We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utterly disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks Embassy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oaks Embassy
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Utterly disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a one bedroom deluxe apartment. Reception was basic. Room was filthy. Carpet was stained. shower was mouldy, Exhaust fan in bathroom was disgusting, Soap holder in shower wouldn't stay put. A/C vent was full of dust. We had to pay to park in The Oaks car park. As a guest of a hotel, I don't expect to pay for parking. If you want clean and nice, don't stay here

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gemedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Embassy. It is disappointing to read of your mixed experience. Oaks Hotels and Resorts, strive for 100% guest satisfaction. It is disappointing that we failed to provide this through the standard of the apartment and our service. I would very much like the opportunity to personally chat with you further. Please feel free in contacting me directly at the hotel or via email: foembassy@theoaksgroup.com.au. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    198
    106
    56
    35
See reviews for
102
116
22
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I've just stayed at the Oaks Embassy on North Terrace for 3 nights. What a perfect place. I love the added cons of fridge, coffee maker and microwave and this serviced apartment had it all. It was really roomy, no bath thank god, just shower- that meant big bathroom. Nice balcony. Lots of space in the bedroom with cable TV and lovely big bed. The location is great. The place was immaculate. I would definitely go back: plus it was ridiculously cheap. Great job, guys and gals at Oaks! It's 10/10 from me.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AUStoWORLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Oaks Embassy. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our spacious apartments and the views from our balconies of central Adelaide CBD. The free cable TV is always popular with our guests as well as the kitchen comforts. We do hope to welcome you back to Oaks Embassy soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed in a three bedroom apartment for six nights. Very basic level of customer service, cheap fitout, grubby and poorly maintained. The response to most questions is come to reception for that or no, we don't have that. The only time someone came to the apartment is when the hotplates didn't work (which was resolved eventually). The most disappointing aspects of this accommodation were the carpets in the master bedroom were absolutely filthy with very obvious dark stains to a cream carpet throughout the room. Also, the apartment was very noisy at night, as if the seals to windows and doors were missing. The blinds throughout were torn and dirty. There wasn't a lid to the toilet in the ensuite. The shower in the ensuite was barely a trickle. At least five light globes required replacement. The bedside lamps were different colours and brightness. All light fitting and air conditioning vents were coated in thick layers of dust. Handles to the kitchen cabinetry didn't match and the semi-integrated fridge was hidden behind a cupboard door with no handles to open it. The dishwasher buttons and control panel were either missing or loose. The extensive glass windows the large balcony were filthy. The internet cable sat on the writing desk however couldn't plug it into a socket anywhere. An empty spa sat on the balcony covered in dust and accumulated dirty water to the bottom - looked very unattractive. The apartment was generally very grubby. This extended to the facilities. The gym was also very dusty and dirty. The apartment needed a very good scrub and maintenance team to attend to it for more than a quick fix. Beds were comfy and clean though! I would recommend this accommodation if you're looking for somewhere just to rest your head but if you're looking for accommodation for a long term stay in clean and comfort, I'd suggest to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JR082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Embassy. It is disappointing to read of your mixed experience, especially as our 3 bedroom apartments are quite popular and often praised. I would very much like the opportunity to personally chat with you further. Please feel free in contacting me directly at the hotel or via email: foembassy@theoaksgroup.com.au. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We hired a three bedroom apartment to get ready for a hens night.

Had a lovely view of the Adelaide oval and River Torrens. Apartment was spacious and well maintained.

I took my watch off before showering and couldn't find it after for some silly reason. Upon check out I informed front desk staff and within a couple of hours I had a call to be informed room service had found it which was lucky.

Location is great as after a hards night out you can just walk back to your apartment without dealing with taxi queues.

Would we stay here again? Most definitely. Would we recommend to family and friends? Yes.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. It is great to read that you enjoyed our hotel, your apartment and our central location. Our location is fantastic for those who want to centrally base themselves in the CBD and explore. Our apartments are quite spacious, making your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

On my list of good hotels i have stayed, i needed a front room higher up for a job
so they moved me no fuss , very helpful staff , thanks Gary for doing 120% customer service
if using the Convention Centre look no further than here .
Number one Customer service and rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oskardog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to read that we assisted during your stay with the location of the apartment and that we provided great customer service. We will ensure your comments are also passed on to the Guest Service Agent that assisted you. We hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

we stayed here because I had stayed here for work before. We got the room for around $170 a night. It had plenty of space, it was also clean and quiet. We had our own kitchen and laundry in the room too.

The hotel also had a pool and a spa. We were close to restaurants, bars and the tram. Its an apartment not a hotel, but that's what we wanted so it was perfect!

We were very happy with our stay here and would recommend it for anyone who wants a home away from home at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeriana_and_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for talking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We are very happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found our rates reasonable. We hope we can welcome you back to Oaks Embassy in the not too distant future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Spent 9 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment and not one complaint we were on the 11th floor .Room clean, it had washing machine and dryer and fridge and also they came and serviced the room as well which was a surprise as it was nice to come back after a long day out to find the bed was made and new towels and toileties were left and they even put our dishes away from breaky. The front desk was very helpful and always willing to guide us with their knowledge. It was no problem for them to help and was no trouble to do any of our bookings. Would i stay there again Definately , would recommed this hotel and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask to go as high as you can as i think there is less noise higher than the lower levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We are very happy to learn that you had a great stay and enjoyed the facilities of the apartment and Oaks Embassy. We hope we can welcome you back in the not to distant future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#26 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#21 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Embassy

Property: Oaks Embassy
Address: 96 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#28 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Embassy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the central business district on North Terrace and is just a short stroll from Adelaide’s shopping precinct, the casino and convention centre you will find Oaks Embassy. Oaks Embassy is one of Adelaide’s most contemporary apartment buildings offering spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments complete with laundry facilities and executive apartments featuring private spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Oaks Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Embassy Apartment Adelaide
Hotel Oaks Embassy Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing