We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience”
Review of Oaks Embassy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oaks Embassy
Ranked #33 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Oaks Embassy over the June long weekend for 3 nights. Our room was on level 6 and faced the east. We found the room perfect for our needs and enjoyed a very relaxed stay. We did not hear any traffic or people noise during the 3 days and nights.
We found the location ideal for visiting the art gallery, museum, Adelaide oval, and the footy as well as late night shopping in Rundle Mall and Zoo via Popeye. The staff on reception were very busy at times but always courteous and obliging. The room was very comfortable and clean with everything we needed for our stay. We did not have a room with a spa by choice nor did we attend the restaurant for breakfast choosing to bring our own supplies

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Oaks Embassy. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy our central location. It is always great to hear that our staff were helpful and your feedback will most definitely be passed on. We do hope to welcome you back to Oaks Embassy soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    206
    107
    57
    37
See reviews for
109
117
22
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Broken Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent 2 nights there last month. This is the second time we have stayed here. Last time was better. The first morning we notified reception that we had no hot water in the shower. The second morning we again had no hot water. They we pretty good about it and gave a reasonable discount on the price. Otherwise the room was excellent and location is fantastic to attend events at the Entertainment Centre and the proximity to the CBD

Room Tip: Rooms north and west offer better city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travla14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Oaks Embassy. It is disappointing to hear of your mixed experience; however I am delighted to hear that the staff was able to assist you. I’m glad that you were able to enjoy our convenient location in the CBD and excellent surroundings. We do hope to welcome you back to Oaks Embassy soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment with a friend for a weekend conference. Proximity to the Conventional Centre was fantastic, however the room we stayed in hadn't been very well maintained. For a start there was mould in the shower, not just a little bit, but in every grouted space between the tiles in the shower. The shower was over a spa bath which was so deep to get into it was actually like doing a high-jump getting in and out. The sink in the bathroom was also partially blocked and threatened to overflow every time we washed our hands. The carpet was pretty filthy as well. I have stayed at many other Oaks apartments before and although they vary a little as far as room maintenance is concerned, this is by far the worst.
There was a good view out over the Adelaide Oval, but there was a lot of construction going on in the area so this side of the building was very noisy from 7am on the dot all day, even Saturday.
The other complaint I had was that the lift foyer on our floor and the common areas reeked of cigarette smoke. This was despite the "no smoking" signs in all the common areas. I understand that some of the apartments in the building would be privately owned, but when the smell is so overpowering in the common areas something is really wrong.
So between the disgusting smell and the grotty bathroom, I don't think I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Embassy. Whilst it is disappointing to read the issues that you have noted, it has allowed us to take appropriate action to rectify these issues. Oaks Hotels and Resorts strive for 100% guest satisfaction. It is disappointing that we failed to provide this through the standard of the apartment and our service. Please be assured that the issues you encountered are not something of regular occurrence and I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future so we can have the opportunity to turn a bad experience into a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here 2 years ago for Tasting Australia and came back again. I called reservations a week before arrival with a request for the room layout, asking that the main bedroom be a twin and the smaller bedroom to be a double as the main would be occupied by 2 single females and a single male in the smaller room, it was noted in the booking and the room was as we asked upon checkin.
This apartment Roon 1015 was a bit smaller than the last one we had and the view while nice was not as good as looking out over North Terrace, but the room had a very good layout and the bathroom was more spacious than the apartment we had last time, the vanity unit was bigger which was great for 3 singles and their toiletries, the only downside was there was no sink plug, this makes shaving for a male difficult and it wastes a lot more water.
We didn't spend a lot of time in the room as we were out at Tasting Australia functions so it was nice to come back to space and comfort at the end of the day. The last night we stayed in with local Cheese Pate, and wine, it made for an easy last night as the apartment was very well equipped with everything we needed.
Before departure we used the dishwasher to clean all of the kitchenware, on completion of the dishwasher cycle when unloading the washer we discovered that the upper rack was missing it's wheels on the left hand side and the stopper preventing the rack from coming off the rails was missing, it took 2 of us to take the rack out to prevent the dishes falling to the floor, aside from this everything was very good with the kitchen but they seem to be reluctant to restock Tea and Coffee when they service the rooms, this is something I have noticed before in Oaks properties.
We had an enjoyable stay, Joshua on Check in and Check out was very professional and friendly and offered a good suggestion on the day of check out to use the lounge bar of the Playford Hotel a few doors up North Terrace as we had late flights and were not leaving for the airport until 3pm, we spent nearly 4 hours there as the weather was not so good, we had coffee, a glass of wine and a very nice lunch, the staff were charming and we were never treated like we were staying too long.
All up we had a great stay and we wil be back to stay at Oaks Embassy again

Room Tip: We've stayed twice and satisfied with rooms and location on both occaissions and rooms were on o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airline_GuySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We thank you for taking the time to write a comment on your recent stay at Oaks Embassy. It is so great to read that you returned to stay with us again and enjoyed your second stay just as much. Thank you for pointing out the maintenance with the dishwasher, I will have this fixed straight away. It is so handy to have these facilities in your apartments; makes your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We do hope to see you next time you are in Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

There's so much that's great about these apartments, the location is fantastic, the size of the apartment is brilliant. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment and it was very roomy and spacious for our family of 5, the cost for the 3 bedroom was extremely affordable. The pool area was nice, the gym small but effective. However and unfortunately there are 2 issues we had which would prevent us from staying again. The apartments are in desperate need of some tlc! At the very least they need a decent clean, the carpets are filthy, the bathroom tiles are that covered in mold and dirty marks you really don't want to use them. I've used public toilets that are cleaner! The majority of blinds are torn and tattered, half the light globes need replacing, the kitchen cupboards need to be put back on their hinges and there was a serious smell issue that came from under the sink. The spa outside on the balcony has the potential to be a wonderful addition, with stunning views towards the beach, however it's been left to rot and fill with dust and dirty water. It's such a shame really, because as I've mentioned the accommodation has some great qualities. I would have raised these issues with the reception/check in staff but to be honest the couple of times we approached him after some local or hotel information, he could barely look at us, let alone smile and engage in conversation. They are the face of your hotel, your first contact, teach them to smile and say hello at the very least!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Embassy. Whilst it is disappointing to read the issues that you have noted, it has allowed us to take appropriate action to rectify these issues. Oaks Hotels and Resorts strive for 100% guest satisfaction. It is disappointing that we failed to provide this through the standard of the apartment and our service. Please be assured that the issues you encountered are not something of regular occurrence and I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future so we can have the opportunity to turn a bad experience into a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We spentapartment. here to attend the football at Adelaide Oval. Perfect location within walking distance of the oval and not far from shops, Casino & public transport.
We had a room on the 11th floor which had a balcony and views of the football stadium, "cheese grater" & distant hills.
Loved the apartment - kitchen, lounge dining, separate bedroom with 2nd TV, comfortable bed, bathroom with separate shower, vanity with storage & european laundry. Pretty much everything you need.
The only fault I found was that there was only one teaspoon.
Staff couldn't be more polite or helpful on check-in & check-out.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Oaks Embassy. It is so great to hear that you loved our apartments and your stay. Our location is fantastic if you want to see a sporting game at the new Adelaide Oval – only a 5min walk. Our apartments are also comfortable and spacious with the feeling of space a traditional hotel doesn’t offer. We do hope you come back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights last weekend. The apartment was clean, modern and the king size bed was super comfortable. Despite the cold weather in Adelaide our room was toasty and warm before we even turned on the air con which was lovely. The bathroom was large with a really good quality hair dryer, which isn't usually the way.. The hot water system was quick with good pressure in the shower.
Appliances in the room were top quality and worked great. Good sized fridge, although we didn't use it.
Check in and out was easy and staff were friendly. Lifts were fast, which doesn't sound important, but I've stayed at a lot of hotels and fast lifts become a must when you're higher than the 10th floor...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, as our balcony looked out onto a brick wall of another building unfortun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksEmbassy, Manager at Oaks Embassy, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Embassy. It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed our apartments and found them comfortable for your stay. The advantage of staying in an apartment hotel is that you do have the luxury of space and facilities such as a full kitchen and laundry. It is also great to read that you found our staff friendly and the check in & check out process easy. I do look forward to welcoming you back when next you come to Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#25 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#21 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Embassy

Property: Oaks Embassy
Address: 96 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#28 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Embassy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the central business district on North Terrace and is just a short stroll from Adelaide’s shopping precinct, the casino and convention centre you will find Oaks Embassy. Oaks Embassy is one of Adelaide’s most contemporary apartment buildings offering spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments complete with laundry facilities and executive apartments featuring private spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Embassy Apartment Adelaide
Hotel Oaks Embassy Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing