We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slept like a baby” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sage Hotel Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sage Hotel Adelaide
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slept like a baby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

After 3 nights of no sleep and fleeing some very disappointing apartments in CBD Adelaide to go to the Grand Chifley, I was so happy I did. They have refurbished floors 9-11 and I scored a king bed with a lovely bath. Fell asleep in bliss for hours. This is an older 70's style building which is being given a bit of a spruce up. It's not your 4 star standard international hotel but it is homey and comfortable. I particularly appreciate good bed linen.

Was even more surprised to have a really decent meal at the restaurant.

One night, one pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Choose floors 9-11 for refurbished suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manada19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Manada19
Thanks for the lovely review and I am especially pleased we were able to improve your stay after your previous disappointment elsewhere - the king beds are indeed a treat as are the views from these floors.
Thanks for mentioning our restaurant as we also think the kitchen and restaurant team do a fine job with the meals as good as many of Adelaide's top eateries.
We look forward to welcoming you back should you choose to stay with us when returning to Adelaide in the future.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    412
    210
    55
    41
See reviews for
158
334
80
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Spent 3 very comfortable nights at this lovely hotel. The staff are friendly and apart from the balcony the room was spotless. Travelling alone as I do, I am used to being pushed into poky rooms that are decidedly second class, but this was certainly not the case here. I was allocated a beautifully spacious room with a great view of the park. Decided to have breakfast at the hotel one morning but wasn't over impressed (scrambled eggs tasted of fish, the staff didn't mention you could order eggs done a different way, only saw that when they were bringing eggs out for others). A 'heads up' regarding breakfast - if you stay on a room only basis as I did, book your breakfast the day before as you will save money. In a lovely location overlooking a park, on the edge of the city. The free tram into the city is a 5 minute walk away and Adelaide is a wonderful place to visit. When I return I will certainly stay at the Grand Chifley.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Bimbles7
Thanks for the review on your recent stay.
We are sorry for any inconvenience and your comments regarding the eggs have been passed onto the Service team to make sure guests are fully informed they are able to request their favourite style. I have also let Chef know and we will check and monitor the scrambled eggs as they should only taste of egg.
Booking breakfast the night before is a great way to save a few dollars and allows us to staff suitably and avoid waiting. Similarly, our Bed and Breakfast inclusive packages will generally save you even more, especially if booked more than a month in advance.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay (& cooking your eggs 'just the way you like them).
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Compared to the flea pit I stayed in Horsham on the return journey ($25 less) this hotel proved to be good value and well located.
Only stayed overnight, not a great selection of restaurants close by but sufficient.
No idea what the hotel restaurant was like but it looked pleasant enough.
Free Parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Davel9999
I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and thanks for letting us know.
We do our best to keep our prices affordable and offer additional value with such things as free parking or other inclusions which may appeal to our guests.
There are several lovely restaurants nearby as well as the one in our hotel and our friendly reception staff will gladly offer suggestions and make bookings for guest's upon enquiry.
I hope you will stay with us again and we are able to welcome you back when next you visit Adelaide.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here last Sept on Wot-if bkg for std room & upgraded to a superior one. Last weekend stayed in "Executive Room" booked directly on hotel website. Quite disappointing. Room door had finger marks all over the outside, squeaked really loudly as did the bathroom door. Complained & pleasant lad from reception came & fixed both. Curtain had a rip (perished?) twice as long as my forearm!, peephole in door blocked, "lock" on bathroom door was a falling out screw, "in room dining menu" was ripped, creased & marked on cover. The advertised "mini-bar" is a joke. No wine, sprits, soft drinks, juices - just water, beer and a small lonely chocolate bar. Even so the female staff member banged on the door at 9:55am & barged straight in the next morning - even though I was staying two nights & not checking out then. Except for the black mould behind the extending shower screen & old leftover soap the bathroom was clean, as was the bedroom. The restaurant is not open for lunch, and no room service breakfast is available. No notepaper, pen nor "Guest Comments" form in room.The hotel is basically acceptable but the "Executive Room" certainly not worth more than "Superior Room". Easy, free parking is the selling point here, but certainly nowhere near "Four & a Half Star" rating.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublinjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Dublinjules
Thanks for returning for another visit. We apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced as it appears this recent stay was not to the same standard as previous. I have shared your feedback with the hotel team to review and undertake improvements and repairs as required.
We do offer Room Service breakfast daily at an extra cost and I have reminded housekeeping to ensure the menu's are placed prominently on the foot of the bed each day for our guest's convenience - similarly, they have been reminded also to check that stationary and pens are in the desk drawers. Your comment regarding the limited mini bar has also been noted and I am pleased to advise there are additional beverages available through room service.
Thanks again for your feedback and I do hope you will return to see the improvements and return to standards we have made as a result.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle NSW
Level Contributor
162 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Only stayed here for one night but that was enough as I usually stay in the city. This motel is in a quiet area away from the central city so dont expect to have lots of restaurant choices on the doorstep. The room was OK and the view from the (very dirty) balcony also OK. The bed was probably the best feature but had disappointing pillows. Dont they realise a lot of people like a firm pillow ?
I ate in the restaurant and found the food acceptable but not anything to write home about.
Overall not great but not terrible and reasonable value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Ron B
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and reviewing your recent visit.
Your feedback is most welcome and has been shared with the relevant teams for improvement. We do have alternative pillows with different firmness levels - please do not hesitate to contact our friendly reception staff when next you stay and we will gladly deliver these to the room upon request.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The Grand Chifley itself is lovely. The room was nice, well presented, cosy but just big enough for our daughter to crawl around. However no microwave and other then a kettle located near a slot in the wall for removal and replacement by room service (very nifty I thought) there was nothing for food heating or bottles. They supplied a porta-cot which had to be placed at the foot of the bed under the tv as there was not much room for it.

However this been said the room was more then up to standard, comfortable bed, large tv, great view from balcony and not too far from the city. We definitely enjoyed our stay here and when our child is older we will stay again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Chantel C
We are pleased your stay was enjoyable thanks for sharing your experience with others.
Sorry we do not offer microwaves in our rooms, however our staff will happily assist with heating bottles and other foods for babies and toddlers on request. Alternatively, our sister property next door, the Chifley on South Terrace, now has studio rooms with kitchenette's and cooking facilities as well as an in room washer/dryer combo for guests to do their own laundry. These studio's are ideal for longer stays & for guests wanting a little more of an 'at home' facility.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Four nights. No complaints apart from the pigeon issues which aren't exactly the fault of the hotel. If they can eliminate these visitors some furniture on the balconies, so as to enjoy the great views, would be nice.

Room was comfortable, staff helpful and location in a quieter part of the city.

Restaurant had some fantastic food and one of the young staff members was the friendliest you could ever meet.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Hugh J
Thanks for your feedback and sharing your recent experience while our guest.
We are continuing our efforts to deter these nuisance pigeons and have just received the latest order of bird spikes (to stop them landing/roosting on the window ledges, not to impale or cause them physical harm to address any such concern in this regard). Once installed by our maintenance team, these will cover nearly 80% of our rooms being completed and the remaining rooms will be fitted with the same shortly thereafter.
Your comment regarding the restaurant and food have been shared with our staff with a commendation for their work.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Chifley on South Terrace
Chifley on South Terrace
#37 of 58 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
2.1 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arkaba Hotel
Arkaba Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fullarton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rydges South Park Adelaide
Rydges South Park Adelaide
#28 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hotel Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hotel Adelaide

Property: Sage Hotel Adelaide
Address: 208 South Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Grand Chifley Adelaide)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hotel Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sage Hotel Adelaide is conveniently located on the Southern Fringe of Adelaide CBD, overlooking the picturesque and tranquil South Parklands.Zouk Restaurant is open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days a week and offers modern australian cuisine in a contemporary setting. Room Service is available 24 hrs.Friendly Staff, clean, modern rooms and FREE Parking, all within a 20 minute walk to the city centre make Sage Hotel Adelaide the perfect base for your stay in Adelaide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Sage Hotel Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chifley Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
208 Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing