We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, helpful staff, great kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adelaide Central YHA
Certificate of Excellence
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
612 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff, great kitchen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I just stayed two nights in an ensuite and would definitely stay here again. The location is superb. The common room is enormous. There are two tv rooms and an outdoor balcony that runs along the north side. The kitchen had 10 stoves and at least a half dozen sinks, more than enough for the size of the hostel. The staff is very congenial and helpful. All the goins on about town and the activities are well advertised in the elevator and in the stairwell. Fantastic on that. There is also a quiet policy after 10pm, and it was, even on a Saturday night. Everything was clean and well taken care of.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventurePhiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Hi there

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property - we're so glad you had a great stay and enjoyed all that we offer. We pride ourselves on not only providing modern, clean, comfortable & affordable accommodation but a great experience as well - something you can only get when you have the opportunity to meet others and exchange ideas and stories.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit
From all of us at Adelaide Central YHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    147
    25
    7
    1
See reviews for
23
47
128
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great hostel, recommended for a comfortable stay. Staff are friendly. It was a really relaxed kind of place, the rules were very reasonable. The room was pretty clean, a good size and had all the essentials. Bathrooms were also pretty clean. The hostel is pretty easily accessible by public transport if you are coming from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FikaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hi there
Thanks very much for your kind comments.
We hope you have fun with all your future travels and we look forward to seeing you here again sometime soon.
From all of us at Adelaide Central YHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed here a few nights when a different hostel in Adelaide didn't work out. It was a good experience. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. Slept fine, noise wasn't a problem. Staff were helpful. Definitely Recommend!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vittel31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thankyou very much for taking the time to review Adelaide Central YHA.
We're happy that luck saw you staying with us and we're glad that you were comfortable and enjoyed a good night's sleep - so important.
We hope to see you again in the future.

From all of us at Adelaide Central YHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

It's only the 2nd time I stay in an YHA but I wasn't disappointed at all. The young man who checked me in was really nice and efficient. So was the rest of the staff I had the occasion to talk with during my 3-day stay.
The room (a female 4-bed room) was clean and big enough to accommodate 4 girls. There are big cupboards to put our stuff, really convenient. The only "negative" thing is (as in most of hostels, unfortunately) the lack of power points. But no big deal.
The bathroom was clean and spacious as well. Always a shower available, no mater the hour. I didn't use the kitchen but the lounge area is quite huge and really convenient, with plenty of tables, chairs, couches, computers. There is also a tennis table and a pool table.
Internet is not free (again, as in most of hostels), it's $5/day, $10/3 days and $15/7 days.
I highly recommend this hostel and YHA in general anyway.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hi

Thanks so much for the great review and for recommending to others - word of mouth is the most honest advertising you can get.
We hope to see you again in the future.

From all of us at Adelaide Central YHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

After a day in the air we arrived in Adelaide in the evening and after a friendly and efficient journey through customs and immigration got a taxi for around A$23 from the airport directly to the hostel. The check in was friendly and efficient and our room simply furnished but very clean. The room had a double bed and a pull out single bed which was a decent size and comfortable.The door security system was modern ( key cards) and reassuring. The hostel is well located for walking around Adelaide which is a fairly compact city, and I would recommend the art gallery and museums. When you have done that a tram ride out to Glenelg is fun. We spent three nights at this hostel and used it as a base to try and get over the worst of the jet lag and overall we were very satisfied with it and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raadjjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Positives first: the staff were friendly and the room was clean. The major problem was that the walls were so thin we could hear everything in the room next door. Everything. We were next to a large group of guys drinking and shouting. We complained to reception after 10pm and someone came up and asked them to keep it down. This achieved very little (they were slightly less loud for around 5 minutes) - and we could hear every word spoken anyway. One person made a phone call and we could even hear the voice of the person on the other end of the line... anyway they went out briefly and returned after midnight very drunk. One spent the entire night vomiting loudly. Another was crying loudly like a little girl (really) - and another was apparently going to the toilet somewhere OTHER THAN THE TOILET (judging by the shouts of "in the toilet, in the toilet" that erupted at one point). Aside from the shouting, crying and vomiting - the water pipes made a huge racket throughout the night (although this did drown out the vomiting to some extent). Needless to say, for $110 per night one expects a bit better... If you are planning on drinking all night this is probably a good choice; if you want to sleep spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsend, DE
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Clean facility! The private bathroom was very clean. The bedroom had very poor lighting and heating is erratic. I was very cold the first night despite twice asking for more heat in my private room. The other three nights were better. Centrally located near the bus station and famed Central Market with fruits and vegis and prepared foods.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thanks for your review.
We have some good news about the lighting. We have been giving our private rooms a modern makeover (which will also include TVs and tea and coffee making facilities). We were trying out some designer lights, but due to your feedback, have gone back to the drawing board and will install brighter lights to make for a better stay.
The airconditioner has very recently been serviced so should no longer have consistency problems but we are sorry that you had to experience a cold room.

Hope to see you again here in Adelaide one day.
From all of us at Adelaide Central YHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.2 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.8 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Central YHA

Property: Adelaide Central YHA
Address: 135 Waymouth St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelaide Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW FREE AT ADELAIDE'S FAVOURITE BACKPACKER HOSTEL • Wifi Hotspot - that's right, we've got free Wifi for all of our guests • Pancakes on Monday and Friday mornings • Cool activities - ping pong competitions, city walks, pub nights and more • Lovely white linen for you bed • Luggage storage Adelaide's coolest backpacker hostel is just a short walk to the city's favourite markets, hip bars, shopping areas with easy access to the nearby hills, beaches and wine districts. Save money and make new friends in a multishare room or relax in the privacy of your own (newly renovated) private twin, double or family room - all ensuite rooms now include TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Cook for yourself in the well set up kitchen or head out and see why Adelaide has an amazing reputation for food and wine. The huge, well designed lounge, dining and social area overlooks a beautiful park making it one of the best locations in the city. Adelaide Central YHA's friendly, helpful staff are very keen to help you have the best time possible in this city known as rAdelaide and can also assist you with your tour and travel bookings beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelaide Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Central Yha Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing