommodation and presentation, given the good TripAdvisor ranking and favourable comments from other travellers. I was very disappointed.

I booked on their web site and paid good money for what I thought would be a nice room. When I arrived I realised that maybe it was not quite what it was advertised to be, the lobby was tired, shabby and the smell from the restaurant below the motel was very noticeable.

The first room they gave me seemed nice enough although hardly "boutique" in quality. The biggest problem though was the noise from the extractor fans for the restaurant which seemed to exhaust on the roof just outside the room - it was like living next to an airport, the whole place vibrated! I discussed this with the fellow at the front desk and he agreed that it was a problem with some of the rooms.

He moved me to a room at the front of the hotel. This did not vibrate but was small, the furniture and fittings were really quite shabby, the TV did not work (fixed after I complained), the safety lock on the door was broken, the AC did not work, the fridge smelt of old food. There was also a rather strong cooking smell from the adjoining restaurant. I got the clear impression that this was not the best room in the house.

I was there for two nights and, honestly, was glad to leave. Maybe I was just unlucky in the room(s) I was given but also I think the general standard and presentation was not very good.

It does show how misleading a ranking in TripAdvisor can be. This hotel was well up in the list of Adelaide hotels, ahead of others that I know to be better - obviously not an accurate indication.

My advice would be - if you can get a cheap rate and don't mind a bit of squalor, fine! If you really do want something nice at a fair price - don't go near it!

Room Tip: Check out the room before you pay!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RocketRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

It's not the sort of place I would normally stay - having said that - what did I expect for $88 per night? Here's the deal - linen and bedding are clean and crisp. The room smelt good. The window opened to allow fresh air. The staff are friendly. There is a small car park behind the motel. The bed was supportive and firm. Pillows were reasonably voluminous and comfortable. Complimentary towels and guest amenities were provided on arrival. All in all - if you want something affordable and clean - look no further.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yellowknife70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed here because everything else in town was booked due to a Justin Bieber concert. This caused all the hotels in town to raise prices significantly, and ultimately we paid more per night to stay here than we did for a nice hotel in Sydney a few days later. If you don't mind taking a few cabs or walking, and are ok with not having a nice on-site restaurant, then this place should work for you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jddavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
1.0 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.0 mi away
Chifley on South Terrace
Chifley on South Terrace
#36 of 57 in Adelaide
1,236 reviews
1.9 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#12 of 57 in Adelaide
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sage Hotel Adelaide
Sage Hotel Adelaide
#23 of 57 in Adelaide
1,065 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Comfort Adelaide
Country Comfort Adelaide
#48 of 57 in Adelaide
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide City Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide City Park Motel

Address: 471 Pulteney St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range: £30 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelaide City Park Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide's City Park Motel is a boutique style motel offering quality and detail in both accommodation and service. Inner city location provides easy walking access to major venues, attractions, shopping, nightlife, restaurants, cafes and business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelaide City Park Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide City Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing