We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chifley on South Terrace
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during the cycling tour down under over the Australia Day long weekend.

While the room itself is generally comfortable and decor is acceptable, the bathroom is in desperate need of an update with poor water pressure, noisy toilet cistern and walls in bath/shower had bits of mould.

Also disappointed that the soap was green in colour and visibly washed over your body as green!! Probably an attempt at a statement but I could only think of turning into the Incredible Hulk or Shrek every time I had to take a shower.
Towels provided were so thin - the towels provided at the pool were thicker and much nicer than the room towels.

To top it off our room was the first 1 off the elevator and it must be the oldest elevator in all of Adelaide! Extremely noisy which we could hear from our room - we could not shift our room location as the hotel was booked out for the long weekend. When you use the elevator every time it stopped it would bounce up and down at each floor - I'm surprised we didn't get stuck in it.

We won't be returning until at least the elevator and bathrooms are updated.


Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shepsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Shepsontour
Thanks for your feedback and taking the time to review your recent stay. I have shared your comments with the relevant departments and we are currently looking into the items you have mentioned, including the bathroom, water pressure and the 'green soap'. We have also raised the quality of the linen with our contracted company and will monitor this to ensure our recent improvement in this area is maintained, rejecting any that do not meet our standards.
Unfortunately, the lift is older and does have some peculiarities and idiosyncrasies including the bouncing as it levels to each floor. it is safe however and regularly serviced by an independent lift company.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    465
    358
    143
    82
See reviews for
244
432
125
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I spent a few nights here with my two kids and really enjoyed our stay. After reading some of the reviews, our room was better than expected. It had two very comfortable queen size beds with modern furnishings. Bathroom was on the older side but very clean and plenty of shampoo etc supplied.

The view was nice of the pool and the city. The pool was excellent, very clean and warm and plenty of towels available. I didn't use the restaurant as it was being refurbished while we were there.

The staff were helpful and the onsite parking was handy. It was close to restaurants and public transport and my kids enjoyed the park across the road.

I would definitely stay here again for the price.

Room Tip: One of the lower floors so you don't have to wait for the slow lift. We only had to walk one fli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyminato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear familyminato
Thanks for the review and I am glad you and the family enjoyed your recent stay.
We understand your comment when reading the reviews as these do tend to be of negative experiences, however we do have many very satisfied guests as well, including a high number of regular repeat guests of long standing association. We also electronically survey our guests after departure (when provided with email addresses) requesting additional feedback - these surveys are very helpful in identifying areas of concern and issues to be addressed as well as allow us to gauge an overall guest satisfaction rating. For the current year, this score is currently rating us at 78.5%.
I am pleased to advise the restaurant is now open and having eaten there myself several time's can honestly state the food is terrific. Hanuman Restaurant Adelaide is part of the highly recognised and popluar Hanuman group with sister restaurants also in Darwin and Alice Springs.
Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel is close to tram stop, nice rooms and good amenities. Lovely parks across the road for running or walking. Walking distance to restaurants and coffee shops. Good size pool that you can do laps in. Restaurant is lovely.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KazandDin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Dinkalinc
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and letting us know you enjoyed your experience.
It is especially pleasing to hear you enjoyed the new Hanuman Restaurant which has opened in our hotel. Lovely Indian & Thai food by one of Australia's top restauranteers, Jimmy Shu.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The staff were pleasant, the rooms were shabby and the funniest thing was the lift stops overnight, so if you're on the higher floors then you'll be slogging it up the stairs if you get back after 11pm.

The housekeeping was patchy and things got done depending on who was doing it. All up I'd say if you can get a good deal then go for it as it's in a handy spot but if you need to pay full price then go elsewhere.

Room Tip: higher up and at the back as then you don't get the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeautifulSights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Beautiful Sights
Thanks for the review on your recent stay.
We apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced as we have also recognised areas of concern with some of our cleaning standards. We are currently working closely with the housekeeping management & team to improve the standards throughout the hotel. Where appropriate, increased checking of individual staff member's and retraining will be undertaken as we also want our guest's to be satisfied with this important aspect of their stay.
We will remain vigilant in this regard and look forward to our guests also seeing our improvements.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel is in a reasonable position relative to city and trams. It is also close to Hutt St restaurants. It has a good pool and friendly staff. It was, however, quite run down and tired in appearance. I found the lift to be so gross I was reluctant to go in it. It seemed to be bordering on a health hazard. The big stand-out was the carpet. What a difference even that small thing like cleaning the carpet would make! We couldn't figure out where the black foot prints were from in our bathroom until we realised that it was us! Walking on the carpet gave us foul grubby black feet! My advice to potential visitors-keep your shoes on and use the stairs..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l0ubris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear IOubris
Thanks for the review on your recent visit. We apologise your stay was not as expected and for any inconvenience experienced.
Your comments are most welcome and have been shared with our housekeeping and maintenance departments and urgent work is being done to the lift carriage including a professional dry cleaning of the carpet and new fascia to the walls internally.
We will also be increasing our visual inspection and reporting regime to ensure that hotel standards are maintained and any items requiring rectification are attended to in a timely manner.
I invite you to contact me personally at the hotel if you would like to give any further insights or feedback on your stay and which may also assist us to make further improvements.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We booked for a convenient location before an overseas trip. On arrival we discovered that the illustrations on the website were not the place where we were staying in fact we were booked into the Chifley next door. We went back to the reception to discuss our dissatisfaction only to be told that we should have booked into the Grand Chifley if we wanted to stay in a better room. We expressed our disappointment with the Chifley's misrepresenting the standard of accommodation on their website.
Yes we did remain in a dirty substandard room only because we had prepayed the account... we won't do that again, neither will we be likely to stay at this establishment again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear David D
Thanks for choosing to stay at our property and writing a review. I am deeply sorry your stay was not as expected and apologise we were unable to resolve the situation suitably when this was bought to our attention at the time of you being in-house.
I am unsure as to your claim of misrepresentation of our accommodation as I have personally reviewed the websites and they are property specific and as are generally pictured and described. If you are able to contact me at the hotel, I would be delighted to speak with you personally and conduct an investigation into your booking and our handling of the issue/s when they were first bought to our attention as our guest's comfort and satisfaction is very important to us. Once the investigation is completed I will then share with you the outcomes and any improvements we will be undertaking for future guests.
I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

On an extremely busy Adelaide weekend the Chifley South Terrace was one of the few hotels we could book into.
We paid a premium price for a Queen Room which was refurbished on appearance although dangerous on use.
The water in the bathroom was so hot it was impossible to have a shower and not scold yourself. When we called reception for assistance they came up ran the water for several minutes and advised we will just have to ‘make do’. We spent the weekend having to have face washer showers as the water was at boiling point.
We received no follow up and little attention from all staff encountered.
I think the onsite parking is great and the location suitable to get around Adelaide but it doesn’t make up for a tired and unsafe hotel.

Room Tip: An end room is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Lil R
Thanks for the feedback on your recent stay. We are sorry you had problems mixing the hot and cold water and I have bought this to the attention of our Maintenance team to look into and give me further feedback on how this can be rectified.
Our staff have also been reminded of the need to escalate to management if they feel they are unable to resolve a query or situation directly and to keep our guest's informed throughout when something is bought to their attention.
I invite you to contact me personally at the hotel so I can further investigate your stay and the problem you encountered.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Sage Hotel Adelaide
Sage Hotel Adelaide
#24 of 57 in Adelaide
989 reviews
2.0 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Rydges South Park Adelaide
Rydges South Park Adelaide
#27 of 57 in Adelaide
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,093 reviews
1.0 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.8 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chifley on South Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley on South Terrace

Property: Chifley on South Terrace
Address: 226 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chifley on South Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chifley on South Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley On South Terrace Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing