We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location, good meeting room facilities, one small "but"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Central location, good meeting room facilities, one small "but"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have stayed here twice over the last 2 months. The rooms are excellent, great service overall, great breakfast. On the top floor there are several well appointed conference rooms.
There are heaps of great restaurants and coffee shops within a short walk. Great for business and training sessions, etc.
But...., On both visits I have walked up to the bar for a nightcap when things were quiet, the staff have not acknowledged my presence. Even though I stood right in front of them they continued writing or punching the keyboard for some time, there was no "I'll be with you in a minute" no eye contact, no smile,...... no tip. Memo to all bar staff: Smile + eye contact = tip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H-and-S-Langwarrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    598
    98
    27
    9
See reviews for
109
863
114
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We would highly recommend the accommodation at the Majestic Roof Garden Hotel. Everything was immaculate, stylish and comfortable. The location is great - just around the corner from a street of modern cafes, restaurants, cinemas and shops and near to cultural locations including the Art Gallery and Festival Centre. The hotel restaurant serves an excellent buffet breakfast in a modern setting. We would not hesitate to stay again..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We recently took 25 of our top staff to Adelaide for a staff retreat and stayed in this hotel. This hotel really lives up to the reviews. Excellent location only a short few steps from the main shopping and restaurant street. Lovely clean upgraded facilities, friendly staff, great value for money. This is a high quality 4 star hotel.function room facilities and service were also excellent. Highly recommend for business functions

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SherelleFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Majestic Roof Garden Hotel for 3 nights in July 2014. The desk staff were friendly and efficient and the lobby is well kept. Our room faced the street (the face of the building) and looked into the multi-storey carpark opposite. The net curtain did a suitable job of providing privacy. We had a balcony, but as it lacked any furniture we wondered what the point was - perhaps it was for smokers? Perhaps not as there was no ashtray. The room as well proportioned and came with a lovely bath and a sliding door / window setup that allowed the you sit in the bath and speak with someone on the bed, or to watch the tv. However this arrangement turned out to be inconvenient as the opaque glass meant that a trip to the bathroom in the night was incomplete without filling the entire room with light from the bathroom.

Housekeeping was thorough, but very late. Each day we went out and came back after lunch time. In every case the room was still to be made up. This was disappointing. Although they were happy to provide us fresh towels and toiletries ad hoc. Toiletries appeared to be cheap and of poor quality.

The breakfast was great: Varied and plentiful. Good choice for vegetarians. It was a joy to come down each morning.

As we were flying out of the country late in the evening, we asked if it was possible to have a late check-out and that we were willing to pay, eg. a half day or so. We were offered an extra hour at no charge (allowing us to check out at 12pm rather than 11am). If we wanted to stay until 6pm we'd have to pay for another day at rack rate which translated to a very steep $350! This would have essentially doubled the cost of our entire stay!!

On a final note, it would have been a nice touch if the hotel provided a complimentary bottle of water in the rooms. Location is very central, close to restaurants etc, but think we will give this one a miss next time and try another hotel in the area.




Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank arracka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear arracka,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Hotel. It is disappointing to see that your stay did not meet your expectations and we apologise for any inconvenience caused for a late check out not being available due to our higher ocupancy at the time. Our Housekeeping team pride themselves on their efficiency and the level of cleanliness and this is reflected in the many positive comments we hear from our guests, however it is disappointing to see that your needs were not met during your stay.

I do hope that you will consider contactign me in the future should you return to Australia so that I can personally attend to your accommodation needs and ensure an improved experience with us.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Would loved to have returned there following a few days in the Barossa, but they wouldn't give us the reduced rate that we had enjoyed on our initial stay for 2 nights Sat 26th & Sun 27th April. Instead we end up staying on our last night in Adelaide in another hotel. Is all about customer service and loyalty. Oh well maybe they might do it for customers in the future.

Room Tip: When with friends ensure rooms next to each other with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great location.... just around the corner from one of the more characterful areas in Adelaide, Rundle St East. We enjoyed our stay here so much, I'd stay again. We bought a package that included parking at a very reasonable price on one of the last minute websites. And the hotel met all our requests of a balcony room and late checkout.
We arrived mid afternoon Friday and could pull up in front of the hotel to checkin, take our bags up to our room and then self park our car in the Wilson carpark behind the hotel. Excellent!
The reception staff are professional and helpful, as were other staff we happened upon around the hotel.
We went out for the afternoon/evening and enjoyed Adelaides interesting and varied pubs, bars and restaurants. Which is another good reason to stay here, it's location. Ideal. Nice and close to everything.
The hotel is really nice. The rooms are tasteful and very comfortable, with free WiFi, nice big TV, plenty of room for us to spread our luggage out and wonderful big bed with fabulous pillows (very important to me). The bathroom is also very nicely appointed with a lovely bath next to sliding screens so that, if you wish, you can sit in the bath and watch the TV! Luxe!!!
We're notorious layabouts when on holiday, and don't venture forth until late in the morning, so a nice room is very important to us.... and these rooms are all that and more!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony if, like us, you like fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
565 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were more than happy with this hotel; easy check in, QUIET twin room (109) (single beds) looked like it had been refurbished. Clean, comfortable beds & pillows, quiet fridge, shower big enough for 2 but only one showerhead. extra pillows, large wardrobe, in room safe. The room had a small balcony which was also glazed, consequently, the room was super quiet. The window in the balcony opened & had a fly screen for anyone who wanted to leave the balcony door open & open the window for fresh air rather than use the air-conditioning. There was 2 benches for suitcases making access to clothes etc easy. We walked to Rundle St Mall & its about a 20 minute walk to the market. A short walk takes you to the free tram. Ask for directions at reception. Plenty cafes & restaurants within walking distance. Free wifi. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: We asked for a QUIET room and got R109. So I guess any of the 089 rooms would be quiet. It looked on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.7 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Property: Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing