We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Nice enough, comfortable but could do with a bit of a makeover. Shower screen fell apart.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,590 - 1,596 of 2,348 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

The hotel was very very noisy. The walls are paper thin and there is an air-conditioner/ liftwell that you can hear all night. I called reception because I thought there was drilling downstairs! I am usually a very deep sleeper but still couldn't get in any sleep here.

On the upside though - at least I went for a run because I couldn't sleep! :)

I'm sure this hotel will be fine if you have some good noise cancellation head phones.

Oh and also, there are big pillars which run down the corridoors, so it feels like a bit of a prison (not that I have ever stayed in prison).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mghadelaide, Front Office Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Mercure Grosvenor. It was disappointing to read your sleep was disrupted by noise from the hotels air-conditioning system. Our maintenance team are investigating some form of barrier to alleviate any noise caused be the air conditioning.
I have also noted your comments about the pillars and agree they do take up some space in the hallways. Unfortunately the pillars are a vital part of the hotels structure and cannot be removed, we like to think they add some character on the journey to your room.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
1
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Horrible noise-proofing in the economic room even with closed window. The bathroom window should have easier access instead o using a chair in the wet shower to reach it, it is kind o dangerous. Aside Horrible noise-proofing in the economic room even with closed window. The bathroom window should have easier access instead o using a chair in the wet shower to reach it, it is kind o dangerous. Even though the price is cheap for a neat little room or a night or so, I will not stay in the economic rooms unless I have no other options or they have fixed the above problems.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mghadelaide, Front Office Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

We appreciate the feedback you have supplied to us from your recent stay at the Mercure Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide.
We are sorry to hear noise from outside disrupted your sleep, we are actively trying to find a solution to minimize the disruption.
We acknowledge the placement of the windows in the economy rooms bathrooms could be better however to rectify this a great deal of structural work will be required, please rest assured however of maintenance team are trying to find an easier solution to the problem.
We sincerely appologise for any discomfort caused, and thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

A great place to stay. v The hotel is very central to the cbd and opposite the railway station. The staff were always helpful and nice. The room was comfortable and clean and I was very pleased with my choice to stay at this hotel. It was value all round.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HugMcMullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Canberra, Australia
1
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Reception staff excellent. Service excellent. Good bed and clean room, decor a bit dated. Parking adequate but cheap. Location central. Would stay there again. it is stupid to put a minimum limit on the length of a review. Try changing to a maximum.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Adelaide, Australia
1
Reviewed 3 November 2011

i was excited about staying at the hotel and was having loads of fun untill saturday night when i was using the computer in the foyer wen i became abused by many other guests for using the computer when they had an emergency, at the time i didnt know wat it was and kept to myself as i had my 2 year old son sitting next to me however there was 1 particular woman that swore at me and told me she was gonna kill my son!! i later found out that this emergency was because of the Qantas strike, sorry not my problem i had every right to use the comp and even asked reception b4 using it, i then later called police because of the threat but b4 and after they came staff at hotel were very unhelpful and didnt want to do NOTHING ABOUT IT so he said. i wasnt asking for anything in particular but thought as it was the hotels guest that they should have done something nice for us to keep us happy and to wanna come back, and after upsetting me and my son i dont know if we will, id love to return but it depends on the reply i get from this feedback E-mail im sending you!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
1
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Good things: Room was clean - Room service was prompt.

Not so good things: Lighting in hotel room was poor - Decor was old fashioned and dingy. - Never had to pay for parking in a hotel I was staying at before and parking spaces were too small.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 55 in Adelaide
1,420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#15 of 55 in Adelaide
2,696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#24 of 55 in Adelaide
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chancellor on Currie
Chancellor on Currie
#17 of 55 in Adelaide
800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 125 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £69 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located opposite Adelaide Casino in the heart of the cultural boulevard of North Terrace. Offering a wide variety of room types that fits the needs and budgets of all travellers. All rooms have fluffy feather duvets and pillows, modern and stylish furniture, slim lined LCD televisions in most rooms and broadband internet throughout. Hotel facilities also include the Federal Restaurant and Bar, 24-hour reception and room service, parking and internet kiosk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grosvenor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing