We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Alternative”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adelaide Central YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A Good Alternative”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed our last two nights with Adelaide Central YHA in March this year as no room was available at the hotel where we stayed for the earlier nights. We have never stayed in a hostel type of accommodation before so this was our first. We had a family room which actually caters for 5. We had to pay the price of 5 although there were only 3 of us. The place in general was clean - lobby, kitchen and our room. The only thing was the bathroom floor got wet when we had our shower.
The location of the hostel is central, close to the Market, Rundle Mall and the bus stop to Hahndorf. It is also handy to the tram/train stops from where we took the train to go to Glenelg for a day.
The kitchen is handy for us to cook light meals. We would probably stay again for our future visit to Adelaide as we find apartments in Adelaide can get very pricey. However, if you do not need the use of cooking facility, you would be able to find a number of hotels around the same area that offer rooms at cheaper cost.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LemonJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    150
    25
    7
    1
See reviews for
23
48
130
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We're country-based seniors and have stayed in a YHA Adelaide double en-suite room numerous times of a weekend. Last time, they were in the throes of refurbishing these rooms.

Imagine our surprise and delight to find the refurbishment complete and our room with a very comfortable new bed and even a wall-mounted TV! Of course, the room's basic, but it contains all that's needed for this (1 night) and longer stays. (There's also a private balcony for the rooms facing the front i.e.Waymouth Street.)

Our stays have usually been in rooms facing Waymouth Street - I guess this is the location of the double en-suites - and so it was this time. However, another very pleasant surprise, entirely out of the YHA's hands, was a quiet night. There's a nightclub more or less next door and, in the past, the street noise throught the night/early morning has kept us awake - bottles smashing, loud conversation and arguments, shouting, cars hooning past. This time, it was quiet enough to actually sleep. Maybe it's due to the government's fairly new law of no entry or re-entry (to e.g. nightclubs) after 3 a.m.

With an extremely friendly front office assistant, excellent kitchen facilities and car parking availability, this stay was great.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Waymouth Street can be noisy on nightclub nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 272jfw45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed 5 nights here with my friend during our visit to Adelaide. The hostel is clean and tidy and I love their cleanliness of kitchen and bathroom. They have a big kitchen with multiple kitchen utensil for those who like to prepare their own dinner during their stay and they do serve free pancake for your breakfast, what a wonderful add point for this hostel. Location of the hostel strategy, it close to the bus stop which link to the airport and you can reach the bus stop within 5min and it also near to CBD, Chinatown, Coles and those tourism sport which allow you to go around CBD by foot. Will stay there again if i go to Adelaide in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autumnjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have been here four times - in dorms twice, in a double room and in a double ensuite room. The rooms are clean, well provisioned and large from a hostel point of view. Location is very central - takes 5 minutes to walk to King William Street and a similarly short walk to Coles and to Chinatown. Kitchen is clean and large, bathrooms are very well maintained, the gaming area and balcony are great places to meet people, and the staff are friendly (even after dealing with my change requests). They sell a breakfast pack for $5 if you're in a hurry but Coles is literally just round the corner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Hostel is close to the bus stop which links to the airport. If by taxi it will cost about 20 dollars..(cant remember )
Second floor has a common room with arcade games and a kitchen with a fridge to stuff your groceries in. It's a great place to meet people from all over the world. the reception is manned 24 hours a day and many services available from there such as borrowing board games and buying towels.
If you're too early to check in you can still come by and drop your luggage in a secure area.
stayed in a mixed room and it was clean. it has a closet where you can dump your stuff in and lock it with your own padlock. the room doors are locked by key card.

It's close to most sightseeing stuff and if you need to go a bit further, you can rent a free bike at a shop nearby.

overall great place to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I feel like a hit the nail right on the head when I first decided to stay here in 2012, and have kept coming back for every successive Soundwave Festival held just a walk away at Bonython Park, and a handful of tours too.

Well kept facilities, excellent security, spacious lounges to hang out, you can even buy a small variety of food from reception if you've got the munchies at midnight.

I really don't think I have to shack up anywhere else in Adelaide, unless I want to expand on giving reviews of the places I've stayed and recite that it's only second best to Adelaide Central YHA.

Plus, its location is on the edge of the heart of Adelaide city itself, with rich culture and convenient shopping not to far away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at the Adelaide Central YHA for two nights in January and thought it was one of the best we had stayed in in Australia.
We hired a double ensuite room that was clean and spacious and newly redecorated. The staff were very friendly and despite rather noisy neighbours, we enjoyed our stay.
The hostel itself is well located (about 10 mins walk to main shopping area) with a lot of great restaurants and bars all around.
I would definitely recommend this hostel and the wonderful city of Adelaide!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lib0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,074 reviews
0.8 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 57 in Adelaide
3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Central YHA

Property: Adelaide Central YHA
Address: 135 Waymouth St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelaide Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW FREE AT ADELAIDE'S FAVOURITE BACKPACKER HOSTEL • Wifi Hotspot - that's right, we've got free Wifi for all of our guests • Pancakes on Monday and Friday mornings • Cool activities - ping pong competitions, city walks, pub nights and more • Lovely white linen for you bed • Luggage storage Adelaide's coolest backpacker hostel is just a short walk to the city's favourite markets, hip bars, shopping areas with easy access to the nearby hills, beaches and wine districts. Save money and make new friends in a multishare room or relax in the privacy of your own (newly renovated) private twin, double or family room - all ensuite rooms now include TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Cook for yourself in the well set up kitchen or head out and see why Adelaide has an amazing reputation for food and wine. The huge, well designed lounge, dining and social area overlooks a beautiful park making it one of the best locations in the city. Adelaide Central YHA's friendly, helpful staff are very keen to help you have the best time possible in this city known as rAdelaide and can also assist you with your tour and travel bookings beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelaide Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Central Yha Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing