We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Centrally located"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Check in was warm and helpful with an upgrade given to an executive suite. Room was clean, spacious and quiet; however, if your room faces the parking garage the curtains do not block all of the carpark lights from creeping in. Bathroom is a good size, shower pressure so so and the bed a little too soft for my liking.
Centrally located for shopping, restaurants and sightseeing. Free and reliable wifi and warm and friendly staff.
A great hotel for an Adelaide adventure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coffeeaddict17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,937)
There are newer reviews for Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,296 - 1,302 of 1,937 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Great location, close to shopping. It is a bit pricey, but worth it if you are in adelaide to enjoy the city. We stayed as a family. We walked to the zoo, art gallery and through the botanical gardens. Do not enter through the back door, it is dark and creepy at night. Restaurant was awesome!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Upon check-in, the staff greeted us warmly and were very helpful. Sassy upgraded our room to a deluxe suite which was spacious and quiet. The hotel is light, bright and modern. Although there are no views, the roof-top terrace does allow guests to enjoy a cocktail and overlook the city. Laundry facilities are available for a small charge. Free wi-fi. Our stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

have stayed here in the past, executive rooms are good, generous size, clean and well maintained, location is also a plus - near the hospital and assorted 'watering holes' and restaurants a short walk away. i have found rates can be high with little discounting during peak. however if you check specials you might be fortunate as we were on this occasion.
tip - if you have a car, make sure you get the package where parking is included in the rate, and if you have time have breakfast in the central markets.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulpolot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel is in a great position, near great restaurants and bars. Not cheap but the rooms are large and clean. I dot try the food so no comment, my friends had room service and said it was very ordinary. My only gripe (besides the surcharge for credit cards) was that there is no porter and they charge for car parking, that wasn't told to me on booking! There is a parking station across the road at $25 for 24 hours it was the better option.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lazylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had two stays at the Majestic Roof Garden Hotel in March, one of five nights during the Festival, and a single night later. The hotel was chosen by our travel agent; it was adequate, but we would not stay there again.

The positives: The location is excellent: right around the corner from the Rundle St shopping precinct, and a short walk to the museums and performance venues on North Terrace and beyond. The king executive deluxe rooms are spacious and clean; the Wi-Fi works well; the separate (soaking) bathtub in the bathroom is very nice. The guest laundry is a nice feature. Valet parking is a relative bargain at $29/night, and our car was always available promptly. There is also a pull-in spot off-street at the side of the lobby for loading and unloading.

The negatives: The rooms were spacious; they clearly had room for two comfortable chairs, but only one was provided. The view from both the front and back of the hotel is of parking garages, and the lobby is minimal. We were given one washcloth and one hand towel by the maids. We asked the front desk for an additional washcloth, but the request was never noted by housekeeping. There were no drinking glasses in the bathroom – we had to use two from the minibar area. The housekeeping staff left us “presents”: a dirty cleaning rag; a bag full of refuse from the room’s wastebasket; repositioning of the bathroom waste container to the top of the toilet seat. The breakfast room is cramped, and the food selection is limited and rather downscale. For crimes committed against scrambled eggs, the chef should be removed from duty.

Some members of the front-desk staff are competent, but one needs to beware of a particularly nasty example of poor customer service – in the person of a young woman named “Sassy”. She became irritated during our first stay at our request for help with dinner reservations. She retaliated during our second stay by lying about the reservations policy of a restaurant. She stated “no reservations”; fortunately we arrived there early enough to get an unreserved table.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GHgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear GHgrrl,

Thank you for your comments and feedback. Whilst you have highlighted a number of positives regarding your experience, I do apologise that some aspects of our Hotel and service were below your expectations.

I am more than happy to discuss your concerns with you directly should you have an opportunity however in the mean time I can confirm we have made improvements to our Restaurant and also to the customer service training of our team members.

I do hope that should you return to Adelaide in the future, that you will contact me directly so that I can personally attend to your needs and ensure your stay is memorable.

Regards,
Michael Collis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed one night in the Majestic Roof Garden Hotel in Adelaide. This hotel is close to the main street Rundle Street with all the shopping and restaurants. This hotel is relatively new (2004).

The hotel staff at the reception and at breakfast were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was large and beautiful. The bathroom had a nice tub. The bed was large and comfortable. Everything was very clean. On the top of the building, there is a nice little garden with views onto the city.

The perfect hotel experience. Highly recommendable!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TightLoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,126 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Family Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £82 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing