We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plumber required”
Review of Oaks Horizons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Horizons
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Herts, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Plumber required”
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Had high expectations having travelled from the Sydney Oaks Goldsbrough which we were very pleased with.

The first thing we wanted to do after checking in was to take a shower. The water was so scalding hot it was impossible. It turned out that all the cold taps were giving out hot water. We rang reception and were told that there was a problem with "the pump" in the building but if we ran all the taps for 20 minutes the cold taps would run cold! After 10 minutes the cold supply had got down to warm but I remembered how South Australia had water shortage problems and realised how much water was being wasted!

For the duration of our stay (8 days) this water problem went unfixed and same problem was affecting other rooms. The only time we actually had a cold water supply was for a short period each evening and most days we had to clean our teeth in warm water. When we checked out and commented on this we just got what seemed like a well rehearsed "we are aware of the problem" speech, but no actual apology.

The rooms had a feel of staying in a converted office block with lots of glass and neutral decor combined with a low ceiling. The office theme perhaps came from the fact that most of the windows overlooked an adjacent office building which was 20 feet away. To avoid meeting the glances of the workers there we kept the curtains closed most of the day. One side did give a view out across towards the Convention Centre and the river. Everyhting semmed a little cramped, although perhaps we had been spoiled by the spaciousness of the Sydney apartment that we had come from.

There was a lack of any drawers in the bedrooms and the only shelf was above head height which made storing clothes very difficult. This two bedroom apartment only had one bathroom with the toilet within.

Apart from the plumbing the other equipment worked, although we could have done without the minibar stock cluttering up the fridge. The daily room service went without any problems.

The gym didn't look well cared for with broken equipment. The sauna was out of action and the pool was full of freezing water (ironically). One visit was enough.

The location is the one good thing with the railway staion close by and bus and tram stops just outside. (The circular bus route is free as is the tram within the city centre).
The main shopping area is just a few minutes away on foot with plenty of eating places nearby.

Overall a little disappointing and if I went back to Adelaide I think I would look for an alternative.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterkHerts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    228
    64
    34
    18
See reviews for
111
142
24
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

A very dissapointing stay. Beware this hotel and fraudulent charges. First they tried to charge me for a bottle of wine I never purchased and withdrew it. But the worst was when I was charged an excessive $160 cleaning bill for a 1cm spot of foundation makeup, which they tried to claim was blood. I never received my money back, and they were extremely rude to me throughout the whole ordeal. The pool was dirty, as was the fold out couch in the lounge room.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckyhelga7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights (Saturday - Monday). The hotel is in a great location in the centre of Adelaide. About 20 minutes from the airport in a taxi. It cost me about $22 from the airport and $20 to the airport. Right across the road from the Convention centre and just up the street from the Casino and Rundell Mall.

Being a Saturday night there was some noise from within the hotel from the clubbers returning home in the early hours of the morning. But that is to be expected. There must have been a party on a higher floor that was causing other guests problems and the police were called to sort things out. I see this as a very positive thing for the hotel to do in that they are wanting to look after their guests.

The rooms are spacious and clean. A washer / dryer and a kitchen with microwave, oven and dishwasher. Most utensils were available. Certainly easy to walk to the mall to buy groceries at Woolworths and be able to cook at the apartment.

The free city circle bus stopped right outside the hotel and the tram to Glenelg was just up the street.

For $8 you can buy a day ticket to travel on the train, tram or bus (I think this will be going up a bit early July 09), but still worth the cost. An hour bus ride away is Handorf. Quite cheap and a great drive.

I fully recommend this hotel and believe that it has better value than most other hotels with its great location and facilities.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

This is a new apartment hotel in the centre of Adelaide close to the Convention Centre, railway station and casino.

The rooms were clean and spacious .

Our only problem was the shower tap needed fixing and we asked twice at reception for this to be done but after 3 days nothing was done to fix the problem nor any communication with us.

This is a great place to stay but if only the hotel would take more attention to these little (but important matters to the guest ) the visit would have been perfect.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OskarandSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

reading other reviews i think it must depend on if you have an apartment or a room. we had an apartment which was clean, roomy , well equipped,quiet,and you could really make yourself at home... the air con coped well with the 40 degrees heat..and there was a nice view towards the adelaide oval and river...only slight complaint, the double bed was fairly small which was strange considering the size of the apartment....

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank droob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland,Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We stayed her for a week in January 2009 - the booking was made some 4 months in advance. Upon arrival we were told that the parking we booked was not available and when I spoke to the girl on Reception about how disappointed I was as we had booked parking - I was told that it was not her problem ... fantastic service ... not !! When my booked parking space finally became avaialble some three days later upon return one night no space ... we were then left to drive around at 1am trying to find parking at outside parking locations. Whilst he hotel is well located the rooms are dirty - filthy carpet and mouldy bathroom. We are retuning to Adelaide next year and it would be extremely unlikely that we would return to this establishment. From my point of view I can overlook accommodation not up to scratch, but not poor customer service !!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdelaideTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gympie
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

While the location & price were one of the deciding factors for me, I should have know better! Having stayed at this hotel for 4 years in a row - I am yet to be impressed.

Every room I have had has been generally messy & fairly unclean. Dirty marks in all rooms can be seen clearly on the walls. Carpets were always dirty.

The last time I stayed here they had enforced a 'no party' rule - which was a God send, having suffered through what must have been a footy break up party two floors below in 2007.

We were asked to sign an agreement stating we would not smoke in the rooms, party, throw anything off the balcony, etc which seemed fair to us all at the time as we were looking forward to a nice quite weekend.
However, later in the stay we all witnessed check-ins while waiting in the reception - mostly people older than us - none of which were asked to sign the agreement. This upset us greatly.

On arrival we were asked to wait because our room wasn't quite ready - we were asked to sit in the lobby with all of our luggage after 6 hours of travelling and ringing a day earlier to confirm that we would be arriving at 2pm.

The fitness center was great - however, for the second year in a row the sauna was out of order.

Although the reception staff were generally cold (we only received one smile, from a weekday staff member when we departed) they did honour our request for a 2 bedroom, as far up the building as possible, with a great view.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beckaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Oaks Embassy
Oaks Embassy
#34 of 57 in Adelaide
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#14 of 57 in Adelaide
2,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#22 of 57 in Adelaide
921 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Horizons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Horizons

Property: Oaks Horizons
Address: 104 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#21 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#23 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Horizons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or pleasure, a trip to Adelaide is enhanced when you stay at Oaks Horizons. The hotel features spacious, modern apartments, and is conveniently located on North Terrace, opposite the Convention Centre and Skycity Casino. 1 and 2 bedroom apartments offer Adelaide accommodation which includes full kitchen and laundry facilities, and guests have access to a host of leisure amenities, as well as broadband Internet access and room service. Other facilities include an indoor heated lap pool, sauna, plunge pool, gym, steam room and a licensed cafe. Business and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Horizons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Horizons Apartment Adelaide
Hotel Oaks Horizons Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing