We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Hotel Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Richmond
Ranked #31 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed for 3 nights whilst attending a seminar. Having read previous reviews by guests, I honestly did not have high expectations for my stay at Richmond Hotel. However, I couldn't resist booking with them due to their competitive pricing. Breakfast was included, whilst it was a simple continental breakfast, it was all fresh and of pretty good standard. Very friendly staff, very courteous and friendly.

Centrally located, there are no complaints about its location right in the middle of Rundle Mall and Rundle St! The room was spacious and clean. The facilities were not the newest but it featured your essentials and they all worked. Noise has been an issue throughout many previous reviews and having read them I was prepared for a bit of commotion heading into the early hours of the morning. There was a courtesy call the morning of our stay to inform us of the events scheduled for the weekend. Whilst the noise wasn't too bad from the evening events, perhaps we were also lucky to have a room further away from the function area, the unbearable construction noise at 6am soured our stay!

Besides from the early morning building work, it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Lisa H, Thank you very much for your detailed, frank and honest review of your recent stay with us.

It is always very much appreciated to receive positive responses from our guests, even perhaps when you may have read or received some negative feedback at some stage.

We are grateful you gave us the opportunity to showcase our boutique hotel, our hardworking and friendly staff, our centrally located premises and that you chose to 'give us a go,' regardless!

Our aims and objectives are to provide a pleasant environment, comfort, convenience and happy memories of Adelaide and your stay with us. We are very pleased we were successful and we look forward to a return visit in the future.

Ps - (Perhaps the 6am building work may be completed then, and appreciate your understanding that this unfortunately is beyond our control).

Kind regards. The Hotel Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    100
    37
    19
    17
See reviews for
17
82
22
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed over a Friday and Saturday night as I was a guest for a wedding reception at the venue on the Saturday night. Check in staff were lovely. The lift is a little slow but it gets there. I stayed on the 4th floor and had a very spacious room. There were three windows which opened, a table and two chairs as well as a sette. The bathroom had a shower and a bath. There were 2 full length mirrors which was great for getting ready for the wedding.

My Air conditioner had a mind of its own. I turned it on for a bit of cool air but it wanted to be on heat. After turning it on and off, I lost count how many times, it rectified itself. The bed was comfortable on the side I slept on. It was two beds pushed together but unfortunately one mattress was a lot more well loved than the other one, which meant a big lump in the middle of the bed. It was like rolling onto a wooden step.

Being a local, I knew there was live music at the venue and I could hear the rumblings of the band up until about 11. I wasn't trying to sleep at that point so didn't find it bothersome. On reading some other reviews, it's nice that the hotel ring and let you know that there will be a band playing, even though there's nothing much more you can do about it.

Breakfast was sufficient; toast, cereal, juice, fruit and pastries. If you're not a fan of the breakfast, there are plenty of other places to go. Hot breakfast can be ordered separately.

The location is great, the room was comfortable, I found everything clean, It's not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluechilli8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear BlueChili8,

The Hotel Richmond appeciates receiving feedback from our guests and we thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It is always pleasant to receive positive feedback, particularly about our staff who genuinely try their best to greet and please all our guests and make their stay memorable.

We are grateful for your understanding of noise issues that are sometimes beyond our control. We do like to advise guests as a courtesy of any impending celebrations and if band is playing or louder music may occur during the evening.

We are pleased your room was spacious and satisfactory. We are sorry to hear of the problems you experienced with the air conditioner and the uneven mattress. We do invite guests to notify our reception with any maintenance issues and wherever possible we rectify these as soon as possible.

Again, thank you very much for your comments. We are very pleased your enjoyed the experience of staying in the centre of the city mall, its benefits and occassional noise intrusions. We hope to see you on a return visit.

Best wishes, The Hotel Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed here for three nights whilst attending a conference. After reading the previous reviews I was very hesitant about staying here, however, my work had done the booking so I didnt have much choice.
Yes I can see how the others disliked their stay here. It does need a makeover, and it is noisy. Yes breakfast is sparse.
However, it is in the centre of the mall - for some reason and I dont know why, but the noise echos. I guess you have to expect that when you stay in the centre of the mall. The hotel phoned me the week before to let me know that a band was playing on the Friday night and a wedding was happening on the Saturday night. So they did prepare me for the noise. It stopped at midnight and building noise started up at 6am.

Despite the negatives I actually had a great room that was really spacious. It was very clean and although breakfast was sparse it was fresh and they had everything I liked to eat.
The hotel is located in the centre of the mall so central to everything in the city.

Although I didnt pay for my stay this time, I would probably stay here again if the price is right. There are a lot of other hotels nearby so really it comes down to price as far as I'm concerned.

Room Tip: Get an upgrade to a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squidmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Squidmuffin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are pleased you were happy with the room, the locality of our hotel in the mall and the continental breakfast we supplied.

We are grateful that you are understanding of the noise that can be made when we have a wedding or celebration being held at our premises. We do try to advise our guests of these forthcoming celebrations and are respectful of both our guests and the people holding any celebrations.

The benefits of being in the centre of the city, ie the mall is that unfortunately there may be some exterior noise and that is obviously beyond our control even with noise curfews.

We are appreciative of feedback and look forward to you visiting us in the future.

Kind regards, The Hotel Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

On an overnight business trip, I was disappointed firstly by the lack of facilities, then by the state of the place (old, faded, stained, broken). The room size was OK though. Internet was ridiculous, with two plans (2h or 24h) both on 'per minute' pricing, no wifi. Worst was probably breakfast, which is hardly worthy of the name. Disgusting coffee, packaged juices, old cereal, bread and Danish pastries. That's about it. "Continental"? Hardly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wudangtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear wudangtiger,

Thank you for your response on tripadvisor regarding your overnight business trip. We are sorry to read of your disappointment with your stay. We are a small boutique hotel in the main mall in Adelaide and in most cases people choose us because of its location, its closeness to all shops, restaurants, movies, art gallery, casino etc. We like to think we supply a comfy bed, friendly service and great location for either the corporate client or the holiday traveller at a reasonable price, albeit without having to pay for all the unnecessary frills.

We offer three internet packages for our guests. Some people only require a small amount just to check emails, search locations or attractions, others, generally corporate require more and we like to offer both for convenience and cost. We also provide free wireless internet for all our guests in the reception and restaurant/bar area. Any of our friendly staff will provide you with a access code upon request.

A continental breakfast is a light morning meal that is provided by many hotels and motels. It traditionally includes bread products, cereal, fruit/fruit juice and hot beverages. The meal typically is presented in a buffet, from which guests can help themselves, rather than being served to the guests like it would be in a restaurant. The quality and amount of food that is provided can vary widely and often depends on the quality of the establishment, with high-end hotels that attract business travelers typically providing better continental breakfast food than roadside motels that attract families who are vacationing on tight budgets.
The term "continental breakfast" refers to the continent of Europe and distinguishes this simple breakfast from an English breakfast, which typically consists of more food and often includes meats, cereals, fruits and even vegetables in addition to bread products, juice and hot beverages. Light breakfasts such as those often enjoyed by people in Europe, especially France, are considered easier, cheaper and quicker for hotels to provide to their guests. It also is convenient for travelers who might not have time for a sit-down meal in the morning before needing to continue on their journey. We do now however, as from this week, offer a cooked breakfast so that guests can now choose Continental or English style breakfasts.

Very kind regards, The Hotel Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woombye, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

It's 1:00 am and we fly back home today and the walls are shaking from the party on the balcony being held down stairs.

So far I have been unable to sleep well a single night we have been here. It would have been nice to have been given some warning about the load noise we could expect most every night.

We were told as we checked in that we were given a free upgrade to "the best room in the house" if this is the case we would hate to see anything else here. The best is so noisy that sleep is nearly impossible.

The other big issue is the air conditioning does nothing. We have it down at 18 and we are still sweating through our shirts.

Now some good things. The staff in the lobby are friendly and accommodating and we have enjoyed being close to everything.

And a personal note to the person who might reply to this review:
I have also noticed after reading some other reviews that the hotel takes our feedback seriously, but does not do anything about it. So to the PR person writing them, you really need find someone to act on the feedback or you will find your credibility lacking.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xaiofang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your comment, both negative and positive. We do appreciate constructive criticism together with knowing our staff are helpful and obliging.

We are very sorry to know that you slept so badly and that the noise was so invasive. We do endeavour to avoid such problems, albeit sometimes without success. We do try to select rooms that may be less noisy if and when we have a function on site. Obviously your room was not not best suited unfortunately.

With regards to the aircondtioning, we are currently having this repaired and have tried to do this with haste and professionalism. We regret that this also caused discomfort to your stay.

We do strive to give our guests a welcoming and happy memory of their time with us and we do apologise that in this instance we did not fulfil your expectations. We hope we have the opportunity to rectify this in the future.

Best wishes, The Hotel Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Wanting a place close to the Film Festival cinema and quiet, we selected this hotel. Location is excellent. Reception staff friendly and apologetic when we complained about a dirty bathroom with residue on the floor and a pillowcase with blood on it! Yuk!
The room was spacious but the furniture is old and tatty and tired. The room was bright enough from the two windows but the frosted glass meant you had no view and no idea what the weather was outside.
The halls were being painted white which will help the dark brown feeling of the place.
I agree with another reviewer about the poor continental breakfast and we had to ask for the loud tv to be turned down. Who wants loud tv at breakfast?
Very ordinary accommodation in a nice location

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback Rob F,
We take all guests comments seriously and we thank you for providing the information below.
The Hotel Richmond are pleased to be now in the process of a Refurbishment; all of the rooms at the hotel are being painted, the décor updated and the bathrooms are all being refreshed.
We have taken on board all guests comments, and we are soon to start our long awaited fabulous Hot Breakfast in First.
We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the refurbished Hotel Richmond in the coming months.
Kind regards,
Hotel Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Large room with a comfortable King Bed, even though its 2 x singles joined. Ducted A/C is great, 32" LCD TV is good size to watch from "sun lounge". Large bathroom with above standard size shower. Bar menu is inviting and eating on the first floor balcony is great if your on your own. The bad bits are that whilst the mini bar is well stocked, the thermostat on the fridge can't be changed and I didn't think drinks were cold enough. Parking is in a parking lot where it costs $18 each time you want to leave or $23 for valet, thus a bit pricey. Other than that its a well priced hotel right in the mall.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Brad290, Thank you for staying at the Hotel Richmond recently and providing us with positive feedback. We are extremely pleased that you were happy with your overall stay, the location of the hotel and that you found the room very comfortable. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future!
Kind Regards,
Hotel Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
0.1 mi away
Mansions on Pulteney
Mansions on Pulteney
#41 of 57 in Adelaide
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
#12 of 57 in Adelaide
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Property: Hotel Richmond
Address: 128 Rundle Mall, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#24 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#26 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Richmond 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the business and shopping district, Hotel Richmond is Adelaide's premier boutique hotel. The effortlessly chic 30 guestrooms and suites feature individual climate control, all about me amenities, en-suite bathrooms and flat-screen televisions. The glamorous restaurant and bar, "first", is a magnet for the cool party crowd. Spherical wire-ball chandeliers cast twinkling light over artwork by local and international artists. The contemporary Australian menu, offers modern dining in chic surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing