We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Instantly helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Richmond
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Instantly helpful”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I arrived after 9pm after a rushed trip from interstate. I realised on the taxi ride from the airport that I'd left phone at the airport. At reception I asked if they had a way to use 'find my iPhone' for me. "Of course! " was the reply as staff swung action using a personal phone to discover the phone was exactly where I thought I'd left it, just as a phone call from the location confirmed it was safe and available for collection. The hotel staff were delightful to talk to, keen to help and matched the quality of all the facilities at the hotel. Highly recommended for service, location and facilities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elyssebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Front Office Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Elyssebeth,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Richmond recently and providing us with positive feedback.

We are delighted to hear that we helped you find your phone, as these phones are our lives we are so happy to have assisted you to get it back.

We are delighted to hear you were happy with your overall stay with us, especially the location of the hotel.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    97
    36
    18
    17
See reviews for
16
78
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
912 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Was a bit apprehensive about booking in here but they had a good rate so there I was, checking in.

First impressions - well the entrance is kind of very small and easy to miss, especially with all the renovations and work going on in the Mall at the moment. The staff on front desk were awesome. Extremely welcoming and friendly.

My room was on the 5th floor - which is the top floor of this hotel. I was actually pleasantly surprised that the room looked quite nice. There was only the one small window, which was frosted over so you couldn't see anything from it. However, I did have an issue where the window was slightly ajar and, given the cold weather at the moment, I wasn't keen on leaving the window open. I looked everywhere for a means to close the window but couldn't find anything in the room. I therefore went down to reception to see if maybe they had a tool to close the window.

Apparently they knew about the situation with the window but at least they offered to move me. I then got moved into a far superior room (Room 52) which was at the front of the hotel. This room had separate living and sleeping area plus full length French windows in both rooms that opened onto a balcony overlooking the Mall. Also had a massive marble bathroom with a huge corner bath tub. Awesome room compared to what I was originally given, so I would thoroughly recommend end anyone staying here to try to get a room ending with a "2" (assuming same layout is repeated on each floor)

However - the downside of being in a room fronting into the Mall is that at present the Rundle Mall is undergoing renovations. And this takes place 24 hours!!!! Yes, so you are subjected to the noise all through the night. I know that they work 24 hours because I stood there and watched them as I was unable to sleep with all that noise. And then , if you were able to sleep through the machinery noise through the night, at about 5.30am the planes start arriving and they fly very low over the city. So gone was my plan of sleeping late. Not possible.

Other than the external noise, the room was not bad though I thought the beds do probably need some serious upgrading. Very saggy in the middle, very hard and not comfortable at all. Some attempt had been made to add a kind of padded mattress protector but that wasn't enough to help with the fact that the bed was saggy and tired. There were some decent pillows though so that did help a little bit.

As far as "boutique" style hotels go, this fits the bill and it is in an excellent location.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Front Office Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear BrisCaz,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Richmond recently and providing us with positive feedback. We are delighted to hear you were happy with your overall stay with us.

We are so happy to be near the end of the construction of the New Rundle Mall, unfortunately due to the council their were works during the evening however this is at the final stages.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I've stayed in the Richmond at least half a dozen times in the last year and have never had a bad experience (well, one but not of the hotel's making). The king size room is very spacious and comfortable, as is the bed, and the staff couldn't be more helpful or friendlier. The Richmond is ideally placed for someone who is conducting business in the city and is also an excellent location for visits to the 'cultural precinct' of North Terrace -- the Art Gallery, Museum and the State Library -- and also close to David Jones. On my first visits a continental breakfast was provided but this is no longer available. Not that it matters because there are heaps of breakfast-type place very close by in Rundle Street. The bar and dining room are extremely attractive -- quirky and funky -- and I always arrange to meet friends there for a drink. The disadvantage I referred to earlier was the ongoing pavement replacement in Rundle Mall, which must have been terribly annoying for the hotel management because it was loud and disruptive just outside their front door. But it's nearly over -- the end of August I was told. I'll be back there within a month or two.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Front Office Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Penelope C,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor, we are pleased to have you return to the Hotel Richmond on many occasions.

The new Rundle Mall will be finally completed by October and by the end of August they will be away from the front of the Hotel (thank you for being so patient and understanding). We are excited to see the finalization of the construction as it will be amazing once it has all been completed.

We are definitely in the proximity of the SA Museum, State Library, Adelaide University, the New Adelaide Oval along with Royal Adelaide Hospital and the Adelaide Zoo.

We look forward to seeing you back at the Hotel Richmond within a month or two.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Friday night, drinks and dinner.
Very suave and sophisticated environment, very swish decor and somewhat 'up-market' type environment which is brought back to reality with beanbags and lay booths at the front overlooking the mall.
Food was outstanding and highly highly reccomended.
Can't comment on the room as did not stay.
Will definately wine and dine again!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Front Office Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear AussieTraveller06,

Thank you for your positive response on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you found us to pop in for a drink and a meal whilst you were enjoying the surroundings in the Mall.

We will definitely pass on the message to our Chefs in regards to the dishes.

We are ideally located in the main shopping precinct of Adelaide and in the midst of restaurants, the Art Gallery, Museum and all forms of public transport. The Adelaide Zoo and the very new and exciting new Adelaide Oval is also in walking distance.

We look forward to a repeat visit from you soon, and hopefully to stay with us in one of our Hotel Rooms,

Kind Regards,
Hotel Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We didn't stay but after a few hours wandering up and down the mall a spot for a cool drink was needed. We spied this hotel and took the lift to the first floor as it had a balcony overlooking the mall. Lots of beers on tap and a reasonable selection of wines to choose from. Not your local pub but certainly a good spot for a drink with some friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Front Office Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Roger R,

Thank you for your favourable response on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you found us to pop in for a drink whilst you were enjoying the surroundings in the Mall.

We are ideally located in the main shopping precinct of Adelaide and in the midst of restaurants, the Art Gallery, Museum and all forms of public transport. The Adelaide Zoo and the very new and exciting Adelaide Oval is also in walking distance.

We look forward to a repeat visit from you in the near future, hopefully to stay with us in one of our Hotel Rooms,

Kind Regards,
Hotel Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Do not believe the advertising photos, its nothing like it! Its not luxurious, its more a filthy backpacker hostel. We stayed in the most expensive room, it was very dark, filthy, MOULD in carpets and grouts, LEAKING TOILET, furniture worn and damaged, very uncomfortable beds. In dire need of a huge overhaul. Unhelpful and unfriendly staff, won't even open the doors for my elderly grandma. Manager refused refund when we moved out. Don't expect much from the continental breakfast, its not served in a restaurant, its a plastic pack with cereal, muffin and an orange juice already stocked in room. To access fitness center you have to pay extra as a house guest. Look at my photos please.
Better go to Majestic Hotel Next door, for $30 more you get real luxury and perfect service!

Room Tip: Go to Majestic hotel next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alphacentauri74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Alphacentauri74,

I'm very upset to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. Though not all your comments seem to be accurate. Although you didn't enjoy your stay, we do receive a high volume of return guests and positive feedback from most guests as is reflected in the reviews of this website and from the awards that we have won.

I'm very sorry that you didn't like the room that you were staying in, though on review I have found that the stains you mentioned were because of the way that the carpet had been brushed against it's self, sorry about this happening but this occurs when the housekeepers vacuum the carpets.

We do strive to help all our guests to the best of our abilities but when staff members receive different reports it makes our job harder to do.

In regards to the fitness center, as advertised we sell discounted gym passes to an Anytime Fitness gym which is located in Rundle mall.

If you would like to return in the future please contact us and we can offer you one of our Deluxe suites which is an upgrade from the room that you stayed in.

We thank you for your constructive feedback,

Kind regards,


Hotel Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Loved the place!
The location is so good, close to amenities and the bustle of central Adelaide but stepping into the hotel was like another world.
The first floor bar is so cool and elegant, with black and white Audrey Hephurn movies projected onto one wall.
Great service, a lovely place to hang out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Barbara W,

Thank you for you staying at the Hotel Richmond recently and providing us with outstanding feedback. We are very happy to hear you were happy with the location of the hotel and that you enjoyed your time and service provided in our First Bar & Restaurant. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

The Hotel Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansions on Pulteney
Mansions on Pulteney
#40 of 57 in Adelaide
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#7 of 57 in Adelaide
1,567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Property: Hotel Richmond
Address: 128 Rundle Mall, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#24 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#26 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Richmond 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the business and shopping district, Hotel Richmond is Adelaide's premier boutique hotel. The effortlessly chic 30 guestrooms and suites feature individual climate control, all about me amenities, en-suite bathrooms and flat-screen televisions. The glamorous restaurant and bar, "first", is a magnet for the cool party crowd. Spherical wire-ball chandeliers cast twinkling light over artwork by local and international artists. The contemporary Australian menu, offers modern dining in chic surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing