We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Perfectly located hotel, close to everything in Adelaide city. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The kitchenette was well equipped. I didn't eat at the restaurant downstairs, but it was highly recommended by the locals that I try it out. Internet was good. I didn't like the bathroom with the shower curtain. If you stay here ask for a room with a shower cubicle. I think it's an accessibility room that I was given, which is why it had shower curtains rather than a cubicle - perhaps they should advise the guest of the difference when allocating these rooms. Overall, it's a good hotel and meets the basic needs.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up to minimise noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Nancy F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    533
    172
    42
    27
See reviews for
321
246
60
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Very Good - location
The Good - Room size is generous. Staff generally pleasant. Internet works well. Fresh milk provided in small amounts from the bar.

The Bad
Blood stains on lounge suite. Bed so uncomfortable couldn't sleep. Outside noise from rubbish bin collection and traffic. Bathroom basin like drinking from the water fountain at school. Dim lighting. Stools at computer station so low and uncomfortable almost impossible to work. Window rattles and doesn't shut properly so cold air blows in. Room echoes. We put out 'make up my room" at 9am - returned tired and wanting to rest at 3pm and room hadn't been made up. They then arrived 5 minutes later and did a cursory tidy up which took all of 3 minutes. Bathroom very basic with the shower curtain falling off the curtain rings and mould in the shower - sure I understand we had been given the room with disabled facilities (we did not require this) but surely people with disabilities deserve a less utilitarian bathroom - perhaps they too would appreciate a little more luxury for their money.

Yes, my review is harsh and perhaps if we had been able to get some sleep I might have been less critical of other aspects. Mantra Hindmarsh - replace the bed, clean the shower and have the lounge suite in room 316 recovered.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear PerthJackson,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. In reading your review it disappoints me to learn that you were unsatisfied with your stay.

Having personally inspected room 316 myself I do however have to correct a few things. I was unable to locate the blood stain you mention although there is a very small wine stain which needs to be cleaned and for that we truly apologise. We have no opening windows although we do have a door to the balcony and during my inspection could not feel any cold blowing in although Adelaide has experienced some large storms of late.

Yes in fact you were staying in one of our accessible rooms which is why they have a shower curtain and this room has a very different layout in terms of our usual bathrooms. We do let these rooms to all types of guest especially when we are at full capacity. In regards to the bed we do receive a lot of great comments although this can be a very individual preference although we are in the process of installing mattress toppers to all beds for further comfort.

In closing and as you mentioned your review may seem harsh but this was your experience so again for that I truly apologise and hope to have a future opportunity to welcoming you back to demonstrate that this was a one off and not the norm at Mantra Hindmarsh Square.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikerie, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for one night. The bed was comfy and the bathroom nice and clean. The room was clean and a good size. The front desk staff prompt and helpful at check in and check out. Loved the valet car parking. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jae073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Jae073,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The newly refurbished suites seem more like a cheap apartment with a fresh coat of paint. Dodgy fittings that made you feel like you were in a prison - right down to the metal tissue boxes and sink.
Great location and hotel in general but don't book these room expecting much.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vablo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Vablo81,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. In relation to your comments regarding our refurbishment, our bathrooms were not part of our refurbishment which consisted of the replacement of all furniture, soft furnishing and a full repaint within the apartments. We also place our tissues in a chrome box which fits over the cardboard box they are supplied in.

By all means if you would like to share any more feedback I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail so then I can address these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you. Phone 08 8412 3386 or email tim.rees-jones@mantragroup.com.au.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Located in the heart of Adelaide close to Rundal Mall. Large clean rooms and very friendly staff. The breakfast was adequate with a good choice to choose from. I was travelling on business and would definitlely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JV_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear JV_01,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A recent update of the décor of this hotel certainly brings it right up to the 21st Century. With subdued colours in the new carpets and paint, and minimalist furniture, it is a pleasure to kick back and relax.

The staff are wonderful. The front desk had well informed and personable people, and no request was too difficult. The lobby bar and restaurant are well laid out and pleasant spaces to be in. The buffet breakfast was a typical hotel price, but delicious.

Location is great - close enough to everything, but not in the thick of it, so it was relatively peaceful.

My only issue with the room was the bathroom. Firstly, it sounded like the water pipes go down behind the wall in the bedroom, so be prepared to listen to everyone's showers in the morning. The shower head was inadequate. You pretty much had to run around to get any water. And the towels had seen better days. Well worn and scratchy, it took the shine off an otherwise highly enjoyable stay. The shower situation wasn't exclusive to my room. My colleagues had the same situation.

A minor improvement with the towels and showerhead would make the Mantra one of the better places I have stayed.

Room Tip: If you're not after a view, just peace and quiet, a room on the west side is for you. You are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Ruth M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I assure you that your comments with regard to deficiencies in our hotel facility are being given serious consideration. Past experience has demonstrated that some of our greatest improvements have been made as a result of guests’ feedback. Once again thank you for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Hindmarsh Square again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

What with all the construction works taking place adjacent to the iStay (our previous go to location), we have sought a new place to stay during our frequent trips to Adelaide CBD. We stumbled across Mantra on Hindmarsh, having had good experiences at other Mantras.

The first time staying somewhere and getting a free upgrade is always a great thing.

The second time staying somewhere and not getting an upgrade but getting a personal note welcoming back and a free beer at the bar, well thats classy.

And classy is what we found the Mantra to be.

Unparalleled location, great service, good bar/cafe, modern facilities and very quiet rooms. Decorations throughout are clean and stylish, but best of all (again) is the location.

If staying in the CBD for concerts, sports events or just a city break, avoid the Hindley Street side of town and consider Mantra on Hindmarch. We will be using again.

Room Tip: Higher floor if possible. If a deal is available to book a park view or suite, take it up!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Roundtheworlders,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Hindmarsh Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Property: Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Address: 55 - 67 Hindmarsh Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#12 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Family Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Hindmarsh Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Hindmarsh Square offers premier apartment style accommodation in Adelaide’s bustling CBD. Boasting a city centre location, Mantra Hindmarsh Square is only a short stroll from the Rundle Mall shopping and Rundle Street dining precinct and minutes away from the Adelaide Convention Centre, Sky City Casino, Festival and Entertainment Centres. Combining convenience with style, the hotel offers a range of studios, one and two bedroom air-conditioned suites with fully-equipped kitchenettes, bathroom and laundry facilities. Some suites also offer private balconies with views across Adelaide city or out across the majestic Adelaide Hills. There are a wide range of guest facilities, including 24 hour room service and reception desk, gymnasium and tour desk for your convenience. Sq Restaurant, lounge bar & street side cafe offers creative cuisine featuring the best of local South Australian produce and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for overnight, short-term or long-term stays, Mantra Hindmarsh Square is centrally located, offering stylish accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Hindmarsh Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing