We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park across the road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Park across the road”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel is in a great position, near great restaurants and bars. Not cheap but the rooms are large and clean. I dot try the food so no comment, my friends had room service and said it was very ordinary. My only gripe (besides the surcharge for credit cards) was that there is no porter and they charge for car parking, that wasn't told to me on booking! There is a parking station across the road at $25 for 24 hours it was the better option.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    677
    106
    29
    9
See reviews for
133
980
138
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, WA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had two stays at the Majestic Roof Garden Hotel in March, one of five nights during the Festival, and a single night later. The hotel was chosen by our travel agent; it was adequate, but we would not stay there again.

The positives: The location is excellent: right around the corner from the Rundle St shopping precinct, and a short walk to the museums and performance venues on North Terrace and beyond. The king executive deluxe rooms are spacious and clean; the Wi-Fi works well; the separate (soaking) bathtub in the bathroom is very nice. The guest laundry is a nice feature. Valet parking is a relative bargain at $29/night, and our car was always available promptly. There is also a pull-in spot off-street at the side of the lobby for loading and unloading.

The negatives: The rooms were spacious; they clearly had room for two comfortable chairs, but only one was provided. The view from both the front and back of the hotel is of parking garages, and the lobby is minimal. We were given one washcloth and one hand towel by the maids. We asked the front desk for an additional washcloth, but the request was never noted by housekeeping. There were no drinking glasses in the bathroom – we had to use two from the minibar area. The housekeeping staff left us “presents”: a dirty cleaning rag; a bag full of refuse from the room’s wastebasket; repositioning of the bathroom waste container to the top of the toilet seat. The breakfast room is cramped, and the food selection is limited and rather downscale. For crimes committed against scrambled eggs, the chef should be removed from duty.

Some members of the front-desk staff are competent, but one needs to beware of a particularly nasty example of poor customer service – in the person of a young woman named “Sassy”. She became irritated during our first stay at our request for help with dinner reservations. She retaliated during our second stay by lying about the reservations policy of a restaurant. She stated “no reservations”; fortunately we arrived there early enough to get an unreserved table.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GHgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear GHgrrl,

Thank you for your comments and feedback. Whilst you have highlighted a number of positives regarding your experience, I do apologise that some aspects of our Hotel and service were below your expectations.

I am more than happy to discuss your concerns with you directly should you have an opportunity however in the mean time I can confirm we have made improvements to our Restaurant and also to the customer service training of our team members.

I do hope that should you return to Adelaide in the future, that you will contact me directly so that I can personally attend to your needs and ensure your stay is memorable.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in the Majestic Roof Garden Hotel in Adelaide. This hotel is close to the main street Rundle Street with all the shopping and restaurants. This hotel is relatively new (2004).

The hotel staff at the reception and at breakfast were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was large and beautiful. The bathroom had a nice tub. The bed was large and comfortable. Everything was very clean. On the top of the building, there is a nice little garden with views onto the city.

The perfect hotel experience. Highly recommendable!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TightLoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Coming into Adelaide by car for business and a wedding and staying for four nights, we needed a place that was fairly central. We booked online after reading many reviews, mostly good. We really cannot complain too much at all. The service was friendly, courteous and efficient as you would expect from any hotel worth rating. The room was clean and very comfortable with all the usual attributes. There are a few small issues I have with bathroom fittings etc, but I find that these are attributed more to my sense of logic conflicting with the designers of 'pretty' furnishings.

All the staff, even the cleaners are friendly and courteous. We witnessed the desk staff handle a group of difficult international guests checking in and it was handled professionally and efficiently. We also opted for the more expensive valet parking of our vehicle. It was no problem at all for us to get our car whenever it was required and I would use this service again knowing that the car is close by.(and still accessible, as I always manage to remember something I have left in then car)

The only down side of the visit was out of the hotels control. If you desire anything to eat on a Sunday night in Adelaide, be prepared to travel across the town to find something other than very basic food. Most restaurants, even the kitchens of major Hotels close on Sunday nights.?

I would stay here again in preference to many of the other places I have stayed in Adelaide.

Room Tip: We have only stayed at one room in the Hotel. It was on the first floor and was very comfortable. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregJohnOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

If the worst thing you can find to complain about is that you only got five milk sachets in the fridge then there's not much wrong with a place, is there? I stayed here (for the second time) courtesy of a job, so I didn't choose the Majestic Roof Garden, but I'm glad they booked this hotel. It's perfectly well appointed, has functional bathrooms, comfy beds and free and reasonably reliable wifi. The breakfast was pretty good, at a price. I still haven't actually seen the roof garden, though … next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Peter S,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again soon so you can spend some time relaxing in our Roof Garden.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Three of us stayed in the hotel for work and had three different rooms, each room was absolutely amazing, very comfortable, had a beautiful tub you could literally watch t.v whilst laying in it.
The location was brilliant, walking distance from the shops and restaurants couldnt fault the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Deena P,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am happy to see that your stay was comfortable and that you made use of our luxurious bath tubs to relax and watch some television. I trust your colleagues also enjoyed their experience with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

This was booked for me and it is a quiet hotel mainly. The food and wine are fairly limited but lots to eat nearby.

Why have a roof garden that is really a small open verandah with no bar ? It's just.. weird. It's not like anything in Charleston SC, and I was hoping it was.

Should be 'Majestic Hotel Adelaide'. Or 'Majestic Hotel with an Elevatorand a Reception Desk Adelaide'. They are just as remarkable a feature.

The Rooftop Garden is really a few planters and an open space. Sorry, just disappointed. Good location and not glitzy. That's a good thing.

Sure I would stay again but not be fooled by the name. It's in a good location, but there is nothing special about the garden or the rooftop. Except that there is no bar and the rooftop area is well... small and largely peripheral. Maybe I missed a secret door...

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank anecessaryevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear anecessaryevil,

Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel. I am happy to see that you have rated our Hotel well in the Summary area of your review including sleep quality, our rooms, location and service.I am more than happy to take your feedback regarding our Roof Garden on board including any suggestions from Charleston SC that you may wish to share with us.

You may be interested to know that we have planned renovations of this area of our Hotel in the near future that will ensure the space becomes a focal point of our venue. I hope that these renovations will meet your expectations on your next stay if you decided to return to us.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,074 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Property: Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Family Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing