We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed there last night. Can't fault the place. Room was clean and spacious, all the staff were friendly and helpful, even if they were in the elevator they would ask what floor and guide you to your room. The breakfast was plentiful and a good range. Thank you

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bluebirds72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Bluebirds72,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,045
    666
    102
    29
    9
See reviews for
129
965
134
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I needed to book a hotel room in Adelaide after disembarking a cruise ship. My first choice was Crown Plaza but after reading recent reviews, I chose the Majestic. I was not disappointed. The staff was very helpful upon my check in around 9 am. After being told it might be several hours until my room was ready, it was ready in less than an hour. The room was exquisite....Contemporary in style yet very comfortable. The bathroom had a full tub, plus shower and was modern and fully stocked. Also, free wifi was always available and the location was perfect. This hotel has many extras....fitness room, luxurious rooftop bar, etc...but also has all of the basics: nice spacious rooms, courteous staff, and room service, which was prompt and delicious.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghettocowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Ghettocowboy,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback. I am always excited to see such positive comments, especially when our guests highlight the efforts of our front line team. We do take pride in our customer service and I will be sure to share your comments with our team.

It is certainly great to read that you found our Hotel to be above your expectations and I thank you for chosing to stay with us. An important note to add is that we are currently undertaking a small refurbishment which we anticipate will only enhance our customer experiences with us.

Hopefully you will return soon so you can experience our exciting changes.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colyford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had an Executive King Deluxe Room with an additional put-you-up bed in it for our adult son. The room was fine in size, the beds very comfortable, bedding lovely and the bathroom was very well appointed with the comfiest bath of our whole trip. There were screens to the side of the bath so I guess you could lie in the tub and watch TV if you wanted too! We also thought the price we paid was very reasonable.

Although we were only there one night, it also appeared that the hotel was very well situated for shopping and buying provisions and was close to nice cafes and eateries in Rundle Street. We arrived with a hire car, parking was easy in the multi-storey behind the hotel and cost AUS$18 for a 24 hour period and was added to our bill.

The only reason this revue isn't 5 stars is that unlike the majority of reviewers we didn't find the staff overly helpful which was a surprise as they'd been very helpful on the telephone earlier in the booking procedure. There was a query on the cost of the room as the email confirmation we'd received didn't show the charge for the extra person; we were happy to pay the small difference but would have liked a less dismissive and friendlier explanation. We were a little early but weren't offered secure storage for our luggage despite asking (we were told to leave our bags by the sofas near reception) but the next guests who arrived were offered secure storage without asking! Just all seemed a bit inconsistent. If i was to visit Adelaide again I think I'd give it another try as the rooms were so nice, location good and other reviewers seem to have had more positive experiences with the staff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vwhappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear vwhappiness,

Please accept my apologies for our customer service not meeting your expectations. I am surprised to read these comments and disappointed to hear our staff did not offer this basic service to you. I follow this up directly with our Front Office Manager to ensure we can improve upon this area in the future.

If you do return to Adelaide in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I can personally ensure your stay is memorable. Thank you for your feedback and I do hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Situated in a great location within easy walking distance of the best Adelaide has to offer this hotel was an excellent base. The rooms were everything you would expect and the service couldn't be faulted. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear James F,

I am delighted to read your positive review of our Hotel and I am pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations.

I hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in January. Arrived late at night but still received a warm and efficient welcome from front desk staff, who were pleasant and helpful throughout our stay.
Room large for a city centre hotel and wonderfully clean. Nicely decorated. As mentioned on other reviews my only minor complaint is that there is no-where to put your toiletries in the bathroom.
We stayed when 40degrees outside, and the air conditioning worked well, the free water was also a nice and welcome touch.
Roof garden provides a nice view. Hotel in great position for Rundle street and plenty of restaurants close by. Hotel use the public car at the back of them, not the one opposite. It is not free parking, you just get a set rate for 24 hours.
Great stay, and would definitely use the hotel again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaycheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear holidaycheshire,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent experience with us. It appears you have stayed during one of our recent hot spells and I am glad to hear that you were able to make use of our complimentary water that we offer during high temperature periods.

I do note your comments regarding toiletry storage in the bathroom and I am happy to advise that we have recently embarked on a program to install additional shelving to eliminate this issue.

I hope that we will see you again soon.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Situated in the CBD, walking distance from most city attractions, this hotel offers impeccable rooms and faultless services for relatively-modest room rates. The rooms are stylish and immaculate and the staff are professional and friendly. For the price, this is an excellent option.

Only two issues to watch out for: if you're driving, there is no free parking (street parking is meagre and time limited, hotel parking is $18 per park). There is, however, a car park next to the hotel. There is also some noise from the street and other guests in the hallway, which may disturb extremely light sleepers. (I sleep lightly but it was fine for me). All in all, though, this is a great option in Adelaide city and I won't be staying anywhere else in the future! Well done!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Located very centrally with the main shopping district just 50 or so metres away this is a great hotel to use as a base for exploring Adelaide. Frome Street is a very busy street so make sure you request a room at the back of the hotel if you want a quieter stay. If you are driving to Adelaide there is a public car park straight over the road from the hotel. For an extra $10 a night you can have you car parked using the hotel valet service in the hotel basement which is what we did.

Our room was very comfortable with a king size bed. The sliding doors at the side of the bath opening into the room were a novel feature which gave us some amusement.

The hotel staff are lovely and were a great help with our various questions.The hotel has a small restaurant which we used for convenience on our one night stay. Food was comparable with the restaurant of any popular hotel chain in the UK.

The gym is smaller than in most other four star hotels we have visited. There is no pool. The view from the roof garden across the city is worth seeing but it was too hot during our stay to sit for long.

Adelaide is a very pretty city and was for us more appealing than Melbourne or particularly Sydney which can over power with their sky scraper towers of imposing glass. The wide range and number of stores in the shopping district is as good if not better than anywhere we have encountered. We also had a sense of culture in Adelaide with the universities centrally located, the variety of building styles and the leafy green avenues. Out of the three Australian cities we visited, Adelaide is the one that may tempt us back to Australia one day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,037 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Property: Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Family Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing