We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located but very basic hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Adelaide Paringa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adelaide Paringa
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well located but very basic hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

Forced to stay here because of the Adelaide Fringe Festival taking up the regular hotels, I had an average stay for the price I paid.

The room I was in was very basic, bed was fairly comfy and there is a pretty large plasma TV. There is in room broadband and a mini bar. The room was a little noisy though, the air conditioning rattled a lot and I could hear the guests next door using their bathroom.

One great aspect is the location, it's literally on the intersection of Hindley Street and Rundle Mall. Plenty of restaurants and pubs nearby, and it's a 3 minute walk to the casino.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stef49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miller_Management, Hotel Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, 13 March 2010
Thank you for your valued feedback for our property. We were glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our great location and enjoyed the new features such as the 32” LCD TVs with Foxtel. We regret the inconvenience and discomfort that may have been caused during your stay by the air-conditioning or neighboring guests. We are now investigating this and we will be taking the next steps required to improve these matters. We would like to sincerely apologise for not being able to meet your expectations, your business is very important to us; we take all guest feedback seriously and endeavor to continually improve our services and guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    136
    110
    40
    27
See reviews for
60
123
61
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2009

Stayed 4 nights, the room is quite spacious, furniture is simple and basic. The room I stayed was facing the alley and away from the main road (Hindley street), it was quiet at night.

Location is good - close to Randle Mall and restaurants, the Pancake Kitchen next to the hotel in the alley opens 24 hours and I had my breakfasts every morning I was there while other eateries are still closed.

The thing I did not like is that there is no free internet access, even with their computer in the common area, which made it very inconvenient.

Staff are helpful with local information and arranging transportation to the airport, they are also responsive with e-mail inquiries.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1st_Time_in_DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paringa_Management, Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, 24 August 2009
We are glad to hear that you found your room spacious and in a quiet position, and that our staff assisted you with information and your transportation needs.

Sorry to hear that you would have preferred free internet access and we will be working on bettering this in the future. Should you have required any flight boarding passes we are more than happy to process these for you free of charge at reception.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2008

It depends on what you want. We booked a twin room 6 months in advance and asked for a quiet room. That we did not get, it was a Friday night and we overlooked the alleyway from the first floor. There was noise all night from people, street cleaning machines etc. We asked for a quieter room and we got shifted to a room on the 3rd floor, it was quieter but just generally think Saturday was a bit quieter anyway. Problem also is the 24 hour pancake restaurant at end of alleyway.

We then got shifted to the 5th floor to a larger room and that was definitely quieter.

The alleyway was not scary at all. It's only short but there is no reception after 11 p.m, you have to use a swipe card to get in.

To put it simply, I would say, if you are a bad sleeper and looking for a place to stay where you will sleep and not get the humdrum of Hindley St, don't stay here. But if you are looking for cheap accommodation in an excellent location with plenty going on around you and you are a good sleeper or don't plan to sleep, then go for the Adelaide Paringa.

Staff on reception were very helpful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Budgetraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paringa_Management, Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, 18 November 2008
Thank you very much for your review.

Sorry to hear that the noise was a problem, some noise is to be expected in any Hotel on a Friday and Saturday night as the city does get very busy.

It looks like our staff did their best to accommodate you in another room, our great staff always try to keep our guests comfortable and happy during their stay.

We hope to have you stay again with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Paringa for one night on a Friday night. The hotel needs a bit of a face lift as it is a bit dingy but ok if you're only there to sleep and not spend lots of time in your hotel room. The bed was reasonably comfortable - not too hard. Close to the city and mall and shops which was great. Plenty of places to eat close by so you don't have to go far. Staff at the desk were very friendly and helpful. Our room was at the back so it was reasonably quiet but I imagine the one's near the front would be a little noisy.

  • Liked — Location - close to the city
  • Disliked — a bit dingy
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LoopylouBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paringa_Management, Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, 18 November 2008
Thank you very much for the review, we have just completed a refurbishment on the property and its looking great! Would love to have you stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2008

We arrived at about 7.30pm and walked through a back alley to get to the hotel, which I would find scary at night alone. The carpet in the lobby was filthy. Check in was quick and easy, though we were asked for a security bond which I wasn't aware of as we had pre payed.

Went up to our room (504) which was very tiny with outdated furniture. The room was very noisy and you could hear patrons at the pub at traffic all night. I didn't sleep at all the first night.

Day 2 I asked that we be moved and thankfully we were moved quickly to room 509 at the back of the hotel. What a difference this made, so much quieter and I actually got a good night sleep.

Location of hotel is good, close to shops and entertainment. (More in the dodgy part of town though)

Reception was very helpful with recomending things to do, how to get places and the best restaurants.

Not sure I would stay again, but $100 a night is very cheap. If you stay ask for a QUIET room.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2007

We stayed in the Paringa with 5 other couples, each couple had a room. Our room wasnt too bad "Queen spa" RM 402, but our friends stayed in different types are some were rather shabby!
One couple were supposed to get brekky inc but waited all morning with none arriving. Location was great, late night drinks everywhere in reach. Brekky at the Pancake kitchen is in the same alley way yum. Our room was right on Hindley Street so was a little noisy all night but I just plugged my ears and slept quite well.. bed was pretty comfy.
Next time we will opt for a different hotel.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank jkgrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Adelaide Grosvenor
0.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
0.7 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Paringa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Paringa

Property: Adelaide Paringa
Address: 15 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adelaide Paringa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 1/2 star nationally accredited motel and are members of the Golden Chain Group of properties. All rooms offer en-suite bathroom, radio, phone, broadband internet access, mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. We are located in the heart of the city, central to the cities premier dining strips, shopping, pubs and entertainment venues. We also offer flexible check-in times and can store luggage for late departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelaide Paringa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Paringa Hotel Adelaide
Paringa Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing