We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat, easy to eat.”

Adelaide Central Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.71*
and up
Adelaide Central Markets Breakfast Tour
Ranked #4 of 205 things to do in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Established in 1869, the Adelaide Central Market has been a thriving hub of food and culture for over 145 years. With over 80 traders under one roof, the Adelaide Central Market is one of the largest under cover market in the Southern Hemisphere, buzzing with life and colour all year round. The Market offers a huge range of fresh food including fruit and vegetables, meat and poultry, seafood, cheeses, bakery, smallgoods and health foods, along with some of Adelaide's most popular cafes and eateries.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hard to beat, easy to eat.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We are cheese and cracker people, and found the markets absolutely fantastic. Has great cafes for breakfast. Plenty of samples which makes buying easy.And to see just a large variety of produce is just yummy. We don't think you will be disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bruceandfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,583
    710
    104
    27
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Adelaides best”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Fresh produce and a melange of food from around the state and international. A must see for all travellers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roelof K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
179 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“$20 and a Fork!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

That is all I need to enjoy this well stocked foodies delight. All of the stalls were selling at least one or two items which I wanted, but did not necessarily need (see "waistline"). My bride and I had a wonderful time browsing, sampling, looking, eating, meeting new friends ... what a delight. The free enterprise system is alive and well in this market with the owners and their able assistents more than happy to accomodate each shoppers whim.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainBlackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
536 reviews
366 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Many choices for fresh produce”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I took my friends to Central Market on Friday. It was very busy with lots of shoppers. They also enjoyed dining in the Asian Food Court. It was another memorable experience for them. The fresh produce section is closed on Sunday and Monday. Some shops may still be closed on Tuesday and Wednesday. The busiest time is Friday and Saturday. Just be careful to the price of what you are buying. One time I was charged for a higher price than what it should have been.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RayParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“A great place with great atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

So many sights, smells and sounds. Huge variety of fruit, vegetables, meats and specialist foods. Visit just before closing to grab some fantastic bargains. Authentic colourful place that is a real eye opener for visitors. Plenty of places to eat and drink so everone's tastes would be satisfied.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patrick-Gaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adelaide Central Market also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Adelaide Central Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing