We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable, but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable, but nothing special”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

As locals we occassionally book into a city hotel to enjoy a night out from the kids and to walk to restaurants and shows without worrying about drinking and the drive home. We spotted a cheap deal for this hotel on a last minute booking website, so decided to try this hotel out. The reception and lobby area was fairly understated, and as we walked through the halls to our room everything looked very tired, like it was a long time ago that this building was renovated. However, when we entered our room we were pleasantly surprised, with modern furnishings and decor, comfortable king size bed, separate bedroom, with a TV in both the bedroom and sitting room. there was also a small kitchen which would suit people having a longer stay who wanted to prepare some meals. The bathroom was on the small side, with the bath bordering on the small side, but all clean and convenient. There was some traffic noise from King William Street (the main city thoroughfare) and the post office clock chiming every 15 minutes, although this stopped by 11pm and didn't recommence until 8am. The Medina is in a great location, we walked to Gouger street restaurant strip for dinner and it's also very close walking distance to the main shopping area of Rundle Mall. The historical photos around the hotel were quite interesting, so guests could appreciate the historical significance of the buiding, but that wasn't my priority.
The room was sold as a 4.5star, and I think that was being a tad optimistic. It was clean, comfortable and pleasant, but I would expect a better room service menu, fluffier towels and more of a 'wow factor'. We were also disappointed that the spa was closed for maintenance, although the lap pool looked pleasant enough, we really wanted to use the spa. I would be very happy stay in a hotel like this for business travel (although I suspect full rates would be a bit on the pricey side) but for a special night out or a holiday, I think I'd try somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Lots of fabulous eateries at the Adelaide Central Markets for breakfast or at Gouger Street for othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdeleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear AdeleAdelaide

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury. I will ensure the team is aware of your great feedback in regards to the room and hopefully when you return next, our expected refurbishment of the hallways will be completed (including new carpet) to compliment the rich history of the building.

We do apologise for the spa being closed for repairs, we unfortunately experienced some unexpected maintenance and we hope to see you back to enjoy the spa especially during winter on your next visit to Adelaide.

Kind regards

Arthur Rojas
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,148
    592
    111
    37
    14
See reviews for
289
816
86
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Stayed here for business as everything else in ADL was fully booked or over priced... Rooms are generous and clean, however..... The room service menu is very ordinary, over priced and only available from 6-9pm... The pub downstairs allows people to smoke in a small court yard and the smell wafts up the stairwells. The rooms around the court yard a noisy until late also because of the pub. The car parking facilities are cheap at $14 per day..but they are a block away and its difficult to find a spot.

Would only use this place again as a last resort..

Room Tip: Don't stay near the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear BBLJ

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at the Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury. Our Housekeeping department fully appreciates the great comments in regards to our room’s cleanliness.

I will ensure the Restaurant Manager is aware of your concerns in regards to meal pricing and room service availability. While the Treasury Restaurant is a popular establishment in the Adelaide CBD (especially on Friday nights with the courtyard closing at 11pm), the hotel does offer rooms away from the courtyard for those guests who prefer a quiet room. For future stays our team at Reception/Reservations will be happy to notate your preference during the time of making the reservation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury.

Arthur Rojas
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Upon arriving to the room I was pleasantly surprised by the size and the quality fit out.
The bar downstairs is warm and inviting and the staff cannot be faulted.
Location is excellent for business.
Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide this wonderful review. The Team at the Medina Grand Adelaide were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay immensely.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Arthur Rojas
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

A lovely old former government offices building from the 1800s that has been turned into an apartment hotel. Tall ceilings and a great location in the centre of Adelaide. Helpful staff and a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveller110412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
The team at Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always pleasing to receive positive feedback and we are glad you enjoyed the location, room features and service. May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury when you next visit Adelaide.

Kind regards

Arthur Rojas
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed here a couple of months ago. Had a weekend in a 1 bedroom premier apartment. Having stayed before, knew about the bar noise. Asked for and got a room well away from the bar. Very comfortable stay and will return again.

Room Tip: If you don't like noisy crowds, ask for a room well away from bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank croweater66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Croweater66
It is always nice to see locals South Australians enjoying their stay with us. We are very grateful for the positive feedback and look forward to seeing you return very soon.

Kind regards

Arthur Rojas
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

What a lovely boutique hotel! Such a pleasure to stay here. Quiet and offering both apartment facilities as well as a good bar and restaurant with lovely decor and superb location. I couldn't think of anywhere better to stay in Adelaide.

Room Tip: I stayed in apartment 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventuregirl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear adventuregirl1968

The Team at Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide your vey positive comments.

We are commited to making a positive difference to the Hotel atmosphere with original features along with other historic decor items that work well with our Heritage building.

I will pass your compliments to the Bar/Restaurant Manager as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Medina Apartment Hotels in the near future.

Warm regards

Jorge Contreras
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Lovely old building located right in the centre of Adelaide on Victoria Square close to most things. You might experience some traffic noise should you have a room facing out on to the street. The rooms facing into the court yard are very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear PRAust

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the historical elements of our Hotel

Definetely a stay at the Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury is not just a step back in time, but a history lesson all on its own!
If interested, the tunnels and Cabinet Room in our Hotel are available for guests to see and there are regular free National Trust tours. Please contact our reception team for further details next time you stay with us.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Medina Apartment Hotels sometime soon.

Warm Regards,

Jorge Contreras
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,045 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Address: 2 Flinders St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace the stunning elegance of Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury, superbly located in the heart of Adelaide in the historic, heritage-listed former Treasury. Your stay in this friendly city can only be enhanced by the historic charm of Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury, situated at the true heart of the city's CBD, overlooking Victoria Square and adjacent to the Town Hall. Originally the offices for the State Treasury, Medina has completely restored and rejuvenated its heritage features making it one of the country's most appealing boutique hotels. Andrew Harper’s Hideaway Report, the most respected publication in luxury travel, announced in its March 2011 issue the recommendation of Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury. All of Andrew Harper’s recommended properties possess exceptional character, a commitment to classic hospitality and a profound sense of place. Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury is delighted to be among the best of the best properties worldwide to receive his recommendation. Whether your plans call for back-to-back business meetings or picnics in the park - you are within an easy stroll of all the action at Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury. The Botanic Gardens, major Art Galleries, the Adelaide Casino, the shopping, restaurants and cafes of Rundle Mall, and the superb fresh produce from Adelaide Central Market: are all a five minute walk away. Choose from 80 one and two bedroom apartments, all with in-house movies and Foxtel. Enjoy the sophisticated decor and the mood-enhancing ambiance of your hotel apartment, with fully-equipped kitchen and laundry, climate control and fast broadband. Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury can be your "home office" in the "City of Churches". Our dedicated staff will move mountains to make your stay a enjoyable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing