We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Survey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chifley on South Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chifley on South Terrace
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Survey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I enjoy each of my trips to ADELAIDE and my stays at the Grand Chifley.
I do beleive that even though I have not commented on the Food service at all, I would like to implore some advice that the menu be changed for Dinners and that some extra meals be placed on the room service after hours for those that do not eat greasy food stuffs.
Apart from this the service is very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nic0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Nic
Thanks for your comments and my apology it has taken longer than normal to respond. I am pleased to advise we have recently changed our menu's as suggested. Generally we change our menue's every 4-5 months to ensure that we remain on trend and seasonal.
We look forward to welcoming you back next visit.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    454
    338
    135
    77
See reviews for
226
419
123
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is value for money both accomodation and food. I would recommend this to you all. Food was great too!! Staff are on the ball and most willing to help. Cab rank right out the front so no waiting for ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank oldscholarNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The room is huge and clean! It can probably for two queen size beds! The usual hotel amenities provided with soap, shampoo, conditioner,towels, kettle, iron board, TV... Oh but I didn't see a safe box ( not important to me)

The bed was comfortable, the kind it love which is soft in the middle and hard at the sides.... Pillows were firm which was great...
I also did notice an adjourning door so those traveling in big group will be ideal so that the rooms can be somewhat connected.
The room comes with a table and 2 chairs for you to have meals in the room and a balcony too. Which was nice.

Although our room faced the main road but it was quiet. No sound of traffic or bus . But then again, Adelaide is quiet.

There is a restaurant at the hotel which looked nice but didn't get a chance to eat, maybe next time. There is a western restaurant next door that sells $8 meals like pasta, pizza,etc which was nice.

Bonus is that car park comes with a room which makes it very useful especially in the city. City car park prices can go up to $5/ hour.

Just 5 mins from the hotel is the stop that the free tram passes which brings you right to Rundall mall where all the cafe, shopping area is.

We stayed for 2 nights and we definitely felt comfortable. If you are looking for a place to spend a few nights in Adelaide and you have a car, this is the place to be!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank alijanst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Hill, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Location excellent, room was good, bed very comfortable BUT the lighting in the room very dim especially for a vision impaired person. Staff did provide another lamp, but still not adequate. Bathroom had no where to place toiletries in the shower recess, difficult for a vision impaired person and staff could not supply a shower caddy. Tiles mouldy and old. Needs ventilation. Ask for a room at end of hall so you do not get bothered by the noisy lift.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annandphillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Nice hotel, but remote location. Got free tram nearby. Most of the hotel staff are friendly. The tram are free and so I can go elsewhere, it is next to South Terrance station which is a good location though. But it is still a bit far from CBD albeit in Central Adelaide




  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tobiashpang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, WA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The main reason for my choice of this Hotel was because it offered KS beds. Bed was reasonably comfortable but are probably in need of a mattress change. Access to the balcony is a good idea but the door doesn't open wide enough for the average size person to get through easily. Our 1st room was 410 right opposite the lift which definitely needs a complete overall. It clunks and clatters and all the noise echoed into our room. So Saturday morning we requested a room change that was readily obliged by the staff (one has the feeling that this wasn't the 1st request) who offered us a choice of 2 rooms and we chose 313 which was far enough from the lift that we never heard it again during the night or early morning. Both rooms really need a make-over, especially the bathrooms which were both mouldy due to no ventilation or fan. Ca rpark was handy but could do with relining as parking was a premium on Friday afternoon on our arrival because people don't know how to park! Apart from the negatives, it was close to the City and the tram stop for easy access. Also close to access to the Adelaide hills for our touring and sight seeing. The staff were friendly and helpful when asked for directions, etc. Morning breakfast was continental and delicious but the coffee machine leaves a lot to be desired. would we stay there again?? Yes.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a number from 1-7 or 12-15 - no noise from lift.... Soutern rooms overlook a par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wycomgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear wycomgal
thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. Your comments are very important to us and have been shared amongst the team for improvements to be undertaken. We are sorry for the inconvenience of the lift and are pleased the new rooms location was more suitable - this has been noted on your profile for future stays.
I am pleased to advise also line re-marking of the car park is to be scheduled in the near future, along with our adjoining properties.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.
Warm Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Bathroom needed attention mold on ceiling due to no ventilation. Carparks need to have lines marked in peak times bad parking limits capacity. Staff stood around when someone was in medical assistance, no active help. As a fellow guest I helped and provided attention and had to direct help from staff, this was very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarenKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear MarenKS
Thanks for reviewing your recent stay. Your comments have been shared for improvements and I am pleased to advise the line marking of the car parks is being scheduled for the near future.
Thank you for assisting the guest in need - we will review the incident and our staff's knowledge of it and any subsequent action's as we do have qualified first aiders on duty at all times.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Sage Hotel Adelaide
Sage Hotel Adelaide
#24 of 58 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
2.0 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Rydges South Park Adelaide
Rydges South Park Adelaide
#28 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Arkaba Hotel
Arkaba Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fullarton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.0 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chifley on South Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley on South Terrace

Property: Chifley on South Terrace
Address: 226 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chifley on South Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Travelbag so you can book your Chifley on South Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley On South Terrace Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing