We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sage Hotel Adelaide
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Fitness centre
  • Spa
Hilton Adelaide(Adelaide)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury(Adelaide)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,291)
Filter reviews
1,291 results
Traveller rating
290
585
273
89
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
585
273
89
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand chifleyfree tramacross the roadexecutive roomroom servicetram stopcoffee machinewould stay againmin walkpleasant stayfresh airstayed nightsbuffet breakfastbed was very comfortablerundle mallnorth terracecity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,154 - 1,159 of 1,291 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I spent 5 days at this hotel and really enjoyed the experience. One room service meal - unexpectedly good pizza! The room layout is excellent, with a well-designed bathroom, adequate coffee facilities and good hanging space for clothes. I had enough drawer space for my clothes, and the room service was immaculate.

For those who need it, there is more than adequate parking. The reception staff was helpful and friendly. All in all, if you need a hotel in this price bracket and position, you won't be sorry you chose this one.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinBplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Dear Mhbplus
Thankyou for writing a review on your recent stay at Grand Chifley Adelaide. I am pleased your visit was comfortable and enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Asistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here on two different nights during a trip back to Adelaide. The first night was great - someone had booked us a room on wotif as a gift (and paid a bit more than they should have), the guy at reception upgraded us from two doubles to a queen and even gave us a late check out. Breakfast was also included (with the deal they booked), which was very good with a great selection (but not worth the $20 pp you would have had to pay extra). The room was clean, modern and very comfortable. Only negative was that you could hear traffic and road noise below. But we were happy enough with our stay that we decided to book another night ourselves on wotif for the following week...

This time, no upgrade to a queen (even though the hotel was more than half empty). We were told we got what we booked. The room wasn't quite as nice - same features, just more worn. We didn't have breakfast this time (we paid less for our booking, so this wasn't included). All in all it would have been still good for the money we paid right up until the point when the fire alarm went of at 7:00am in the morning. That in addition to the garbage truck and how well you could hear the traffic and road below, it was not a peaceful sleep. I understand the fire alarm wasn't their fault, but nobody even bothered to apologize for it when we checked out that morning. A simple - 'sorry for the inconvenience' would have made a world of difference.

Room Tip: Higher floor - these rooms are used less (upgraded rooms) so less worn and you won't hear as much traffic below.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbano55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Dear bbano55
Thankyou for the review on your recent stay.
Please accept our belated apology for the fire alarm disturbing your stay. Announcements were made over the Fire System PA on the morning, however a personal acknowledgement on checkout certainly would have also been appropriate. The Front Office Manager has been asked to address this with his staff for future similar incidents.
I am sorry also that we were unable to upgrade the room type for your second stay. To ensure guests receive the exact bedding they require we do recommend booking the appropriate room/bedding type, as complimentary upgrades are limited and dependant upon many factors on a day to day basis.
It is with pleasure that we advise that the refurbishment of the lower 5 floors is almost complete and that this will bring the standard and condition of the rooms to a similar state of the higher floors which were fully refurbished a couple of years ago.
Your comments have been most welcome and we look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assitant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This motel is located in a good position across the road from a large grassed area and football oval, great for walking and taking in the lovely city that is Adelaide.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8Aussietravellers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Dear 8Aussietravellers8
Thankyou for writing a review on your recent stay.
We also feel our position overlooking the picturesque South Parklands is one of the many advantages of our location, offering a pleasant escape from the hustle and bustle of the central CBD area.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed here for work.
Staff were super friendly.
Breakfast and Tea were both good!
Rooms clean, and bed comfy, tv not that great..
Very modern looking. Was happy with my 3 night stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleigh_Elise_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Dear Ashleigh_Elise_88
Thankyou for providing a review on your recent stay at Grand Chifley Adelaide.
Your comments have been shared with our teams as we seek to continuously improve our services and facilities for future guests.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

It was our first time to Adelaide and I had no idea which hotel to book. This one is in South Terrace and is about a 5-10 minute walk to the tram station.
The hotel its self is lovely. Looks like it has been refurbished and our room had lovely views and was spacious.
I was disappointed with the size of their tiny pool but then they had another hotel of the same chain a couple of doors down and the pool here was just lovely. The only thing that would of been perfect would be some service around the pool. No food or drinks available until 5pm so being with a young family by the pool all day meant we had to be organised go into city and buy our own snacks.

A good base for a first time traveller in Adeliade. I would stay at this hotel again..... It was cheap clean and convenient. It is on the outskirts of the city but tram stop not to far. We even walked to the city and it took us 30 mins...... A lovely easy walk.

The park across the road is lovely the kids loved this park.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view. Executive rooms are good
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra12blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Sandra12blue
Thankyou for writing a review on your stay at Grand Chifley Adelaide. I am sorry I have not acknowledged your review previously.
We are also pleased with the refurbishment to date and eagerly await the completion of the laying of carpet in the final few Standard rooms. Once done, this will ensure all rooms in the property are of similar design and condition and allow our guests a greater level of comfort.
Your comment regarding drink/food options for the pool area have been noted and we are canvassing options in this regard.
Your review has been shared amongst the team and we look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit Adelaide.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews