We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again”
Review of Oaks Horizons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Horizons
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 29 October 2008

We stayed here two nights during our trip to Australia earlier this month.

We arrived after 10 pm at the hotel (as we had indicated in our on-line booking) and our reception was less then warm. The room/ apartment was quite large, but the third bed we had booked turned out to be a fold away bed, still folded against the wall instead of turned down. Then we discovered that the sheets of the remaining two beds had not been changed and were covered in hairs of the previous occupants of this room! Ugghh! Upon ringing housekeeping with this complaint we were brought fresh sheets, but were left to change them our selves. Although the rest of the rooms looked clean, the next morning we also found that the shower was filled with fungus. I wonder whether housekeeping had even bothered to look at this room!

The next morning we complained about the linen and the reception clerk didn't react at all. When we asked if we could be given a refund on account of our complaint we were offered a free breakfast, but no discount nor an apology for the inconvenience.

If after this review you are still willing to stay at this hotel, please be aware of the fact that your bedroom window is only two meters away from the office building next to it, so do not forget to close the curtains during weekdays, as you will have quite an audience if you leave them open.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 541 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2008

The facilities at this hotel are excellent with washer / dryer and dishwasher. We had a good view over Adelaide from a balcony. The apartment had a separate lounge/kitchen and bedroom and was sportlessly clean.
Whilst there we had a problem with a tour and the hotel staff sorted everything so we did not miss our tour.The hotel has a cafe, but nearby there are excellent eating places and a wonderful happy hour at the Sebel.
Close to all the (historical) sites and on the free bus route, this is a good place to stay in Adelaide.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hewhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Very good location, good priced very nicely decorated in modern style big windws with balcony and view. great location fro confernce centre and handy to restaurnats.

i has some problems dishwasher that kept turning itself on at 2am in the morning!! But worse was the street noise i did stay from wednesday to a monday and it was noisy every night with people walking the streets to at least 3or 4am it drove me crazy i just coudl not sleep the car noise was bad but drunken screaming all night made it very uncomfortable!!.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank janefromcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights in 2006 whilst attending a conference in Adelaide. Booked well in advance and secured a 1 bedroom apartment for the bargain rate of $99.00 per night (opening special).

At the time I was pretty impressed with the place. Decor was modern, crisp & clean. Pool & fitness area were especially nice with the added bonus of a steam room.

I'm sure the normal rate would be far higher than $99.00 so I guess I'd probably pay up to $130-40 without complaining (then again Adelaide is pretty cheap with accomodation - it has to be!).

Staff were friendly enough and provided all the info I needed. Location is OK, but a little removed from the Rundle mall hub and a decent hike on foot. There is a free bus system for those who like waiting at bus stops. It is, however, close to the Arts centre, central train station and casino.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank foxy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2008

I stayed here, wanting a secure, clean well located hotel, all of which I received!

I did book a 1 bedroom but was given a 2 bedroom (nothing wrong with that) with a view over the carpark & into the surrounding offices. So, if you are booking I would definately request a room with a view, if that matters to you. I did ask to be shifted but was told it wasn't possible. One other thing, there were no towels and the room hadn't been properly made up, no pillows on beds etc. However, I contacted the reception and they were very quick in bringing up the extra bedlinen.

The location is brilliant & I would recommend this to anyone as being clean, neat & secure. The carpark was very small but I never had a problem finding a park.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ADL075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2008

Stayed at the hotel in early to mid 2007. Had a good stay, got the request we wanted. The secure carpark is good. The room was clean and modern, with good facilities overall. One problem being when we rang for room service, they said they were too busy and to call back in 15 minutes, which we did ring back 15 minutes later, but when we did they said they were about to close so sorry we can't bring your breakfast up, when i complained and said i rang up 15 minutes ago, she went and asked someone who finally said it was ok to order and it all worked out fine, but its not very professional. The other bad thing was that we checked out and paid our account at the time as we always do before we leave a hotel but about 7 or so months later i got an eftpos transaction in the mail saying that the hotel removed money from my account, which they had no authority to do and no warning given to me. The hotel say they have no record i ever paid. So why did i get my bond back? And why did i never get an overdue account warning? I didn't even know a hotel would let you leave without settling your account in one way or another i.e cash or credit card/debit card. My advice, if you stay here, always keep your receipts, because i threw mine out at tax time(3 months after the stay), and now they're saying i never paid. SO always keep your receipts for at least a year or two as clerical errors happen all the time like this (is what my bank said). And be careful with your bank details.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lolala_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2008

Was a pretty good 2 bedroom apartment. Nice and clean with good facilities. In a pretty good spot, especially if you're keen on the casino.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Oaks Embassy
Oaks Embassy
#34 of 56 in Adelaide
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.1 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#22 of 56 in Adelaide
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Horizons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Horizons

Address: 104 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#21 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £81 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Horizons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or pleasure, a trip to Adelaide is enhanced when you stay at Oaks Horizons. The hotel features spacious, modern apartments, and is conveniently located on North Terrace, opposite the Convention Centre and Skycity Casino. 1 and 2 bedroom apartments offer Adelaide accommodation which includes full kitchen and laundry facilities, and guests have access to a host of leisure amenities, as well as broadband Internet access and room service. Other facilities include an indoor heated lap pool, sauna, plunge pool, gym, steam room and a licensed cafe. Business and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oaks Horizons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Horizons Apartment Adelaide
Hotel Oaks Horizons Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing