We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We were in Adelaide in April 2011 and stayed at this wonderful hotel. The staff service was excellent and the room was comfortable. It was quiet at night ensuring a good nights sleep. The King room and the bathroom were both a good size and well fitted, out although the TV is old. Should be replaced with a modern flat screen.
The room was clean, secure and well serviced daily. The hotel is in a great spot, close to Rundle Mall and many restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinmeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Grand Chancellor on Currie street for 3 nights with my mother. We had a double queen room, which was a good size, not too small. Bathroom was spacious. The staff though were fantastic. All were friendly and extremely helpful.
The restaurant attached had great food and lovely breakfasts with a good choice of food - I know some reviews have complained about the fact that the restaurant is closed for lunch and dinner on Saturday and Sunday but we didn't see the issue considering the amount of good restaurants close by (on Leigh Street).
In terms of noise we were at the back of the hotel on the 5th floor so didn't have any issues with street noise, nor noise from the other rooms.
With regards to the decor, it was all very comfortable and relaxing, the rooms were generic hotel room decor, two queen beds (very comfortable), swivel TV (analogue only, no digital), enveloping armchair with footstool. Mini bar (with water, beer, chocolates, soft drink, chips, nuts) and a kettle with cups and tea/coffee/biscuits free.
All in all, we had a great stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieZela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

My partner and I stayed here for two nights on a short holiday to Adelaide. We booked and received a King room, which though small-ish, was adequate for our needs. The bed was mighty comfortable, and a great nights sleep was had each night. No real noise, though this was a weekend, and Adelaide is quiet on the weekend (well, it's always pretty quiet!).

Bathroom was good, the shower was excellent, great hot water pressure (something often lacking in hotels), and with complimentary soaps etc (though these were not replaced during the room servicing).

The negatives: the cost of internet was astronomical ($34 for a 24 hour period); and breakfast in the cafe was shambolic at best. We were the first to arrive for that morning, another couple and a single guy arrived after we did, yet we were the last to receive our food; there were numerous issues in placing the order, as they had to come and take it twice from everyone. When it arrived, it was ok, not spectacular though, and it was at least our correct order. Still, on payment they tried to charge me for 2 cups of coffee, when one cup should have been included as part of the breakfast special of the day.

I was told that two of the staff were trainees, and I don't begrduge the fact that you have to start somewhere in the learning process, but they didn't seem ready to be trying to handle customers without assistance just yet.

Otherwise, I have no complaints about the hotel itself.

Adelaide CBD on the other hand...difficult to find somewhere to eat on Saturday and Sunday night, ended up going to Glenelg and North Adelaide. We went to one place that I had vouchers for dinner to be told the Kitchen does not open on Saturday night. Mind boggling.

Getting to/from the airport was simple as there are bus stops virtually at the door, and the airport bus does not attract a premium fare.

All up, good hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob3170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

stayed here for six days over WOMAD recently. friendly staff, clean room, etc.... would have given it a five star rating.... except that there was quite a push to be a "green" hotel (eco / energy saving, etc...) but the hallways were FREEZING - the whole time we were there. we mentioned it to the staff at reception, but they were pretty unhelpful about offering to turn up the thermostat, and basically said "it's always like that". they clearly didn't seem to get the link between keeping the hotel floor hallways that cold, and the use of increased energy (hence, bigger carbon footprint!). Disappointed with that - but otherwise, the hotel is well located and adequate!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamaletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I stayed one night on a business trip. The hotel is located very close to the city centre and was a short walk to Rundle Mall. The staff were friendly and helpful and my room was a good size. The room smelt a bit smokey when I first arrived but cleared with the window open. The hotel is in a little lane off Currie St which was a little noisy in the morning when the street bins were being emptied. The parking the hotel offers is off site probably about 5 minutes away which was a little inconvenient. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mosic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

My wife and I spent three nights here in January 2011. The location of this hotel is fantastic. You are a one minute walk to the major shopping mall and all forms of public transport. The rooms were clean and a good size. All staff were friendly and polite at all times. The rooms however are a little outdated in their decor. They need a freshen up with lighter colors and less timber. Nonetheless, we would happily stay here again. The location, and general feel of the hotel are outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redanader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

After our recent stay, I am pleased to report Hotel Grand Chancellor was an excellent place to visit. The view wasn't the best, the TV was outdated, parking was a bit of a pain but everything else was lovely.

We stayed in a spa room (very romantic) and the king sized bed was to die for.

Yes, the restaurant has odd opening times, but the food is WONDERFUL. (try the eggs benedict) and meals are well priced.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaZ051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
0.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 55 in Adelaide
1,393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 55 in Adelaide
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 55 in Adelaide
2,466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 55 in Adelaide
1,197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie

Address: 18 Currie St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range: £60 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a nearly 100 year old Neo-Georgian style building, The Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie stands proud as a beacon of Adelaide’s culture and history. Located in the heart of the CBD, our guests have the pleasure of immersing themselves into the food and wine renaissance our vibrant city is experiencing. With a doorstep on the emerging cosmopolitan laneway that is Gilbert Place, a short walk from our 4 star hotel will take you to attractions like Adelaide Oval, Rundle Mall, The Festival Theatre, The Convention Centre, Adelaide Central Markets and Adelaide Casino. Our knowledgeable and dedicated front office team are available 24 hours a day to help you tailor your stay to suit your needs perfectly. The Hotel Grand Chancellor on Currie is committed to providing top quality guest services in a peaceful, homely setting, with all the conveniences of being located in a world class destination. With Leigh Street, Peel Street and Gilbert Place on our doorstep, the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie sits at the focal point of Adelaide’s great food and wine renaissance. With an emerging sense of community and a focus on local produce, the city of Adelaide has become a smorgasbord of art and culture for even the most discerning guest. With South Australia recently being named in the top tourist spots of the world, the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie is in the prefect location to take advantage of everything this great state has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing