We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I booked into the Mantra for four nights. I checked out after two. The cost was $384 per might and frankly it was not worth it. The rooms need a freshen up - well used is how my too felt with the bed well passed its use by date.
The Mantra does not have Much going for it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AL9999q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear ALS55,

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you. Phone 08 8412 3386 or email tim.rees-jones@mantra.com.au.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,270 - 1,276 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

I stayed there for one night with my wife on our 22nd wedding anniversary, Adelaide was busy that weekend so we accepted the $300 bill for 1 night (breakfast included). The room was smallish but tidy, the microwave had crumbs from the previous tenant in it, only one light in the bathroom worked (on a 36 degree day the only way you could see yourself properly in the mirror was with the room warmer on). The air conditioner was off when we got in, so we set it to 15 degrees to try to get comfortable, the coolest the room got was 27!!! We were in a sweatbox. Queen size bed was acceptable due to the size of the room (815) but we only got 3 pillows, so much for watching TV in bed or getting a comfy nights sleep. Breakfast was a farce, the eggs were cold, the bacon was cold, the coffee was in a thermos style jug and tepid (you could order a proper coffee if you were prepared to pay extra for it, I did and it was good). The staff were fine and all working hard. You had to pay for broadband. All in all a disappointment, but the company I was with made up for it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CurtVuorela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear CurtVuorela,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my apologies that the service you were provided during your stay was inconsistent. The issues you raised have been addressed with the respective departmental managers and action has been taken accordingly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Hindmarsh Square again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

As a business traveler in Africa I don't often get good value for money. This hotel is exactly what a well priced good quality hotel should be. I could not fault the staff from the front desk through to the restaurant staff as everyone was both professional and extremely friendly. Thank you.
There are too issues that I have and they relate to the fact that I was in a room at the back of the hotel and as a result, there was no air movement at all. I was on one of the lower floors and therefore most of the natural light was blocked by the parking lot behind the hotel. I also do not like sleeping with the aircon on and as the bedroom is separate and therefore does not have a window, the bedroom becomes incredibly stuffy during the night, to the point where it is unpleasant, resulting in me having to sleep with the aircon on.
Aside from this, I found the hotel location to be excellent and the staff fantastic.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room onto the square or higher up the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mosiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear Mosiman,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We often stay at the Mantra on Kent Street in Sydney and decided to try Hindmarsh Square whilst in Adelaide. An excellent location, lovely views over the park, clean, friendly and reliable valet parking service. Great sized rooms & bathroom. A comfortable stay for five nights. We are back in Adelaide in a few weeks and will be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItineraryAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear ItineraryAus,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Got a last minute deal and stayed 2 dedroom studio for 1 night.

The hotel is in a great location and my room had a gorgeous view of the park. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious with luxurious bathroom.

The location was ideal. We do like to walk a city. The staff were very friendly and it all worked very well. I highly recommend this hotel, it's reasonably priced.

Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
Thank Play T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear Play T,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Recently spent 1 night here. Lovely rooms and prime location! 2 minutes walk to rundle mall, close to north terrace. Taxis out front if traveling any further. The room was spacious, clean and inviting. Good sized bathroom, water pressure in shower excellent. I highly recommend this hotel, it's reasonably priced, close to EVERYTHING, wonderful staff and clean and comfy! Valet Parking was good, but a tip when checking out, get in early! Phone ahead to get your car brought around or think about checking out earlier then 10 or getting late check out to avoid queing when busy!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crocodile_dundee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear crocodile_dundee2,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This hotel is very central to everything in Adelaide, we were able to walk to most of the things we wanted to see in the city and the tram was only 5 minutes away to go further afield. The buffet breakfast was terrific with a good variety of food and not expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrishnaGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Dear KrishnaGoldCoast,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you had a great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Mantra on Frome
Mantra on Frome
#16 of 56 in Adelaide
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Hindmarsh Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Address: 55 - 67 Hindmarsh Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#12 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Family Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £72 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Hindmarsh Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a city centre location, offering stylish accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers alike, Mantra Hindmarsh Square is only a short stroll from the Rundle Mall shopping and Rundle Street dining precinct and minutes away from the Adelaide Convention Centre, Sky City Casino, Festival and Entertainment Centres. Combining convenience with style, the hotel offers a range of studios, one and two bedroom air-conditioned suites with fully-equipped kitchenettes, bathroom and laundry facilities. Some suites also offer private balconies with views across Adelaide city or out across the majestic Adelaide Hills. There are a wide range of guest facilities, including 24 hour room service and reception desk, gymnasium and tour desk for your convenience. Sq Restaurant, lounge bar & street side cafe offers creative cuisine featuring the best of local South Australian produce and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Hindmarsh Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing