We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed for two nights after staying in Glenelg for five nights. The building is a bit run down and unassuming as you enter on a side street but the room we had on the 7th floor was very spacious and had oldish but comfortable decor. It is on the corner of Currie and King William St and hence, very very convenient if you are doing things in the CBD. There is no parking on site but there is parking on Hindley St and you can hire a car there if you go with Thrifty Hire. Unfortunately, this can be somewhat confusing to get to from Currie St as there are many one way roads in the CBD. Perhaps the staff could be more well informed about the one way roads and advise guests accordingly. We ordered room service a few times and were surprised about how affordable their prices were, especially compared to Perth prices. It was really good value for money!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sezstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

spent two days here after arriving thursday 5th march without my luggage as the airline lost it the hotel staff were very helpful they chased the airline to get my suitcase delivered promptly. Pre paid for breakfast which was lovely fresh produce and again great service. we were not bothered by any noise from other guests as you so often do in some hotels would recommend again and again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darkheavenLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Was disappointed with quality, seamed to be a hassle, NO parking out front!!! and you cant get a park unless u park on hindley street a bad Adelaide street. Staff tried their best but their was not nearly enough to keep up a high standard of service. Thought Grand chancellor gold coast was better by far!! Wont stay again. The bill was never explained and was not agreed on but we just paid as we had had enough and you cant wait around with the restrictions on transport. They made up our room once out of a four day visit to. Large spa broken and pool unusable. Cheers

Room Tip: Check ahead about fine details and how to get around problems in advance, a holiday shouldnt cause s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

On arriving our taxi parked at top of alleyway / street , I went and asked front desk for assistance , TWICE !!!!!! A row was going on in reception with guests complaining ! Not a good start , . First impression , not a nice entrance down side street alleyway which looks seedy !!!!!! On checking in , not friendly service I asked could our bags be brought up to rooms we had a large amount of luggage , not really they pushed them to lift . Our suite , dark , small , bathroom stunk of drains ! , bed was very comfortable . I asked on several occasions could my window be opened slightly for fresh air ( as I don't like air conditioning ) forget that one it didn't happen , returned to room after out and about to have to wash cups , no tea bags . !!! Sloppy service , the times we came back and could have done with a drink in the bar , forget it limited opening , and when it is open it stinks of food in main reception not good !! The times we passed reception and not a head was lifted for a hello or a friendly service , we didn't eat here at all so I can't comment ( most of the time it was closed ) . The only positive is that it's right in the centre ( but not a nice area ) I would not stay here again there are nicer hotels in nicer areas

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aristo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We recently stayed one night in a Executive Suite on a Saturday night due to booking the accommodation online with a non refundable condition. This was for the Rolling Stones concert that was cancelled so we paid top dollar for the room. We were happy with room as the king bed was extremely comfortable. We had a great nights sleep as the room was very dark, normally you get street lights etc through the curtains, and heard no noise at all. The room was on the 5th floor facing the lane. The room had 3 rooms with a lounge, bedroom with TV and a spacious bathroom. One negative about the bathroom the shower is in the bath which has a very high side. I have knee problems and had to be very careful getting in and out of it. The lounge was OK but a bit on the small side. There was a microwave in the room and a small bar fridge. The hotel does not have car parking on site and you have to use a public car park on Hindley Street although the rates are very cheap. We found the room to be spotlessly clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Location is centrally positioned for shopping, eating etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warsub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stay 2 nights in the hotel for a business trip in Adelaide. It is located conveniently in Adelaide City with easy access to restaurants and café near Hindley street in Adelaide. Rooms are very clean and bed is very comfortable.

The café downstairs offer very good food but make sure that you spare enough time as their service speed is quite slow. Not ideal for people that is in a hurry.

I will recommend this hotel to business travellers and I will happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank potatotegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Had a nice quiet room with good bathroom. Hotel is well situated for walking into the city centre. Not much else in the way of facilities at the hotel, breakfast was only just acceptable, no fresh fruit, just cereal on offer. Cooked options expensive, we had prepaid for our breakfast and were only entitled to basic bacon and eggs which was a disappointment and service was very slow with no top ups of juice, coffee or tea offered. Would definitely not recommend the breakfast. We did not experience problems from Backpacking Hostel next door as other reviewers have stated.
There are no in-room safes so valuables have to be left with Reception which seems OK but a little inconvenient by modern standards.

Room Tip: Eat at one of the local cafés for breakfast for better value and service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justroving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
0.4 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.7 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie

Address: 18 Currie St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range: £66 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a nearly 100 year old Neo-Georgian style building, The Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie stands proud as a beacon of Adelaide’s culture and history. Located in the heart of the CBD, our guests have the pleasure of immersing themselves into the food and wine renaissance our vibrant city is experiencing. With a doorstep on the emerging cosmopolitan laneway that is Gilbert Place, a short walk from our 4 star hotel will take you to attractions like Adelaide Oval, Rundle Mall, The Festival Theatre, The Convention Centre, Adelaide Central Markets and Adelaide Casino. Our knowledgeable and dedicated front office team are available 24 hours a day to help you tailor your stay to suit your needs perfectly. The Hotel Grand Chancellor on Currie is committed to providing top quality guest services in a peaceful, homely setting, with all the conveniences of being located in a world class destination. With Leigh Street, Peel Street and Gilbert Place on our doorstep, the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie sits at the focal point of Adelaide’s great food and wine renaissance. With an emerging sense of community and a focus on local produce, the city of Adelaide has become a smorgasbord of art and culture for even the most discerning guest. With South Australia recently being named in the top tourist spots of the world, the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie is in the prefect location to take advantage of everything this great state has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing