We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value. Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sage Hotel Adelaide
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I have been staying at the neighbouring Chifley on South Terrace for longer than I can remember, but on this occasion it was fully booked so I went to the Grand. Impressed by the renovated rooms. Clean, comfortable and well appointed.
Bar staff and friendly and attentive. Top marks for the fantastic breakfast. Checkout smooth and easy. AND parking is free!

Room Tip: The good rooms seem to be above Level 6.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennandMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Hi JennandMalcolm
I am pleased you enjoyed your Grand Chifley Experience - I thought you would! The upgrade to the property over the last few years has certainly seen a lift in the quality as you mention. We have also strived hard to maintain the traditional Chifley staff friendliness and professionalism so it is very pleasing to hear from respected long term guests direct in this regard. Your comments have been shared with our staff and a general commendation and well done has also been given to them.
I know you have also been waiting patiently for some news on the Kurrajong restaurant and bar area upgrade at Chifley on South Terrace (your previous favourite hotel where you normally stay before the Grand Chifley experience). Let me just say...."it's exciting"! Oh and I am hopeful of a major announcement very soon.
Thank you again for staying with us and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
There are newer reviews for Sage Hotel Adelaide
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 884 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

Just came back from a wonderful weekend in Adelaide and its surrounding areas. I took advantage of a special deal at this hotel - 3 nights where the Sunday night only cost $30, with breakfast included on all 3 mornings. A bargain at just over $360 AUD on a long weekend.

The room I was allocated was on the 8th floor, with expansive views of Adelaide Hills and the city. It was relatively large in size and clean. The location of the hotel was also good. It was away from the city centre so there was no crowds to speak of. The tram stop (South Terrace) was a 5 minute walk away, with trams arriving every 15-20 minutes most of the day. It's free if you want to catch the tram to the city. Only problem is the walk to and from the tram stop at night can be a bit scary, due to the lack of crowd and inadequate lighting.

Check in and check out were smooth. All the staff I encountered were kind and courteous. I found parking to be adequate within the hotel car park. There were also plenty of parking spaces outside the hotel on North Terrace. This could be because it was the Easter weekend where schools and offices were not in use.

Breakfast was at the Zouk restaurant on the ground floor. It was nothing special, but by no means disgusting. Enough to fill me up, ready for a long day of sightseeing to the Barossa, Murray River and the city itself.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ng_ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear ng-ryan
Our $30 Sundays are indeed a bargain package and proving to be very popular. There are only a limited amount of these packages available each weekend and people should book early to avoid disappointment.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it sounds like you also saw a fair bit of our great city's nearby attractions. (Personally, I love the River Murray which is just an hours drive from our hotel and then its many small towns - there always seem's to be an antique store or curio shop that traps me into buying something each time I visit).
Your comments have been shared with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

An old but well maintained hotel. Big credits to the staff. Rooms are cleaned and well sized.
Biggest complaint is that there are inadequate number of car park spaces for the guests. To make it worst, some of these spots are taken up by the restaurant patrons and staff members. I found this is quite amusing that the hotel staffs asked us to park along the streets or a few blocks down where are there empty spaces.
Location is fine as it is just at the fringe of Adelaide's CBD and close to Glenelg tram.
It has a school next door and the area gets congested during school finishing or starting time.
Lastly, there are pigeons residing in the balcony of our room and a few other balconies too. They tends to be a noise at night and make a mess in the balcony.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Ken T
I apologise for any disturbance you may have encountered and that we are still having some problems with those pigeons as you mention - however we do appear to be winning the battle. We have now completed installation of the bird proof netting to the areas they were roosting in to a majority of the rooms. Over the next few weeks we expect this to be completed and whilst this won't completely elliminate the pigeons, they will find our location less comfortable and hopefully move on as a number have already done.
As our parking is currently free it is on a first come basis for guests and patrons and we make no representation a space will be available at all times. I apologise for any inconvenience and have reminded staff car parks are for guests and restaurant patrons in the first instance and at times of peak demand they are not to use these spaces themselves, keeping them available for our guests.
Thank you for sharing your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Picked this accommodation up from a Wotif 5 star Mystery Pick and what a find!

Great room on the top floor with an excellent view to the West of the City and the large park on South Terrace.

Nice and close to the City, walking distance to restaurants and pubs, tram stop to Glenelg and central to road system of Adelaide.

If bringing a car, get a space early as parking is extremely limited, hence the walking into the City.

The staff were extremely helpful and very courteous.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: High floor, western view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Hi Brent S (Smithy's review).
"What a Find" seems to sum up this limited deal (which is still current for those lucky enough to find it), with both you and the previous person to review us now mentioning it! I hope the secret won't get out too much or you might be unlucky next time you go to book!
This deal is for rooms on our higher floors and the views alone are fantastic I reckon.
Those bringing cars are welcome to to our FREE parking which is on a first in, non reserved basis. Parking is also available at our adjoining properties however as you mention this can be tight at times of high occupancy and demand. For those who don't wish to walk into the CBD centre, there is a free tram service with the nearest stop located just 800m away from our front door.
Thanks for sharing your great find with your fellow travellers and we look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

This was a mystery deal through Wotif, what a pleasant surprise.
Fantastic executive king room 10th floor, great location, free parking, extremely helpful staff and great food.
This has certainly been a highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear RLRD
How delightful you found one of our great and strictly limited mystery deals. These are great for people willing to take 'a chance' and as you have found and can indeed turn into a highlight. These and many other great packages at our hotel are available on different websites we display with, as well as our own website.
I hope the rest of your holiday was as exciting and rewarding as you have found your stay with us to be and hope you are able to come back our way in the future.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Extremely pleasant and convenient location (easy walking distance to the tram stop). Rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were very agreeable and helpful. We didn't like the first room we were given on the first floor (dirty aspect out the window and right near the laundry) but they moved us quickly to the third floor which was lucky because there was a function on the Saturday night which would have been very loud if we were still on the first floor.
The cheap Sunday in the 3 night rate was great value and included the breakfast buffet. The bacon was absolutely perfect - something I can't even manage when I cook it!
However, the wifi prices were exorbitant, far above most hotels I've been to. If you need an internet connection, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazbeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear cazbeckett
Thanks for the review on your recent stay and I am sorry I have not responded sooner.
Our current $30 Sunday, 3 night deal is great value as you mention. These packages are limited so we recommend people book early to avoid disappointment.
Our Wifi rates are set by an external 3rd party provider, however we are in the process of renewing our Wifi agreement and infrastructure. This will allow our guests greater flexibility and a range of pricing options once finalised in the near future.
I am sure, if we ask him nicely, our breakfast chef would be happy to share the secret to our 'perfect' bacon next time you stay. :)
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here in a Twin Double room booked on Wotif. The room was nothing fancy, it had two comfortable beds, a television and a bathroom that, although small, was serviceable. The room had air conditioning (which was great as we'd arrived during one of the hot spells) and the balcony was a nice touch, even if it wasn't very huge and didn't have an overly exciting view (which was expected, when we booked the room info explicitly stated that there wasn't going to be a great view).

The hotel is within walking distance the South Terrace tram stop, meaning free transport via tram to the city right up to the Entertainment Centre at Hindmarsh, as well as having the chance to pay to catch the tram down to Glenelg. The staff were friendly and polite.

One of the less positive aspects of the room was the bath\shower combo. First, it was a little confusing (you had to turn the water on first, then pull the lever so that the water would come out of the shower head and not the bath tap), and secondly, it seems to have been designed without taking into account that people who are taller than about 5'8" also like to shower - I'm roughly 6' tall and had to bend rather awkwardly to wash my hair. I will give credit for the nifty toilet though.

Also take into account that parking is not guaranteed, and that the car park is a little awkwardly arranged and a bit of a tight squeeze in parts to get in or out of.

I'd reccomend this hotel maybe for a one night stay if you were using a taxi and\or public transport.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Hi Douglas C
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay.
It sounds like you got onto one of our great "Cost Saver" deals and saved a few dollars. Whilst the rooms are generally the same as other standard rooms throughout the hotel, if a view is not of great concern then these rooms are ideal. Other great deals are available on the hotels website also.
Parking can be tight at times (especially as its free), however with two neighboring sister properties there is generally an off street park available for our guests.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Chifley on South Terrace
Chifley on South Terrace
#36 of 56 in Adelaide
1,241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
2.1 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hotel Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hotel Adelaide

Address: 208 South Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Grand Chifley Adelaide)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £74 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hotel Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as Adelaide is said to be able to deliver all Australian experiences in one place, Sage Hotel Adelaide presents the very best in Australian hospitality in one hotel. Whether you've come for work or to simply getaway, you'll quickly realise that you've picked the right place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sage Hotel Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chifley Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
208 Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing