We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable - I'd come back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks Horizons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oaks Horizons
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable - I'd come back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed at the Oaks Horizon for 3 nights in a one bedroom river view apartment.
The location was very convenient to the convention centre - just across the road.

The apartment was clean, the bed was comfortable, the shower was hot and the gym wasn't crowded so it met my needs very well.

The staff were chatty, helpful and sympathetic about lost luggage (unlike Qantas!)

I got a Wotif cheap price, so it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view apartment on a higher floor, you get a great view to the Adelaide Oval and Nort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons Apartments. It is great to read that you found your apartment to be clean with a comfortable bed and that you were able to get a good price on Wotif. We are pleased you were able to utilise the gym facilities and that our staff were helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    204
    56
    30
    16
See reviews for
93
128
23
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kew, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Comfortable stay here for a couple of nights in June. Two comfortable and spacious bedrooms, one bathroom and a kitchen, dining, lounge area all-in-one. This was perfect for our needs. Close to the river, tram line, local trains. A short walk to the CBD - particularly the mall. Friendly and helpful staff too, which can be a bonus these days. Definitely recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank novatotiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons. We are pleased to read that you found your apartment to be comfortable and spacious and close to all you need to explore Adelaide. It is great to read that you were happy with the service you received from our staff and I will pass your feedback onto the Hotel Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We loved our stay in Adelaide in May 2012. This apartment was well appointed and reasonably priced for what we found. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of room in the bedrooms, bathroom and sitting room. Everything was clean and tidy.

On the other side of the coin the kitchen space if you are intending to cook is tiny. The washer/dryer was difficult to work and I wasn't keen to ask for assistance as the staff don't go out of their way to be helpful. I don't have any direct complaints about the staff but no one was warm or friendly and it was hard to find anyone able to make eye contact. I did get assistance when I asked for directions or suggestions for public transport though and no one was actively unhelpful.

We were also lucky enough to have a wonderful view of a fireworks display on the Saturday night which was fun for our kids and completely unexpected. North Terrace is a great spot to stay if you are enjoying the city of Adelaide. We enjoyed the Zoo, Botanical Gardens, the Museum and walking along the river. The tram, which stops 50 metres away from the hotel and costs nothing in the city centre, was a lot of fun for my 4 year old.

I love Adelaide and would stay again at this hotel without another thought. It would be easy to be put off by the staff on the front desk though and I can easily imagine that if something wasn't right in the apartment it would be difficult to get it set to right.

Room Tip: Loved our view of North Terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank measie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons. It is wonderful to read that you were happy with your apartment and found it to be well appointed and clean. We are pleased you found the location of the hotel convenient to everything you require to enjoy Adelaide. I will however pass your feedback onto the Hotel Manager in regards to the staff for their immediate attention. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We had a very comfortable stay here for three nights. Clean and quite room with all basic facilities, although the bath and Internet facilities were a bit dated, with no wifi.
Conveniently located near tram line and the railway station, with most city attractions and the zoo, botanical gardens and river within a short walk from hotel.
Very good value for money with friendly reception staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons. We are pleased to hear that you found your apartment to be clean, well equipped and conveniently located close to everything you need to explore Adelaide. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at the Oaks Horizon for 3 nights in June, just for a short getaway. We found the hotel on Wotif and booked it through there, working at AUD$135 per night.

The hotel is located on North Terrace, a short 5 minute walk from the Adelaide CBD. We took a taxi form the airport, a ride of about 15 minutes and $20. Check in was quick and easy and the staff very friendly.

We had two occasions to deal with the front desk staff after check in and, on both times, our enquiry was handled well and resolved quickly.

Like most hotels today, the standard room key has been replaced with a plastic swipe card. This card operates the front door afterhours, the elevator and to access your room. Be patient in the elevator though – getting the key to register to get to your floor takes some practice.

We had a river view room on level 11 (room 1104). First impressions of the room were very good, from opening the door there was a distinct ‘new’ smell, as it had been recently renovated. The room was well laid out, spacious, with new appliances (although, strangely, it had no toaster) and the all important comfortable bed. The bathroom is large with excellent water pressure in the shower. The is also a combined washer/dryer in a cupboard in the bathroom. One point in regards to the shower – as it is a combined bath/shower, there is only one water control for both. To run the water for the shower, you must pull out and hold a small knob under the main tap. Once the pressure is sufficient, the shower will run. If you hadn’t had experience with setup before (we hadn’t) running the shower could be a real mystery.

One other noticeably absent item was the standard hotel in room guide. The front desk did supply two photocopied pages that set out check in/check out times, rubbish disposal etc. Most, if not all hotels, we have stayed in have a guide that outlines not only the usual hotel information, but also contains information on local restaurants, car hire, churches, shops and city maps. Yes, these brouches were available in the foyer but it would be better if this available in each room.

As stated previously, the hotel is well located to the CBD. Walking to Rundle Mall, the city’s main shopping precinct, takes about 5-7 minutes. There is a tram and railway station just a minute or two walk from the hotel as well. Tram, which runs from the city to Glenelg, is free for a number of sections, mainly the beginning and end of the journey. If you visit the tourist information office in Rundle Mall you can get further information on tram/train travel. Adelaide Casino is also located a couple of hundred metres from the hotel.

We will definitely be staying here on our next visit to Adelaide.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room on a high floor for the best views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney2for2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons. We are pleased you found the location of our hotel to be convenient and that you were able to enjoy the river views from your apartment. Your suggestions have been passed onto the Hotel Manager for consideration. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting Adelaide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare, South Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I chose this accomodation as we needed an apartment for 5 adults, which seems to be rare in the city. The apartment looked nice, the beds were comfy, staff rude, unfriendly, unhelpful. Because of their attitude I would use this accommodation as a last resort and wouldn't recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: You need to book a car park when booking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Oaks Horizons in Adelaide. It is disappointing to hear that our staff were unhelpful and rude during your stay and I shall pass your feedback onto our General Manager of Learning and Development and the Hotel Manager for their immediate attention. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I very much enjoyed my brief stay at Oaks Horizon.

The hotel is well located on North Terrace, opposite the Exhibition Centre, with a tram stop right out the front. Within easy walking distance of the madness of Hindley Street, it's far enough away to be relatively quiet!

The apartment was what I've come to expect from Oaks. Well appointed, with good appliances, a comfy bed, and a great layout.

The staff were right up to standard. Friendly and efficient, and very keen to help.

I will have no hesitation in booking at the Oaks Horizon again.

Room Tip: My room on the 5th floor was reasonably quiet - but I can imagine that ones on lower floors might ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPeteShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Horizons.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be centrally located. It is great to hear that you found your apartment to be well appointed and lives up to the standard you have received in the past.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Oaks Embassy
Oaks Embassy
#33 of 58 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.4 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Horizons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Horizons

Property: Oaks Horizons
Address: 104 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#21 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Horizons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or pleasure, a trip to Adelaide is enhanced when you stay at Oaks Horizons. The hotel features spacious, modern apartments, and is conveniently located on North Terrace, opposite the Convention Centre and Skycity Casino. 1 and 2 bedroom apartments offer Adelaide accommodation which includes full kitchen and laundry facilities, and guests have access to a host of leisure amenities, as well as broadband Internet access and room service. Other facilities include an indoor heated lap pool, sauna, plunge pool, gym, steam room and a licensed cafe. Business and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Oaks Horizons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Horizons Apartment Adelaide
Hotel Oaks Horizons Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing