We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Professor writes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #39 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Brisbane
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Professor writes”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Centrally located opposite the Casino and city shopping. Clean rooms, great bed, lacking cupboards but a bit of a rabbit warren navigating to the room. The carpark is an absolute nightmare. Good family brecky at favourable cost and they do a great Omlette. It's all about the location. Would re-visit, although too many South Australians live there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougK677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    723
    733
    363
    232
See reviews for
294
875
309
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Location is excellent. Right in the heart of Adelaide, across from the Casino. Rooms are small and stuffy and not the cleanest. Hotel has central heating so you can't adjust it. Our room was way too hot and it was a very uncomfortable night.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

room was boiling hot all night, we coulnd't sleep, the air conditioner could not be adjusted, unclear on how it worked. couldn't cool the room down. Otherwise the place was great, service fantastic, food tasty.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katep1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We booked this 4 night stay on wotif.com and the rate was reasonable for a large Australian City. However the room we were given on arrival was awful. It was tired and gloomy, had virtually no natural light. with a dirty window looking out on a dirty wall of the next building only a couple of metres away. There was no bedside table on one side, almost no storage space, the bathroom was dank and very old and the extractor fan didn't work so water was running down the walls. We complained and were grudgingly given a larger and better room but still gloomy , still tired and with hardly any natural light. For a hotel rating itself as 4 star it was not good. The location is very good.

Room Tip: Be sure and request a street facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABsChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHotelGM, Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

I was disappointed to read about the extraction fan and a missing bedside table, this is an exception to our usual standards and has been addressed with the management team.

Here at the Mercure Grosvenor we do have a number of internal rooms, I acknowledge these rooms do not have a view as they face an internal light well, been internal these rooms are naturally quieter than those rooms facing the street which is an advantage for lighter sleepers.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Adelaide Grosvenor
0.2 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#22 of 57 in Adelaide
915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 125 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located opposite Adelaide Casino in the heart of the cultural boulevard of North Terrace. Offering a wide variety of room types that fits the needs and budgets of all travellers. All rooms have fluffy feather duvets and pillows, modern and stylish furniture, slim lined LCD televisions in most rooms and broadband internet throughout. Hotel facilities also include the Federal Restaurant and Bar, 24-hour reception and room service, parking and internet kiosk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grosvenor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing