We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large and well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Quest On Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest On Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Large and well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights in a 1 room apartment- on special via online booking.
The room overlooked a Carpark (hence it was cheap) but was well appointed - generous living, dining and kitchen with large twin-king single (joined) bed. Location is excellent - a short walk to the north to all the attractions inner city.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HolgarDansk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    164
    26
    8
    7
See reviews for
94
127
22
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Have enjoyed my stay at Quest on Franklin. Lots of restaurants nearby and only 10 minute walk to Rundle Mall. Taxi fare from airport only $21. One bedroom apartment is spacious and comfortable. Kitchen has a dishwasher and good size oven and plenty of appliances so if one wishes to cook it shouldn't be problem. King size bed, heaps of cupboard space with mirrored sliding doors and floor to ceiling wall to wall window ensures bedroom is bright and light. Bed and pillows very comfy. Lounge and dining area spacious with a good size balcony. Bathroom nice. Reception friendly and helpful. Check in painless. I would stay here again and certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelmaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel has the best location. Near the markets and all things good in Adelaide. Great rooms and service (recognising that it is a apartment hotel). Only issue is that there is no housekeeping on Sunday (Weird considering that they are chaging hotel rates where that service is provided). Overll hight recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPottsPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Booking a hotel for the night of my birthday I had good expectations of my room at the Quest.... It did not live up to them... Apparently most rooms have balconies and a full kitchen, ours did not. (No oven - disappointing when we had stocked up on food to cook for dinner.) Our room was tiny. Really narrow. You had to stand in the shower and close the door to get to the toilet in the bathroom. Our check in was appalling. The man was on the phone the whole time. No apology when he answered it while talking to me. He then left us waiting (although the room key was just sitting there ready to go) while he talked on the phone about a pull out bed to one of his staff. I had to ask if we could have our keys.
I asked for a late check out til 11. This was refused unless I paid a fee of 50 dollars.
I am a regular hotel stayer. I will not be staying in or recommending the quest to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristen-Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is a new hotel and they have some obvious kinks to work out. After checking in, we went to our room, only to find out that someone else was still occupying it. Fortunately, they were not in the room, but there was ID, a duffle bag, etc. that belonged to the current occupant. Also, we experienced a lot of trouble with the elevator. The card key does not work for any floor except for the one your room is on. Since our friends were staying on another floor, we could never get to their room without taking the stairs. This was extremely inconvenient over the course of 3 days.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. The apartment was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The balcony afforded nice views across the city. The kitchenette was great for enjoying our own breakfast and for snacks and drinks in the evening. Also, we took advantage of the in-room laundry facilities (although the dryer took forever to dry our clothes).

The property is in a good location across from the central bus station and the central market. However, as far as night life (or even nearby restaurants), the area is pretty dead in the evening. For this reason, I would pick somewhere in North Adelaide in the future.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with friends, make sure you stay on the same floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and it was very very spacious.
It had a small table with 4 chairs and 2x2 seaters.
Fully equipped kitchen, dishwasher, oven, stove top, microwave also tea, coffee and sugar replenished daily.
There is a washing machine and dryer and also a guest laundry located on the ground floor
The bed was two single beds pushed together, but I wouldn’t have known that if I did go digging to have a look; I was quite surprised as the bed was very comfortable, we both gave the bed 9/10.
The room overlooked a pub next door, but we didn’t hear any noise coming from it unless we were outside on the balcony.

You can purchase a breakfast pack for $10, which includes cereal, milk, orange juice and an energy bar from reception.
Coles is over in Grote Street; to get there, from the front of the Quest go directly across the road, then turn right into Pitt Street or Trades Hall Lane, its only about a 3 minute walk.
Internet access was available: 1 day $13.95 (400mb), 3 days $41.85 (1.2gb), 7 days $70.00 (3.0gb) 31 days $280.00 (12.0gb) I didn’t use it due to the expense so I can’t comment on the speed.

Parking is at the car park next door. Instructions are: hold your pass flat against the yellow ticket button, do NOT press the button or take a ticket as you will be charged. After holding your card against the machine for approx. 5 – 10 the boom gate/roller door will open. Park only on 3rd floor, if full then proceed to 4th floor, do not park in the reserved bays.
Take the elevator down to ground, go outside turn left and take the next entrance that takes you into the hotel.
Check with reception if you are not sure what to do as you could be charged $25 by the car park and you will not be refunded by the hotel.

We really like the apartment, the down side was the really strong smell in the room. It had a chemical smell which we assumed was caused by the fact that the place has only recently opened.
Would stay again, hoping the smell had gone.

Room Tip: Make sure you understand how the car park works or get hit with a non refundable fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernsie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Brand new Quest apartments in heart of Adelaide. Nearly 20 levels with good views of Adelaide foot hills on Franklin Street side of building. Within walking distance of Rundle Mall, and a bit further if you want to venture to the Torrens River, the Adelaide Cricket Ground and the Museum. Only a short walk to the tram to Glenelg Beach and the Adelaide Bus Station. Plenty of restaurants in the area. Great for self catering, there's a Woolworths store about 10-15 minutes walk away. Rooms are spacious (depends on what room you have though - usually Quest have studio rooms and 1 and 2 bedroom apartments). We had a 1 bedroom apartment. Cupboards are well stocked with pots and pans and crockery and cutlery. There's a full size fridge, microwave, stove top, oven and dishwasher. There is floor to ceiling glass windows (not great if you suffer from vertigo) and a smallish balcony. Corridors from lift to room were a bit stuffy, but room itself had air conditioning - very welcome in hot weather. The apartments would be great for extended stays.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level room on Franklin Street to get good views of Adelaide
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest On Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest On Franklin

Property: Quest On Franklin
Address: 74 Franklin St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest On Franklin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This outstanding property is finished to the highest of standards and offers the latest in luxury apartment living. Centrally located, Quest on Franklin is walking distance to Adelaide’s key attractions like the Central Markets, Victoria Square, Rundle Mall and the Adelaide Convention Centre. You’ll be spoilt for choice with Adelaide’s largest selection of restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest On Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing