We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE.”
Review of Adelaide Paringa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adelaide Paringa
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE.”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I still have nightmares about this hotel.

Incredibly dirty, I found a worm in my pillow,

Definitely unpolite, they were like always angry with you with no reason.

the building is a [--].

The only good stuff is the location.

I will never go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fabio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
This guest did not stay at our hotel, nor did they even arrive at our hotel. They cancelled their reservation prior to arriving and were charged a cancellation penalty as they had booked a heavily discounted rate with no cancellations allowed. This person is attempting to take their anger at the charge out on the hotel. This is fraudulent misrepresentation of our hotel and Trip Advisor have been advised to remove the review due to clear breach of the review guidelines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    141
    116
    42
    27
See reviews for
61
127
65
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed here for one night over the Easter break. Not awful, but certainly one of the lowest quality hotels I have been in. The building smelled unclean, dirty carpet everywhere, rooms were very dated and dark. I don't think there had been any money spent on the rooms or communal areas for a fair few years

I'd definitely spend an extra $50 and stay in a more reputable hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tah4530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. I apologize for what appears to be a disappointing stay. I certainly take on board your comments, thank you, although I admit to being a little surprised regarding your comments about our carpets and communal areas. The carpet is fairly new, and in excellent condition throughout the hotel. And regarding the communal areas, I assume you are referring to our Guest Lounge, it is extremely popular with our many regular guests enjoying its comfort and warmth. But it clearly is not what you expected, and for this I am sorry.

Safe travels, and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, and ensure you leave us with a more positive impression.

Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I have just returned from a holiday in adelaide first we stayed in a hotel called the Ambassador and had the worst experience ever at the hotel please read my review of this hotel. the following week we booked the Paringa for one night, the hotel more than exceeded our expectations the room was very large lots and lots of space the rooms are exceptionally clean and well looked after, we were so impressed with the hotel we booked a further two nights the following week and again a further two nights the following week. there is a lovely young lady called Jin Hee who was very friendly and extremly helpful, Jin advised us of the best rooms in the hotel and because of her information we decided to upgrade to the rooms with a jacuzi this was a momorable stay, we also recieved a letter on the final stay from the management welcoming us back to the hotel and left us a lovely bag of jelly beans, lovely thought from them, the rest of the staff were very cheerfull and friendly, we definatley will stay here again when we return, many thanks to Jin Hee and the rest of the staff, best wishes Carol and Ron

Room Tip: the best room is the executive on first floor i think the number is 101 there is less noise as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your very kind review, and also for choosing to stay with us at Adelaide Paringa. Thank you also for your lovely comments about Jin Hee, she is such a important part of our Paringa team, and it is pleasing to see that she has again made a positive impression upon our valued guests!

I wish you all the best in your travels around this great country, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Please let me know if you do come back, and I will make sure Jin Hee is around to see you!

Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights. Hotel in great location near Rundle St mall. Lots of places to eat and drink on Hindley Street. Most of the tours will pick up from the hotel too which is convenient. Wifi only works in reception which is frustrating. As a lone traveller u need to keep in touch with people. This was my only bug bear though. Everything else was spot on.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review and for your constructive comments on our hotel. Yes, our location is ideal, and apologies for not having wifi in the guest rooms, only in the Guest Lounge. This is something we are looking at, however we do have the cabled broadband internet in the rooms for guests that wish to connect.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The room smelt like smoke, when we told them we got moved. The hot water was hot hot or mild. The "deluxe" spa was stuck in te 80's. the milk was off (new milk in new room). Our neighbours partied till 4am. We could hear everything off te street (fights an all). There was vomit in te hallway (cleaned up once told). As reception was closed over Easter we felt a burden to their delightful sister hotel to complain but when we did bring up concerns the reception was helpful. The loaction was central bit probably too central even for us in our mid-twenties. For $140ish a night we were expecting more than an $80 room else we would have understood. But deluxe spa room? Nope. Sorry guys but this needs a good reno of rooms and workings. Our first trip to Adelaide is now likely to be our last. :(

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randeharills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience at Adelaide Paringa. it is disappointing to read that we fell short of your expectations, and I apologize for that. It does appear that some other guests impacted upon your experience, but at the same time you have highlighted some areas that I am already looking into and seeking at improving.

We do hope this has not spoilt your impression of our lovely city of adelaide, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Because our more upmarket accommodation on North Terrace was not available until the following night, we decided to try the Paringa for one night because of its very reasonable tariff and its proximity to Rundle Mall, the Festival Theatre and Thrifty Rent a Car from whom we were to rent a vehicle.
The staff were great and had managed an early check in for us despite the frantic pace and great demand for accommodation in Adelaide in March. It was a hot day and they had turned our air conditioning on in advance. The room was not terribly spacious, but very clean and with comfortable bedding. We were so satisfied that we booked this hotel once again for our final night in Adelaide.
The downside for me was the dreadful carpark which is located in the basement of the sister complex, The Miller Apartments across the road. A chap on duty there agreed with me and figured that it's probably the worst car park in Australia!! - a bit over the top, but be warned, if you have a large vehicle or a 4WD you'll find negotiating the ramps & the twists and turns next to impossible.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review, and also for choosing to return again to us after staying with us previously! It is pleasing to read that the little extra touches we offer are appreciated.

I also appreciate your comments on our car park. Yes, it can at times become a little tight, and we are looking at ways of either reducing the number of spaces available, or redesigning the car park. One of the great positives of the car park is that is close, safe and strictly only for hotel guests, and this is appreciated by most of our guests.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
299 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Arrived here after a few days on Kangaroo Island, from the very quiet to the very busy. The night we stayed was a friday night and because this area is the "Kings Cross" of Adelaide it was busy and noisy. Our room had double glazing and helped block the noise. The room was west facing and hot when we arrived but the air con worked well and cooled the room down. The rooms are what you pay for, not flash but clean and there is a bar fridge. The staff are friendly and helpful. The little cafe below which is open long hours is OK for breakfast and a night cap, if you are so inclined. There is a $10 continental breakfast in the room if you want that, just a few boxes of ceral but OK if you are in a hurry or dont to go out . Whilst its on the night area of Adelaide, its the quieter end of the street and for the shoppers, almost in Rundle Mall.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themudgeerambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, and I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and in Adelaide.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Adelaide Grosvenor
0.7 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
0.7 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,076 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#30 of 57 in Adelaide
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Paringa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Paringa

Property: Adelaide Paringa
Address: 15 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adelaide Paringa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 1/2 star nationally accredited motel and are members of the Golden Chain Group of properties. All rooms offer en-suite bathroom, radio, phone, broadband internet access, mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. We are located in the heart of the city, central to the cities premier dining strips, shopping, pubs and entertainment venues. We also offer flexible check-in times and can store luggage for late departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adelaide Paringa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Paringa Hotel Adelaide
Paringa Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing