We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, modern, convenient”
Review of Hotel Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Richmond
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Comfortable, modern, convenient”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed three nights here. We loved the decor, the location and the size. It's a great little modern, boutique hotel. The parking was a little odd, but they explained the situation to us prior to our arriving (leave the car in the alley north of the hotel and they'll park it for you). The breakfast was great: and a large, continental selection! The staff was very helpful, and if they didn't know the answer to a question we had, they would find out and get back to us (e.g. info on ferries to Kangaroo Island from Cape Jervis). The only downside was the lack of free wifi. I would certainly recommend this hotel for wonderful stay in a jewel of a city!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arm90405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Reservations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 17 January 2010
Dear arm90405,

Thank you for your feedback, especially relating to breakfast and parking. We have details about parking on all of our websites and any website affiliated with us. Details also get sent out in our official confirmation letters. It can be difficult to find us as we are in the main pedestrian mall in the city. When the Hotel was established in 1920 the Mall was actually a street- so we have to try and get details out as much as possible!

I am glad that you found the information you needed from our staff. We endeavour to employ only knowledgeable and positive staff.

We hope to see you again next time you are in Adelaide. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    98
    37
    19
    17
See reviews for
16
81
22
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Unfortunately we were pretty disappointed from the hotel, compared to their own description.

First of all it was terrible to get to the hotel by car as you can't drive to it (Mall). After guessing we left the car in a weird little street to walk with all our luggage to the hotel; there was certainly no help available. The rooms were spacious but didn't have the flat screen as described on their website and booking confirmation. Breakfast was ok, but very small. Worst thing, rooms didn't get cleaned at all; we were pretty surprised when we came back to the hotel in the middle of the night from a wedding and nothing had been cleaned up.
On top we were also pretty frustrated that the actual hotel online price on the day of arrival was cheaper than when we booked it two weeks prior.

So bottom line compared to the rates it's a pretty poor hotel -we would have paid the same at e.g. the Hilton, but with a lot better service and standard.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skip-2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, ReservationsManager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 17 January 2010
Dear Skip-2001,

Thank you for your review. We welcome any feedback on the property. I hope I can address some of your concerns.

In relation to the parking of your vehicle, we do distribute information on parking on all of our affiliated sites as well as on our official site and confirmation letter. The Hotel Richmond have dedicated valet staff on from around 8am-9pm, with additional staff being able to assist outside of these times. I am sorry your experience of finding us was disappointing. As the Mall was built after the Hotel it can make access difficult at times.

The flat-screen television in your room was a flat-screen CRT television, but not an LCD flat-screen. Since your stay, we have installed Samsung HD LCD Televisions in every room and suite.

We apologise if your room wasn’t made up for you. Until recently our Do Not Disturb and Make up my Room signs were on opposite sides of the same sign and the same colour. We have since made them two tones to alleviate confusion.

As for Hotel rates, all properties rates fluctuate with the season and availability and often rooms are sold at discount rates by third parties with bulk allotments.

I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We have taken the contents of your review and implemented changes as a direct result. Thank you for your thorough feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

Super site, with sleek professional staff.
Spotless, spacious suite rooms.
In-house 'First' bar/lounge/restaurant busy on Fri & Sat nights...although rooms reasonably soundproofed, and doesn't continue too late.
Ideal, central location on Rundle Mall.
Basic breakfast included with the tariff we chose...satisfactory - fresh and delicious.

  • Liked — Location, staff and comfort.
  • Disliked — Small, shallow bath...average outdoor courtyard.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Adzaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Reservations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 17 January 2010
We love our space and location too!

See you next time you are in Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

My review confirms the more positive opinions already stated. Just wanted to add, that if attending a conference at Adelaide Uni, then this is absolutely ideal. For the price I thought it was outstanding value (got it at $150 per night on needitnow).
I must admit that when the elevator opened on the first floor at 6pm on a Friday night, I was stunned at the noise emanating from the bar where clearly everyone was having a great time! However, I was on the fifth floor and I honestly didn't hear a thing.
The room's decor was clean and elegant (I guess this could translate to soulless, but I didn't think so). The slightly groovy decor elsewhere was pleasing to the eye and a relief from the usual this-could-be-a-hotel-anywhere-in-the-world decor one usually sees. The breakfast was simple but entirely satisfactory given that it was included in the rate.
I was without a car, so no hassles there. Just tell the taxi driver to pull up in the side street near DJs and you'll be fine. As others have said, the convenience of having Rundle Mall on your doorstep was most enjoyable.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Eagertogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Reservations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 17 January 2010
Thank you for your review.

All of our staff love the property and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

The rooms were clean but pretty souless and even though we were assured a quiet room at 3am on both nights we were there- the walls shook with dance music. All in all not really satisfactory for the $. I now wish I had paid the extra $50 and stayed at the Sebel Playford.

  • Liked — When we checked out
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beeneverywhereman90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResManagerHR, Reservations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, 17 January 2010
Thank you for your review.

I hope your travel experiences are more positive in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansions on Pulteney
Mansions on Pulteney
#41 of 57 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mantra on Frome
Mantra on Frome
#15 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Property: Hotel Richmond
Address: 128 Rundle Mall, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#24 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#26 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Richmond 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the business and shopping district, Hotel Richmond is Adelaide's premier boutique hotel. The effortlessly chic 30 guestrooms and suites feature individual climate control, all about me amenities, en-suite bathrooms and flat-screen televisions. The glamorous restaurant and bar, "first", is a magnet for the cool party crowd. Spherical wire-ball chandeliers cast twinkling light over artwork by local and international artists. The contemporary Australian menu, offers modern dining in chic surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing