We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for business and pleasure”
Review of Oaks Horizons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Horizons
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good for business and pleasure”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great location for the Arts Centre and restaurants, handy to the (free) cbd tram and Rundle Mall shopping, the hotel is well appointed with friendly staff. Each "apartment" has a kitchen, so you can cook or reheat dinner in your room if travelling alone.
I've also stayed on for the weekend a couple of times, and it's ideally located for the arts festivals

Room Tip: The lower rooms on North Terrace can be noisy from the Convention Centre air conditioning opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanFromPort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons in Adelaide. We are pleased to hear that you have stayed with us on more than one occasion. It is wonderful to read that you found the location of our hotel convenient to all your needs and you found our staff to be friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    209
    60
    30
    18
See reviews for
98
133
23
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I recently attended a conference at the Adelaide convention centre. The Oaks Horizons is ideally located across the road from the convention centre. I booked a river view room and was disappointed that I didn't have a view of the river. When I spoke with the person on the reception desk I was told this was because a building had been built in front of the hotel preventing river views unless you were on the higher floors. They did offer to move me, which I declined. I would have thought that they shouldn't charge extra for a river view if there wasn't one!
However the rooms were clean and very spacious. the hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants or takeaway places.

Room Tip: If you pay for a river view ask for a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons. It is wonderful to read that the location of our hotel was convenient to your needs while in Adelaide for business. We apologise for the apparent mix up of the apartment booked and supplied. We will discuss the river view room allocations with our reservations team and the property to determine if we need to change any aspects of our room classifications. We do hope that you will choose to stay with Oaks Hotels and Resorts again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

We often stay here on business as can get a two bedroom apartment at a good rate, and is quite satisfactory for business travel, or mid tier leisure travel. The hotel is quite well located and has a cafe attached which whilst quite noisy, serves quite good food or breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willywonka09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons in Adelaide. It is wonderful to read that on several occasions you have been happy with your apartments and choose to come back. We are pleased you find the location convenient and are able to get a good rate each time. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Three nights on business. Didn't get to try out the spa bath or combo washer/dryer. Staff very helpful and courteous, 8th floor room with view of adjacent car park, recently renovated, very clean. Suited me as literally over the road from Adelaide Convention Center.
Though fast internet was available, it was expensive.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor to get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_the_entomologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons Apartments. It is great to read that our hotel suited your needs and was close to the Convention Centre. We are pleased you found your apartment to be clean and our staff friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I have always stayed in hotels while travelling for work, however, in recent times I have moved away from hotels and started to stay in apartments due to the fact that there is more space and laundry facilities.

This apartment is in a good location. It is central to many things including the casino. Close to the tram lines and the mall as well.

The apartment has ample space for 2 guests in a one bed room apartment. There is a small electric stove, a dishwasher and large fridge/freezer with no cumbersome mini bar items. There is a large TV and DVD player in the main living room.

In the bed room, there is also another TV and there is a safe. My safe does not work and it cant be fixed and after settling down, they have suggested that if I want to keep any valuables, I wil need to bring them down to own safe and keep it there. or they will check and see if there is another room for me to move into with a workable safe. but if I am already settled in this apartment then perhaps I wont move again.

So why did I mention that there is inconsistency in customer service?

I start work really early so have to be up and exercising by 4.30am. Most pools will open at 6 am only. So whenever BEFORE i make a booking, I will ring and personally ask this and JOSHUA promised me that if I were to speak to the night duty manager, it will be okay and THAT THERE WILL DEFINITELY be no problems as it is only for one person. I am not in there for a party, just to do 30 laps and out I go in 30 mins.

Then I make the booking, I rang again and spoke to JOSHUA and again he said it was ok and although he didnt sound irritated, you know yourself when you have asked the same question once to many times, that if they say it is okay, then it must be okay.

This booking was made only 4 days before I checked in.

So check in day comes... I spoke to a Rachel who was really good. I landed early and housekeeping got my room ready in about 1 hour so managed to check in at 12.45pm instead of 2pm, so thank you Rachel and the housekeeping staff.

NOW AGAIN, i mentioned this to rachel and she said she will check. I told her about my conversation with Joshua and she said she will mention it to Darren, the evening duty manager.

When i came back from dinner I told Darren about the arrangement and said, please let me know if there is any problems. he said it should be ok... I said can you please check with Joshua but even at this point in time 8pm, no one has said NO. full stop. they are still saying maybe, all sould be okay...

so come this morning. now it is 5am, i rang the night duty manager , GARETH, to confirm that he hasopened the pool and he said, oh no, he cant. there is someone staying near the pool area. Whilst I understand that it could be noisy if there was a few of us, I am just in and out of the pool , alone and doing 30 laps.. and out again... he then said... the pool hasnt been cleaned. I said I understand cos the pool gets cleaned at 6.30am but I am ok with it... I just needed to exercise before work time.

I askED if he spoke to anyone, he said that DARREN has said that there was someone in the room next to the pool so they cant open the pool area. SO WHY DIDNT DARREN SAY THAT IN THE FIRST PLACE LAST NIGHT?

While I understand the reason behind it, my disappoinment is in the staff. I am a training manager and would never train my staff to be inconsistent in their answers especially if they are front line hospitality. if they have said so in the first place, IF JOSHUA never just said, yeah yeah, there will be no problem at all cos there has never been a problem, I would have looked elsewhere. As that was in teh case in OAKS EMBASSY, 2 doors down, but as front line hospitality staff, dont just be a " YES M'MAM, " kind of staff. teach them to be firm, yes is a yes and no is a no and goes uniform throughout every staff....... then you wont get irate customers who have received conflicting information.

I have asked to speak to a higher management team but GARETH just said blunty that he was the only one. I understand that as it is only 5am in the morning... but it was his tone although he did bear teh brunt of my frustration. I just told him that as a manager, he would probably need to coach his staff a lot better.

If Adelaide had Meriton apartments, I would hve stayed there. they customer service levels is second to none... as well as Quest, although Quest has no gym and pool, they standard of service is wonderfully good too.....

So the redeeming feature of this place is the location, the cleanliness and then you just go out your daily work.

I understand your rules and the way you run things. but be up front with the customer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Madabtcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons. We have spoken with the team at Horizons and it would appear the confusion was possibly around the equipment you wished to utilise. The team had understood initially you requested to use the pool facility but however then requested to use the gym equipment at this time when you telephoned down. We regret there appears to have been a clear misunderstanding at the time of your stay. We do however have many residents staying within the complex and we are bound by strict guidelines on the use of facilities to ensure there is no disruption to guests and residents alike. We appreciate your comments regarding consistency of information and understand your frustration in that regard. It is a clear indication that we need our staff to follow our policy and guidelines consistently to avoid miscommunication or confusion for our guests. Please be assured we will be addressing this with the team at Oaks Horizons in an effort to ensure there is a clear understanding and delivery of policy for future guests and we apologise for the confusion at the time of your stay. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittagong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed 6 nights with our two boys. There was lots of room, the decor was very pleasant, the location near the Theatre, Galleries, Museum and Rundall Mall was very convenient and the Glenelg Tram stopped a short way up the street. Great view. We enjoyed being right near the restaurants and bars of a number of top hotels. Staff were really helpful and efficient and the pool and gym facilities are well looked after. We slept well - good linen, nice pillows, quiet heating and it seemed very well sound proofed. I was particularly impressed to see Oaks Hotels were sponsors of the South Australian Theatre Company. We attended a fantastic theatre production and noticed them listed among the sponsors on the program. We booked through Rates to Go and the price was excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peripidous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons. It is great to read that you found your apartment to be spacious and good value. We are pleased to hear that you found the location of our hotel to be convenient to your needs and were able to enjoy our facilities and the Adelaide Theatre Company. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Surprised at how spacious the apartment was when we walked in. It was very quiet, clean, the beds comfortable, pleasant kitchen. There is a work desk with desk lamp, which is always appreciated. Didn't do much cooking so I can't comment on the compact grill/oven appliance.
Very close to the casino, the glenelg tram, and a short walk from buses in Currie st or to the Rundle Mall. The view was of a car park, so we didn't sit on the balcony, but you can pay extra for a view of the park. Loved the lap pool, though it was a little chilly. Meant we had it to ourselves for doing laps! I wouldn't like to stay in the room adjacent to the pool and gym, as the door slamming could get annoying. Otherwise, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: not the room adjacent to the pool/gym on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maidmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment to be spacious, quiet and clean. We are pleased to read that you were able to take advantage of the lap pool and found the location of our hotel to be convenient to all your needs. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Oaks Embassy
Oaks Embassy
#33 of 57 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Horizons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Horizons

Property: Oaks Horizons
Address: 104 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#21 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#23 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Horizons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or pleasure, a trip to Adelaide is enhanced when you stay at Oaks Horizons. The hotel features spacious, modern apartments, and is conveniently located on North Terrace, opposite the Convention Centre and Skycity Casino. 1 and 2 bedroom apartments offer Adelaide accommodation which includes full kitchen and laundry facilities, and guests have access to a host of leisure amenities, as well as broadband Internet access and room service. Other facilities include an indoor heated lap pool, sauna, plunge pool, gym, steam room and a licensed cafe. Business and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Horizons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Horizons Apartment Adelaide
Hotel Oaks Horizons Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing