We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stop in Australia.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adelaide Central YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

After a day in the air we arrived in Adelaide in the evening and after a friendly and efficient journey through customs and immigration got a taxi for around A$23 from the airport directly to the hostel. The check in was friendly and efficient and our room simply furnished but very clean. The room had a double bed and a pull out single bed which was a decent size and comfortable.The door security system was modern ( key cards) and reassuring. The hostel is well located for walking around Adelaide which is a fairly compact city, and I would recommend the art gallery and museums. When you have done that a tram ride out to Glenelg is fun. We spent three nights at this hostel and used it as a base to try and get over the worst of the jet lag and overall we were very satisfied with it and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raadjjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Positives first: the staff were friendly and the room was clean. The major problem was that the walls were so thin we could hear everything in the room next door. Everything. We were next to a large group of guys drinking and shouting. We complained to reception after 10pm and someone came up and asked them to keep it down. This achieved very little (they were slightly less loud for around 5 minutes) - and we could hear every word spoken anyway. One person made a phone call and we could even hear the voice of the person on the other end of the line... anyway they went out briefly and returned after midnight very drunk. One spent the entire night vomiting loudly. Another was crying loudly like a little girl (really) - and another was apparently going to the toilet somewhere OTHER THAN THE TOILET (judging by the shouts of "in the toilet, in the toilet" that erupted at one point). Aside from the shouting, crying and vomiting - the water pipes made a huge racket throughout the night (although this did drown out the vomiting to some extent). Needless to say, for $110 per night one expects a bit better... If you are planning on drinking all night this is probably a good choice; if you want to sleep spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Clean facility! The private bathroom was very clean. The bedroom had very poor lighting and heating is erratic. I was very cold the first night despite twice asking for more heat in my private room. The other three nights were better. Centrally located near the bus station and famed Central Market with fruits and vegis and prepared foods.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerrimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thanks for your review.
We have some good news about the lighting. We have been giving our private rooms a modern makeover (which will also include TVs and tea and coffee making facilities). We were trying out some designer lights, but due to your feedback, have gone back to the drawing board and will install brighter lights to make for a better stay.
The airconditioner has very recently been serviced so should no longer have consistency problems but we are sorry that you had to experience a cold room.

Hope to see you again here in Adelaide one day.
From all of us at Adelaide Central YHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I was only here for one night and in a private room at that, so I can't really comment on the full hostelling/dorm experience, but I can say that it was a great place. Clean, comfortable, friendly and helpful staff, great facilities in the kitchen/common area. Found our way there by bus from the airport easily enough, it's in walking distance of most places in the CBD. No reason why I wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JToaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thanks for the great review!
Great to know that we're doing a good job.

Happy travels
from all of us at Adelaide Central YHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

YHA Adelaide is an example for other hostels in how to run an organise a hostel. It's the best hostel i've been during my 7 months around the world trip. The staff is nice, polite, helpfull and professional. I don't no how many times they are cleaning but i stayed a week and everytime it was clean. The room (4 share) was big with a good bed and big (backpack) locker. The facilities are great. A big kitchen with all kind of kitchenware. Enough tables tot eat and a lot of different sofa's to sit. Many bathrooms where the toilet / shower are seperated. And finally the entertainment with highspeed internet, 2 TV rooms (dvd and foxtel), a readingroom, tabletennis table, pooltable, gamesroom and daily newspapers. I enjoyed my stay in the YHA Adelaide.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgj-vis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A very centrally located hostel. A very well-kept, clean hostel, with evidence of constant work to upgrade bathrooms, etc. Windows are being replaced, too, to improve noise and temperature control.
We had a huge double ensuite room with a brand new bathroom, and well away from the noisier areas that are inevitable in hostels.
There's a pool table and a table tennis table - though when we were there feral children were being allowed to whack the balls into the eating and sitting area. It would be better away from these areas, but the open plan arrangement is very welcoming, with different kinds of seating. Wifi through the hostel was cheaper than in most hotels.
Tip for the over 60s from other Aussie states: get yourselves a free bus ticket. You go to the Metro Office on the corner of Currie and King William Street, show your seniors card, and then you can access the whole network free. And for the rest of you, young hostellers, there are a couple of free buses and a free tram to enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thanks so much for your review - we're so glad you had a great, comfortable stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Very secure hostel with good, clean facilities. Centrally located, easy to get to, 24hr reception for late check-in! Free breakfast.. Pancakes, yum!! Staff were very helpful about Adelaide. Free bike hire :)
Only thing was I found it a bit boring.. Atmosphere wasn't great, but admittedly I was only there 2 nights..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
0.4 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
1.7 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,180 reviews
1.5 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#12 of 56 in Adelaide
577 reviews
0.8 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Central YHA

Address: 135 Waymouth St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range: £34 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelaide Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW FREE AT ADELAIDE'S FAVOURITE BACKPACKER HOSTEL • Wifi Hotspot - that's right, we've got free Wifi for all of our guests • Pancakes on Monday and Friday mornings • Cool activities - ping pong competitions, city walks, pub nights and more • Lovely white linen for you bed • Luggage storage Adelaide's coolest backpacker hostel is just a short walk to the city's favourite markets, hip bars, shopping areas with easy access to the nearby hills, beaches and wine districts. Save money and make new friends in a multishare room or relax in the privacy of your own (newly renovated) private twin, double or family room - all ensuite rooms now include TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Cook for yourself in the well set up kitchen or head out and see why Adelaide has an amazing reputation for food and wine. The huge, well designed lounge, dining and social area overlooks a beautiful park making it one of the best locations in the city. Adelaide Central YHA's friendly, helpful staff are very keen to help you have the best time possible in this city known as rAdelaide and can also assist you with your tour and travel bookings beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adelaide Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Central Yha Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing