We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy place”
Review of Oaks Embassy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oaks Embassy
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed 6 nights in a two-bed roomed apartment. It is across the road from the station and handy for the Botanics,Zoo and new cricket stadium as well as Adelaide's central shopping district. The road is very busy with screaming ambulances and traffic including buses which are noisy because they use green fuel. During the night the rooms are well enough soundproofed to shelter you from most of this. The apartments are modern,serviced and fairly spacious. The sitting area is large but the toilet and bedrooms are quite tight. There is a balcony from which yo view the traffic! Reception staff are helpful and friendly. This us a good place to stay. Breakfast is available but we didn't use it. The kitchen and laundry facilities are cleverly neat and good.

Room Tip: Go for the Main Street not at the back which overlooks nightclub alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaoHaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at Oaks Embassy. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. We hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. No complaints about the room, it was spacious and clean. A good kitchen and full size fridge all we needed. But I would recommend you arrive by public transport, or have your car parking organized in writing prior.
I booked on line and assumed, as most other places I've stayed there would be a place to park and a lift from the car park to our floor.
I called before arriving and was told their own car park was booked out, but could use the public car park next door.
I was told it was $26.00 for 24 hrs, a bit higher than the Hotels rates but ok as I had no choice.

The next day I was charged $40 for 18 hours. The day after was $50 for 24 hours. The staff were friendly and polite but not helpful with this issue. I asked 4 different staff members about the price, and told them how much I was charged, they said that didn't seem right and we should ask the public car park attendant. I felt like they didn't care, and "parking was our own problem".
The car park attendant told us it was at least $50.00 for 24 hours. I told him the Hotel told us $26.00. He then said you need your ticket validated by the Hotel to get the discounted rate. I asked the staff again and they knew nothing about validating tickets. On leaving the Hotel, the public car park lift was not operating. I have stayed in many Hotels, Motels, Resorts and have always been able to park my car with out complications.
Other than that, our stay was enjoyable.
Next time I visit Adelaide and paying in that price range I will be choosing a place that has enough parking to accommodate all the guests.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us at Oaks Embassy. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and location of the apartment, however dissapointed to learn of your problems with parking. Unfortunately we only have a limited amount of car spaces and these are subject to availability. The car parking does need to be pre booked before arrival to ensure that there is availability.
There are public car parks close by and the one that you might be referring to unfortunately increased their pricing for 2014 which we were not aware of. We are endeavouring to arrange a discounted price for our guests, however at this time this is not confirmed.
Please accept our sincerest apologies for this inconvenience and we hope this did not marr your overall impression of Oaks Embassy.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Booked a 2 bedroom apartment, we were a family of 4 stayed 2 nights. In the city to finally tie the knot after quite a few yrs together.
Walking distance to public transport, free in the CBD, many cafés close by, few pubs/hotels. Walkin distance to Rundle Mall which is main shopping in centre of Adelaide (can take free tram if don't wanna walk)
The room itself was ok, all mod cons, rooms good, air con worked well. Shower in bathroom was quite dark, better lighting would be better. Great to hav a balcony but the step out & back in was bad. Yes there was a sign on the sliding door to mind the step, but if u missed it, whoops.
We had a room facing west, brilliant views, though in the late afternoon the sun really shines in, so take note if stayin in the summer months.
Generally quite happy, would stay again, staff friendly & helpful

Room Tip: Higher up more quiet, room facing north or west less noise, tho remember in summer the sun for the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay especially the western views and the handy location to everything in the city. We hope we can we welcome you back in the not too distant future and that you travelled safely back home.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I normally stay well clear of minibars and inhouse meals when staying somewhere else. However on this occasion, I arrived on Christmas Day when NOTHING else in Adelaide was open other than one Maccas and three convenience stores. The nearby casino was closed as were all the pubs.

So, when I arrived on a 34 degree day having worked my way there from the airport in need of a beer, I was prepared to raid the minbar for once and maybe their reserves- except this place did not have one and room service does not exist. Two litres of coke from a nearby convenience store later, I cooled down, somewhat hot and bored.

The inhouse material explained that there were restaurants nearby that could deliver, but the reality of Christmas Day in Adelaide meant that was not an option.

The room itself was quite nice and spacious. A bit boring with the modcons but it was very much an apartment rather than a motel room, so thumbs up on that front. Price was fine too - $130 for the night.

Giving it four stars reflects the property (as per the rating criteria) although i would say my stay there was 3 or maybe 2 stars for reasons completely outside its control. So, my advice is by all means go there, but avoid tea-totalling Adelaide altogether on a public holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonkatonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the apartment. Unfortunately Christmas Day is a public holiday and therefore there is a limited amount of shops, restaurants and services in the city available and we dont have any control over this. We hope we can welcome you back soon in the not to distant future and you travelled safely back home.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for5 nights had brekky included which was nice, small buffet . My only issue was I didn't realise the apartment was not serviced. The staff were happy to help with towels thought. There is a nice pool and gym . Quite a central location

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank hetrogenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We are glad you found your stay comfortable. We have different apartment raes with different options for servicing, however we are glad we were able to assist with towels. We hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Really handy place to stay. Well equipped apartment. Big lounge area and really good sized bedroom and adjoining bathroom. Found plenty of places nearby for breakfast and just a short walk to the main shopping area. The hotel is directly opposite the conference centre and about 100 yards from the station. There's a lot of work happening along the riverside and it looks like it will be a it will be a great place to wander.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peroni10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for takingthe time to let me know about ypur recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the location of Oaks Embassy. There is a lot of development on North Terrace so we will continue to be a great location for our guests to explore Adelaide.
We hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Large suite with modern facilities and balcony with Good view. Very close to convention centre and main station. Quiet room on 14th floor - may be noisier closer to street. Full kitchenand laundry.
I would recommend this venue for any self catering trip to Adelaide

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank effbeezw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found the apartment well equipped and in a great location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#19 of 55 in Adelaide
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 55 in Adelaide
3,788 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.3 mi away
Quest on King William
Quest on King William
#21 of 55 in Adelaide
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Embassy

Address: 96 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#28 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £83 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Embassy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the central business district on North Terrace and just a short stroll from Adelaide’s shopping precinct, the casino and convention centre you will find Oaks Embassy. Oaks Embassy is one of Adelaide’s most contemporary apartment buildings offering spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments complete with laundry facilities and executive apartments featuring private spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Embassy Apartment Adelaide
Hotel Oaks Embassy Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing