We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Princes Lodge Motel
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel is unbeatable value for money. An old manor house with high ceilings and wide corridors in amongst a row of Adelaide's finest mansions. Great views of the parkland opposite from most of the rooms. The thick walls help keep the noise down at night though a small amount comes in from the street - not enough to bother me. The owners were very helpful in providing maps and directions. Highly recommend this relaxed accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Discerninglaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_and_David, Owner at Princes Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are happy to offer comfortable clean accommodation that is good value only a short distance from Adelaide CBD, the new Adelaide Oval and plenty of places to eat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

Let's start with some features I personally enjoyed: The continental breakfast saves having to look for food on your way out, and features delicious bread, cereals and un-homogenised milk! And there's a very friendly atmosphere in the dining room: people talk to each other!

The welcome at the front desk was vigorous, friendly and helpful. Taxis were no problem. Very responsive service.

The bed is to die for. I meant to look to see what brand of mattress is in use because it is more comfortable than the mattress I have at home, and spent a lot on that because I like my comfort. This is the most comfortable hotel bed I have had anywhere, at any price!

Of course I could have done without the "No Refunds" policy, but it was my own silly fault that I booked one day more than I needed. You don't get the money back! And it would be nice if the hotel would print a receipt when you check out: makes it easier to claim back the expenses. The hotel argument is that the tax invoice you get from the booking service is sufficient, and includes the fees and charges from the booking.

This hotel bills itself as a three-star, and I am reviewing it as such. It appears expensive for a 3-star until you look at the comparable rates in Adelaide. Hotels are a little more expensive than they are in some parts of the country, and the Princess is in a very central location.

This hotel was built in 1913 and is being carefully restored. The quality of the restoration is such that I instantly felt I had walked in to an hotel from the 1950's/60's (I'm old, I remember them!). However, some compromises have been made: the lumpy bed-springs, bathroom at the end of the corridor, and lack of airconditioning are gone!

Some of the constraints of the original architecture have to be worked around: the room is "small" because Queen beds were not around in those days, and the inclusion of an ensuite bathroom has taken that space out of what was originally a generous room.

I was amused to discover that the handbasin was in the room instead of in the bathroom -- that's the way it always used to be, there was a handbasin on the room (but the bathroom used to be at the end of the corridor...)

Adelaide has one of the widest temperature variations in Australia, nearly 46 degrees, so buildings before airconditioning were designed with high ceilings to allow the heat to dissipate. In the Princess Lodge the ceilings are nearly 4 metres high (the current Australian standard is 2.4 metres).

The Princess has airconditioning: a through-the-wall unit that is noisy but effective! Speaking of noise: this hotel is EXACTLY aligned with the runway at Adelaide airport: the aircraft will go over very low. The first plane goes over about a quarter to seven, you won't need your alarm clock!

The large park with horses grazing across the road gives the area a lovely ambience.

This is a great chance to experience the way hotels used to be, with the discomforts removed {Grin!}

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if traffic noise worries you, ask for the ground floor if aircraft noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMcGhie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed in a massive family room at the back of the property, it was clean and comfortable and good value for the price. The owners are renovating at the moment and eventually this will be an excellent property. The main house is lovely and well renovated. Also a nice continental breakfast was included with the tariff.

Room Tip: family room sleeps 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_and_David, Owner at Princes Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you Trish for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are part way through our freshen up with painting of common areas nearly complete. It is an ongoing project with minimal impact on our guests. Our grand lady will look not so tired very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Motel is situated facing a park - not green when we were there as it was so hot! - but gives an air of spaciousness which one wouldn't get in a centrally situated city hotel. Our room was at the front, therefore looking out onto the park, but the downside to this was that it could be noisy with the traffic at times. There is also a shady garden at the back which is a good place to sit.
Internet availability was convenient - & worked! - although not free, the $6 for 24 hours was hardly expensive.Andrew was so helpful to us - we were most grateful for the huge help that we were given.

Room Tip: Back facing will be quieter but not such a good view - if that matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GwenCOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for the week of the Tour Down Under, and whilst carrying the bikes up and down the grand staircase drew a few eyebrows, we were otherwise very happy with our stay. The location was excellent, the rooms were well appointed, and the buffet brekkie was a MAJOR plus! Thanks guys

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Joelodood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_and_David, Owner at Princes Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thanks for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay with us during the Tour Down Under. Glad the breaky was what you needed to get those wheels spinning each day. Hope to see you and your bikes again next year if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were in Adelaide for a short stay after catching up with family who live on the Murray. We had booked alternative accommodation, but one of our party of four suffers from vertigo and severe anxiety issues and we were faced with a challenge. I had requested a low floor at our first booked venue, but could only manage second floor accommodation. After realising this wasn't going to work and I would end up with a very upset and stressed sister travelling with us, we jumped on Trip Advisor and found the Prince's Lodge.
We gave Andrew a call and found they could accommodate us, with two ground floor rooms and were on our way from the city to North Adelaide within about twenty minutes.
Thank goodness for our knights in shining armour.
We couldn't have been happier staying at the very character filled period venue, and consider it one of the better accommodation places we have stayed at. The environment was very homely, lived in and unique.
We were also challenged with a heatwave for the two days we were there, but with great air conditioning, we didn't miss a beat, or feel the heat.
The continental breakfast was very welcomed, and we were actually a little sad to be on our way after two nights. They were very obliging with helpful hints about places to eat and visit, as well as gave us an update on the bushfire status that assisted us in rearranging our travel for that day.
Thank you Andrew and David for coming to our aid, and should we return to Adelaide, we will be sure to come back and stay!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor is helpful if there are mobility issues, otherwise all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is a great place to stay in Adelaide. The room was spotless and serviced daily. It was a safe area for a single woman. It is a pretty area to walk around. The free bus is at the close but an easy walk to the CBD. Breakfast was good and include. O'Connell St restaurants are a couple of blocks away. The staff were great, nothing was to much trouble.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SandyC239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#11 of 55 in Adelaide
597 reviews
1.9 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.6 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adelaide Inn
Adelaide Inn
#26 of 55 in Adelaide
334 reviews
1.8 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 55 in Adelaide
1,202 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 55 in Adelaide
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Lodge Motel

Address: 73 Lefevre Tce | North Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £52 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Princes Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a grand private residence converted to motel style accommodation The Princes Lodge Motel is a unique place to stay. We offer clean and comfortable rooms for single travellers, couples and families. All room rates include a modest buffet style continental breakfast in the dining room and we have space to park vehicles free of charge. We are only 2 kilometres from the CBD with many transport options to get you there including the free commuter bus that leaves from a stop only 300 meters from the front door. If you choose to walk you will pass historic homes and can take in the vista of the city and Lake Torrens that the elevation of North Adelaide offers.The main house is two stories accessed by an impressive staircase rising from reception. A balcony on the first floor has views across parklands to the Adelaide Hills. Our guest lounge offers a place to relax with a good book or one of our many magazines. During summer our rose garden is in bloom and our rear garden offers a shady spot to relax.Your Hosts David and Andrew look forward to welcoming you when you are next in Adelaide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Princes Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing