We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Right in the city”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Good location right in the heart of the city, just a stroll to Rundel Mall. Rooms large, clean, decor needs to be updated. Good for business if you want a room just to sleep in. Limited room service times. Customer service always nop notch!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    265
    122
    38
    20
See reviews for
66
235
70
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
762 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed 7 nights in this hotel and loved the central location, being able to walk everywhere in the city. The room was a good size and having a king bed was great. The staff making up our room were lovely, but our room was not vacuumed the whole week we were there. We thought that having free wifi was great until we checked out and found we had a $30 bill for selecting a faster speed which neither of us remembering seeing or selecting when using the internet. Beware being caught like we were. Reception staff were a mixed bag with some being OK and other being almost outright rude.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pechfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel on 3 separate nights using Adelaide as our base.
We stayed in 3 different rooms all were nice and clean one in particular was great with a little extra room.
Fantastic location staff friendly and polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beasknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnybrook, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were blown away by the room we got. a separate lounge area a bathroom and a very large bedroom. All windows double glazed for noise reduction. Felt very special at this hotel.The staff in the meals area were very efficient and polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Seemed to be a lack of staff about. Room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was fine, nothing special. Car parking was convenient as a lift in the hotel took you straight there. We came back after a meal out and the bar was closed at 10.30. The room got quite a bit of noise from the area and next morning the plumbing woke us up from 7am.

Got a pizza on room service and found on top of the $19.50 we were charged another $4 for the tray service? How else could you serve it? A bit cheeky really.

All in all a bit mediocre.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Indiababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed at the Grand Chancellor for 3 nights during a business trip this week (September). The room was very small, in poor condition, well past needing a refurbishment and had a noisy airconditioner. I come to Adelaide for business every 6-8 weeks and have been doing so for the last 5 years and will not be staying here again. I have stayed in a number of different Hotels and apartments in Adelaide and this was the worst. Very poor value.The only saving grace were the staff who were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I recently had three nights at the Grand Chancellor in a King Spa room and the room was excellent! Plenty of space, furniture and a wonderful spa in the corner of the room....lay back and watch tv...
Will definitely recommend the GC on Currie to anyone going to Adelaide, it is very well located and staff were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PurpleJulie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
0.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.7 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#21 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie

Property: Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Address: 18 Currie St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a nearly 100 year old Neo-Georgian style building, The Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie stands proud as a beacon of Adelaide’s culture and history. Located in the heart of the CBD, our guests have the pleasure of immersing themselves into the food and wine renaissance our vibrant city is experiencing. With a doorstep on the emerging cosmopolitan laneway that is Gilbert Place, a short walk from our 4 star hotel will take you to attractions like Adelaide Oval, Rundle Mall, The Festival Theatre, The Convention Centre, Adelaide Central Markets and Adelaide Casino. Our knowledgeable and dedicated front office team are available 24 hours a day to help you tailor your stay to suit your needs perfectly. The Hotel Grand Chancellor on Currie is committed to providing top quality guest services in a peaceful, homely setting, with all the conveniences of being located in a world class destination. With Leigh Street, Peel Street and Gilbert Place on our doorstep, the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie sits at the focal point of Adelaide’s great food and wine renaissance. With an emerging sense of community and a focus on local produce, the city of Adelaide has become a smorgasbord of art and culture for even the most discerning guest. With South Australia recently being named in the top tourist spots of the world, the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie is in the prefect location to take advantage of everything this great state has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing