We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adelaide on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 17 February 2014

For the price we paid we cannot be too critical and we did get some extras that we didn't expect, and they changed our room once we said we didn't want a room with a broken blind and facing and internal wall and when on a budget the location is close to all the main attractions however the glass doors on the en suite are not a very good idea no matter how well you know some one!! Also we had to carry our two heavy cases up and down two flights of stairs because the third floor at lease is spit over two levels. The staff were really helpful and did direct us to one of the understanding and most colourful pubs in the town called the Exeter hotel.
In summary on a budget and for a couple of nights the Mercure Adelaide is good enough. However when compared to the one in Warsaw Poland it stands firmly in its shade.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Paul R

Thanks for your post. I am pleased that you found one of my favourite pubs while you were in Adelaide.

It sounds as if you stayed in one of our Economy rooms - these are a little unusual, are 3 star and have somewhat awkward access. This is not the case for our Mercure Standard rooms and above.

I'm glad that the team were repsonsive and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Mercure Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 2,337 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at this hotel during the february heat wave.The room was well set out and the aircon was very good in 44o temperatures. Free drinks were provided in the lobby for guests to quench their thirst.

Staff at reception were very quick and efficient and although we arrived early our room was available immediately and we were offered an upgrade for less than $20 .

I must pay tribute to one staff member who always had the dubious pleasure of being on the desk when i needed help or info. it didnt matter whether i wanted a cab or tour booked or general directions he was always very helpful . excellent all round service . His name was GRANT

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwisinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Kiwisinoz

Thanks for your post, love your 'name' by the way!

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, 44 degrees is difficult at the best of times so I am pleased that had a pleasant experience.

Thanks for your feedback for Grant also, he is a great team member and I will make sure he is commended.

Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Mercure Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We arrived at the Mercure Grosvenor Adelaide in the middle of a stiflingly hot day that saw temperatures that hovered around 43 degrees with a wind that felt as though it had come directly from a giant fan oven, so we were pleased to get into the cool of the hotel reception where we were greeted by the impressively bearded, helpful and cheerful Grant. He was to continue to be very obliging throughout our stay. Indeed all the staff were very good.
However, we were originally allocated a room on the 2nd floor that must have been at the furthest back point of the building. To make matters worse, when we opened the door, it revealed a room that was without doubt the smallest hotel room and ensuite we have ever seen. We don't mind small, but really, the hotel has a cheek to call this a double. The bed more or less filled it and we've seen shower cubicles that were about half the size of the overall bathroom area. It really was a single and should not be rented as anything else. We immediately returned to reception and upgraded. Hassan, behind the desk, did this readily but pointed out that the room on the 2nd floor was what we had ordered. We would not dispute that fact, but what he failed to realise was that when one has booked via the Internet, some months in advance and from some 12000 miles away, you can only rely on visitor reviews and "airbrushed" photos. The upgrade cost us another 20 dollars per night.
The new room was almost like it was in another hotel! At least twice the size or more with a much better bathroom and two armchairs.
However, even then, the shower door did not close properly and there was a small leak from the toilet system. Only water thankfully. We reported this and the manager looked. It was a Sunday so no maintenance staff, but the faults were not fixed by the time we checked out on the Tuesday.
In addition, all the corridor carpets on both floors we visited (so assume all floors) were so old and used that they looked as though they were filthy. They desperately need replacing. If the owners sorted out some of the room/building issues and raised the standard of the building to the quality level of their reception staff, the hotel would be a great place to stay; especially given its location. As it is, it does not measure up to it sister Ibis hotels that we stopped in in both Singapore and Melbourne.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank MJandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear MJandJ

Thanks for your post on TA.

I appreciate the detailed nature of your feedback and I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your room initially. The rooms that you initially booked are rated 3 star and are 'in essence' a different hotel to the 4 star room you ended up in. Both are clearly detailed on most booking channels and are priced accordingly.

I apologize for the two small maintenance issues you reported that were not rectified. I will address this with my team.

Thanks again for your post and hopefully you'll return to South Australia in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Mercure Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

It is important that I stress that the staff were all very helpful, fun and always ready to assist you however they could.The restaurant service was, good, the meals were good for a hotel and the service staff also fantastic.

Now, here is the problem. The hotel has had renovations done, but it is essentially a 90 year old building, which mean there is only so much they can do, including a very small tight car park.

The rooms are small (think Paris size), so if you are going to be doing more than just sleeping and going out all day this is not the hotel for you. I would recommend this hotel for its excellent location to get around Adelaide in, but it is not a hotel where you'd want to hang out in your room more than you had to.

So, in summary, if you just need a bed and that is it, stay here and you'll be pleased. If you want a hotel to spend time in, then....

Room Tip: rooms facing the road can be noisy with traffic, ask for one not on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serendipitysydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Serendipitysydney

Thanks for your post on TA. As you note we are a historic hotel with a great location right near Adelaide's sites.

Some of our rooms are small but they are priced accordingly so as you note there is a comfy bed and shower to come back after you explore Adelaide. We do offer larger rooms (Privilege Rooms and Suites) which have a lot more space and are still a great price.

Thank you for your comments on our team I will ensure that these are communicated directly.

Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Mercure Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kosta_9999
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 February 2014

During our stay, Adelaide experienced a record-breaking heat wave. The hotel's air conditioning system could not cope with the demand; consequently we had 3 absolutely miserable nights. Our final night, the desk staff gave us a fan from the office. The staff were polite and apologetic, but even with the fan, the room was stifling. The hotel is old and is showing its age. Others in our group complained of musty smell in the bathroom. I would never stay in this hotel again, and I will probably not stay in another Mercure Hotel in another location.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Mimi F

Thank you for your post on TA.

I am sorry that you were uncomfortable during your stay. As you note Adelaide experienced it's hottest January on record and the first week of February posted further 'records' for heat well in excess of 40 degrees celcius.

As an older hotel our AC units did struggle during these unprecedented events. 99 days out of 100 our facilities more than cope with what is required and we offer a great product at a great price in a great location. I am sorry that during these conditions on this occasion you were disappointed.

I hope that you will reconsider staying in Mercure hotels as I can assure you they are great hotels and aren't likely to experience Adelaide temperatures any time soon.

Kind Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 55 in Adelaide
1,394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#23 of 55 in Adelaide
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#14 of 55 in Adelaide
2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#20 of 55 in Adelaide
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 125 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £59 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located opposite Adelaide Casino in the heart of the cultural boulevard of North Terrace. Offering a wide variety of room types that fits the needs and budgets of all travellers. All rooms have fluffy feather duvets and pillows, modern and stylish furniture, slim lined LCD televisions in most rooms and broadband internet throughout. Hotel facilities also include the Federal Restaurant and Bar, 24-hour reception and room service, parking and internet kiosk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grosvenor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing