We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended, never again.”
Review of Adelaide Paringa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adelaide Paringa
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The room smelt like smoke, when we told them we got moved. The hot water was hot hot or mild. The "deluxe" spa was stuck in te 80's. the milk was off (new milk in new room). Our neighbours partied till 4am. We could hear everything off te street (fights an all). There was vomit in te hallway (cleaned up once told). As reception was closed over Easter we felt a burden to their delightful sister hotel to complain but when we did bring up concerns the reception was helpful. The loaction was central bit probably too central even for us in our mid-twenties. For $140ish a night we were expecting more than an $80 room else we would have understood. But deluxe spa room? Nope. Sorry guys but this needs a good reno of rooms and workings. Our first trip to Adelaide is now likely to be our last. :(

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Randeharills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience at Adelaide Paringa. it is disappointing to read that we fell short of your expectations, and I apologize for that. It does appear that some other guests impacted upon your experience, but at the same time you have highlighted some areas that I am already looking into and seeking at improving.

We do hope this has not spoilt your impression of our lovely city of adelaide, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

Because our more upmarket accommodation on North Terrace was not available until the following night, we decided to try the Paringa for one night because of its very reasonable tariff and its proximity to Rundle Mall, the Festival Theatre and Thrifty Rent a Car from whom we were to rent a vehicle.
The staff were great and had managed an early check in for us despite the frantic pace and great demand for accommodation in Adelaide in March. It was a hot day and they had turned our air conditioning on in advance. The room was not terribly spacious, but very clean and with comfortable bedding. We were so satisfied that we booked this hotel once again for our final night in Adelaide.
The downside for me was the dreadful carpark which is located in the basement of the sister complex, The Miller Apartments across the road. A chap on duty there agreed with me and figured that it's probably the worst car park in Australia!! - a bit over the top, but be warned, if you have a large vehicle or a 4WD you'll find negotiating the ramps & the twists and turns next to impossible.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brucie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review, and also for choosing to return again to us after staying with us previously! It is pleasing to read that the little extra touches we offer are appreciated.

I also appreciate your comments on our car park. Yes, it can at times become a little tight, and we are looking at ways of either reducing the number of spaces available, or redesigning the car park. One of the great positives of the car park is that is close, safe and strictly only for hotel guests, and this is appreciated by most of our guests.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Arrived here after a few days on Kangaroo Island, from the very quiet to the very busy. The night we stayed was a friday night and because this area is the "Kings Cross" of Adelaide it was busy and noisy. Our room had double glazing and helped block the noise. The room was west facing and hot when we arrived but the air con worked well and cooled the room down. The rooms are what you pay for, not flash but clean and there is a bar fridge. The staff are friendly and helpful. The little cafe below which is open long hours is OK for breakfast and a night cap, if you are so inclined. There is a $10 continental breakfast in the room if you want that, just a few boxes of ceral but OK if you are in a hurry or dont to go out . Whilst its on the night area of Adelaide, its the quieter end of the street and for the shoppers, almost in Rundle Mall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank themudgeerambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, and I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and in Adelaide.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Paringa is very strategically located, right across the street from Rundle Mall. Chinese take-away, Nandos and Subway at the front, Malaysian cuisine at the back of the block and 24/7 pancake house, so finding food is not a problem.

Room was just sufficient for us albeit looking old. Beds were comfy but the air-conditioning went cuckoo most of the time. Bathroom was very small, basic utilities were provided. During our week stay the housekeeping did not change the sheets or vacuum the floor. That was a problem for us as we had young toddlers with us.

If you have many luggage, get the taxi to drive to the entrance (the hotel is located at a dead-end street), most taxis will just drop passengers at the roadside. The hotel does not provide any trolley, and receptionist has their noses stuck high in the air.

Room Tip: Request a room that is not facing the pub. Gets rowdy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay at Adelaide Paringa and also for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
I will certainly be following up on your housekeeping and maintenance issues, apologies for this, but clearly we need to know when we let ourselves, and our guests, down in these areas.
But I was also very disappointed to read about your experience with our reception staff. We are very proud of our reception team, and receive consistently good comments about them. Your experience concerns me, and if you could take the time to contact me at "gm@millerapartments.com.au" or at 08 8113 1984, I would like to understand more about where we have let you down.
Thank you again, and I look forward to hearing from you.
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Being so close to Rundle Mall is a big plus! However, as far as hygiene is concerned we found a piece of hair rolled up in our face washer... Bit gross... Also had a big of arrogance from the reception. Overall if its location your looking for on a tight budget without a simple smile you've found the right place

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your review and apologies for what appears to be a disappointing stay with us. I have followed up with our Housekeeping Team on what appears to be an unacceptable error on our behalf, but just as concerning was your comment about our reception staff. If you had the time to contact me at 08 8113 1984, or to "gm@millerapartments.com.au" I would early appreciate the chance to understand your comments a little better, so I can take whatever action may be needed to ensure this does not happen again. Generally, we receive excellent comments about our staff, so I am keen to learn more.
Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I booked a spa upgrade room for just one night while staying in Adelaide. Chose the hotel because I needed somewhere reasonably priced, right in the middle of the city. Reception staff at check-in were very helpful and the secure parking was a god-send! Our only complaint was that the spa did not work in the room (we enjoyed a nice hot bath instead!). We didn't discover this until after reception had closed, so could not inform them until we checked out the following morning. To be honest, it didn't detract too much from our stay - we were in the city to catch up with friends and to shop our tails off! Would highly recommend the hotel, the rooms were spacious and very clean. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thanks for your review, and kind comments about our staff and hotel rooms. Apologies for the spa! We do have a 24 hour reception across the road at Miller Apartments, our sister hotel, that could have assisted. You simply need to dial this number from your room and you are connected to the manager who is responsible for both hotels. It appears that we could have communicated this better to you. Apologies.
Good to know that you "shopped your tails off" and we hope to see you back again soon.
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Booked into Paringa for 5 nights - nothing fancy here but a great location opposite the Rundle Mall. Rooms are old fashion - large and bathroom small however very comfortable. Had a front room for 2 nights - lots of noise from Hindley St below in the early hours of the morning as had a window that wouldn't close. 2nd room at side - no problems.Did not have a vehicle so unsure re parking but public transport was extremely close and worked well (I used trams and buses and was able to work to the regional bus station as well) Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Rooms were clean and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thorose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your review, and comments on our staff and hotel facilities. I'm glad that you enjoyed our good value for money accommodation in a very central location. Yes, at times on the weekend this can be noisy, but we are continuing to soundproof many of our rooms, and we also have many rooms at the back of the hotel that are extremely quiet.
Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
1.2 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#12 of 56 in Adelaide
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.3 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
#41 of 56 in Adelaide
2,311 reviews
0.5 mi away
BreakFree Adelaide
BreakFree Adelaide
#21 of 56 in Adelaide
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Paringa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Paringa

Address: 15 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range: £42 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adelaide Paringa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 1/2 star nationally accredited motel and are members of the Golden Chain Group of properties. All rooms offer en-suite bathroom, radio, phone, broadband internet access, mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. We are located in the heart of the city, central to the cities premier dining strips, shopping, pubs and entertainment venues. We also offer flexible check-in times and can store luggage for late departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Adelaide Paringa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Paringa Hotel Adelaide
Paringa Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing