We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK, very apartment, definitely not hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
South Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It's OK, very apartment, definitely not hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Don't get me wrong, I'm not complaining that the Mantra is an apartment, just don't book it thinking you'll get a hotel type room or service. Facilities seem cheap, pretty plain fit out, bar downstairs lacks atmosphere, and is often freezing with the doors open. Hard to recommend compared to the Crowne Plaza across the road, unless you need the two bedrooms.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jmadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear jmadl,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay but we would just like to share with you that we are in fact a 4.5 Star rated hotel in the hotel category conducted by Star Ratings Australia, yes we are an apartment style hotel with much larger rooms than a normal conventional hotel and we do in fact have all the services, facilities and the quality expected in this category awarded by the ratings scheme. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Hindmarsh Square in the near future.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    571
    180
    44
    30
See reviews for
345
265
62
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My best friend & I arrived from Darwin on the Ghan train. The Mantra is modern with a lovely entrance & bar area, with large, comfy lounge chairs & cable TV. Our checkin was quick & easy with pleasant front desk staff. We stayed two nights July 4 & 5 & the hotel is so close to everything that walking to places was easy. At 65 we were very happy ;) Dinner was really good at their Sq Restaurant. Beautiful food & lovely wine from a sound wine list. My friend Rosemary is allergic to fish & this chef went to great lengths & cooked her meal from the 'ground up'. So caring & reassuring. The food was fresh, crisp & beautifully presented. Our two bedroom suite was well set up with everything one could need to prepare meals. My bed was SO wonderful. Our living room view towards the hills was lovely & we watched the wintry weather come & go, above pretty little square ... quite English, with little garden beds. We walked to Rundle Mall, not far away - it's a paved street without cars - & bought chocolates at Haighs. I'd definitely stay there again ;-)

Room Tip: Our view to the hills was lovely, overlooking Hindmarsh .square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Katipops,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Lovely location, close to all attractions in the city. Not a real welcoming when waiting at counter to check in. Booked on bookings.com website and requested a high floor, which information didn't come across. Room was lovely and clean and only 1 single bed in second bedroom which seemed strange and no sofa bed, so had to request a extra bed at a cost of $40 which I think is a bit expensive. Valet car parking was very good. Would stay again. Only booked there since mantra offered a 7 day sale, but will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babmadsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear babmadsa,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yockleton, Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hard to find as Tom Tom took us to wrong end of the square, we tried each section of the square until finally located! Arrival was further difficult as my Credit Card was over limit, easily dealt with as UK office had just opened! Stay was good, Restaurant good, coffee OK, nice spot on square good for breakfast nice mix of guests and passing trade. Good visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Mark C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Perfectly located hotel, close to everything in Adelaide city. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The kitchenette was well equipped. I didn't eat at the restaurant downstairs, but it was highly recommended by the locals that I try it out. Internet was good. I didn't like the bathroom with the shower curtain. If you stay here ask for a room with a shower cubicle. I think it's an accessibility room that I was given, which is why it had shower curtains rather than a cubicle - perhaps they should advise the guest of the difference when allocating these rooms. Overall, it's a good hotel and meets the basic needs.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up to minimise noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Nancy F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Very Good - location
The Good - Room size is generous. Staff generally pleasant. Internet works well. Fresh milk provided in small amounts from the bar.

The Bad
Blood stains on lounge suite. Bed so uncomfortable couldn't sleep. Outside noise from rubbish bin collection and traffic. Bathroom basin like drinking from the water fountain at school. Dim lighting. Stools at computer station so low and uncomfortable almost impossible to work. Window rattles and doesn't shut properly so cold air blows in. Room echoes. We put out 'make up my room" at 9am - returned tired and wanting to rest at 3pm and room hadn't been made up. They then arrived 5 minutes later and did a cursory tidy up which took all of 3 minutes. Bathroom very basic with the shower curtain falling off the curtain rings and mould in the shower - sure I understand we had been given the room with disabled facilities (we did not require this) but surely people with disabilities deserve a less utilitarian bathroom - perhaps they too would appreciate a little more luxury for their money.

Yes, my review is harsh and perhaps if we had been able to get some sleep I might have been less critical of other aspects. Mantra Hindmarsh - replace the bed, clean the shower and have the lounge suite in room 316 recovered.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear PerthJackson,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. In reading your review it disappoints me to learn that you were unsatisfied with your stay.

Having personally inspected room 316 myself I do however have to correct a few things. I was unable to locate the blood stain you mention although there is a very small wine stain which needs to be cleaned and for that we truly apologise. We have no opening windows although we do have a door to the balcony and during my inspection could not feel any cold blowing in although Adelaide has experienced some large storms of late.

Yes in fact you were staying in one of our accessible rooms which is why they have a shower curtain and this room has a very different layout in terms of our usual bathrooms. We do let these rooms to all types of guest especially when we are at full capacity. In regards to the bed we do receive a lot of great comments although this can be a very individual preference although we are in the process of installing mattress toppers to all beds for further comfort.

In closing and as you mentioned your review may seem harsh but this was your experience so again for that I truly apologise and hope to have a future opportunity to welcoming you back to demonstrate that this was a one off and not the norm at Mantra Hindmarsh Square.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikerie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for one night. The bed was comfy and the bathroom nice and clean. The room was clean and a good size. The front desk staff prompt and helpful at check in and check out. Loved the valet car parking. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jae073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Jae073,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.4 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 57 in Adelaide
3,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Hindmarsh Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Property: Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Address: 55 - 67 Hindmarsh Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#12 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Family Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Hindmarsh Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Hindmarsh Square offers premier apartment style accommodation in Adelaide’s bustling CBD. Boasting a city centre location, Mantra Hindmarsh Square is only a short stroll from the Rundle Mall shopping and Rundle Street dining precinct and minutes away from the Adelaide Convention Centre, Sky City Casino, Festival and Entertainment Centres. Combining convenience with style, the hotel offers a range of studios, one and two bedroom air-conditioned suites with fully-equipped kitchenettes, bathroom and laundry facilities. Some suites also offer private balconies with views across Adelaide city or out across the majestic Adelaide Hills. There are a wide range of guest facilities, including 24 hour room service and reception desk, gymnasium and tour desk for your convenience. Sq Restaurant, lounge bar & street side cafe offers creative cuisine featuring the best of local South Australian produce and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for overnight, short-term or long-term stays, Mantra Hindmarsh Square is centrally located, offering stylish accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Hindmarsh Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing