We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations, what a great place......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2009

I booked the Majestic for one night as a stop over before flying to Cairns the following day. I have to say the hotel exceeded my expectations, the staff were fantastic and very helpful. The room was lovely with a fantastic bathroom and all important air conditioning (temp was 43 when I visited).

Had dinner in the restaurant and found the menu to be imaginative and varied with a wide selection of wines to compliment the menu.

A real find!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrsthomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,689 - 1,695 of 1,991 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2009

A great hotel on the edge of the shopping area. Endorse the accolades which other have given but the breakfast service leaves a lot to be desired. Quality of the food was OK but if an item ran out, say by 08.30, then there was no replacement. This area of the hotel's provision needs urgent attention.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExileinManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We stayed here on sat oct 24th.. The previous reviewers are correct in what they say on many points, however i found the hotel nice and 'easy' to stay in.. its in a fantastic spot, right in the middle of the resturant and cafe area... the rooms are on the big-ish size... with opening windows (this is very important for some people - like me!) the hotel its self isnt too big (so there isnt 20 people vying for the lifts and jockeying for a seat at brekky) The check in service was quick and effortless, the brekky (included in our rate) was terriffic, the valet parking was smooth, and most importantly the room was spotless.. I reckon 180 bucks (with brekky) for a great room in the middle of the adelaide cafe precinct is pretty good.. Sure, no porter service, but thats not the end of the world for most travellers - coz the lifts work fine! .. no bar on the roof, but about 6 pubs and 20 cafes withing 100 metres walk... i would stay again - no problems. *note.. there are some fantastic resturants in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Nothing negative to say about this hotel, friendly staff, clean large rooms (which are quiet), walking distance to everything!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blah-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Stayed for 4 nights in September. Having read the reviews, and advertising themselves as a 4 star hotel maybe we expected something a bit more. On checking in (at 9.30 pm), no one offered to take our bags up to the room. Whilst happy to do it ourselves, most hotels, offer this service. The room itself, was nice and roomy. We had a balcony on the top floor and a view overlooking the car park. The TV didn't work and the staff member who came to fix it, couldn't and said he would get it fixed tomorrow (which he did). The TV was old, it wasn't a flat screen, and the remote had obviously seen better days. The curtains also didn't close properly. These minor things are just that, minor, however for a 4 star hotel, you expect things to work. The bathroom was good, although the whole set up with the windows, was a bit odd and just seems dated.

Staff were okay, not overly friendly, but nor were they unpleasant. Had one meal at the hotel restaurant, meal itself was quite good, good size portions, especially dessert. The waiter lacked personality, as in we think he' d rather be somewhere else, a bit like the hotel front desk staff. I think they have the food right and just need to work a little more on the human side, to make it an all round enjoyable eating experience.

Majestic roof garden I'm not sure what it was all about. There's no bar, coffee shop, just a lot of seats, that don't give the best view of Adelaide, and a whole lot of cigarette butts.

Gymnasium, is in a tiny room, with very little equipment and it looks like they have just wanted to say they have as part of their facilities a gym,. I know you don't book into a hotel solely for the gym, however it really is misleading. They would have been better off, putting a snack machine in the room, so if you were on the rooftop garden you could get a drink or something to eat.

Location great, however Adelaide is so small any hotel would really be a great location.
Would we stay here again, no. For the price next time we'd probably give the Hilton a go.

Just my opinion, but I think the hotel, know they are No 1 on TripAdvisor and have taken their eye just slightly off the ball, and maybe aren't trying as hard as they possibly should be.

4 or 4.5 star, no but a good honest 3 - 3.5. As a previous reviewer,wrote a trendy travelodge and I'd agree that would be an honest assessment of a quite nice, but not great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CyberGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Very new and modern hotel, rooms large and clean (great bathrooms). Good service too.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbloke2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Great location next to Rundle Street and a few minutes from Downtown and the University.

Clean, well appointed nicely designed room.

One of the better hotels we have stayed in for some time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,164 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £86 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing